Research Guides: Geographic Information Systems (GIS) : Find Books & Ebooks

Find Books via HPU Discovery

Search our HPU Discovery tool to find books, videos and more in one single search.

Make your searches more precise by:

Using filters options listed on the left side of your results
Filter by type of source book or eBook
Filter by date of publication
Use Advance Search option for author or title searches

Catalog Basics

Keyword Searching: Type your search term to run a basic keyword search.

Use words or phrases, not sentences.

(Example: tilapia AND aquaculture)

(Example: "endangered species")

Various search options include title, author, subject and other fields.

Search Limits: If you have too many results, select search limits.

A General Collection limit, for example, returns books that may be checked out.

You may also choose to limit the returns to Atherton or Waterfront Library.

Go to HPU Discovery

GIS Subject Headings

Browse Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) Online

Search Authorities and Vocabularies

Authorities and Vocabularies for Geographical information systems:
Use these terms to refine, broaden, and narrow your search results.

Variants
- Geographical information systems
- GIS
- GIS (Information systems)
Broader Terms
- Information storage and retrieval systems--Geography
Narrower Terms

Library of Congress Classification Outline

Call Numbers for Natural Sciences.

Class G-Geography, Anthropology (PDF)
-Subclass GC-Oceanography
-Subclass GE-Environmental Sciences
Class Q- Science (PDF)
Class S-Agriculture (PDF)
-Subclass S - Agriculture (General)
-Subclass SB-Plant Culture
-Subclass SD-Forest
-Subclass SF-Animal Culture
-Subclass SH-Aquaculture / Fisheries / Angling

Class T-Technology (PDF)
-Subclass TD - Environmental Technology
-Subclass TL - Aeronautics / Astronautics
-Subclass TP - Chemical Technology

By Subject

ASTRONOMY	QB
BIOLOGY	QH, QK, QL, QM, QP, QR
CHEMISTRY	QD
ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCES	G, GE, GF, H, HC, QC, QH, TD
GEOLOGY	QE
MARINE SCIENCE	GC, SH
MATHEMATICS	QA
PHYSICS	QC

By Call Numbers

CLASS G	GEOGRAPHY
GC	OCEANOGRAPHY
GE	ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCES
CLASS Q	SCIENCE
QA	MATHEMATICS
QB	ASTRONOMY
QC	PHYSICS
QD	CHEMISTRY
QE	GEOLOGY
QH	NATURAL HISTORY AND BIOLOGY
QK	BOTANY
QL	ZOOLOGY
QM	HUMAN ANATOMY
QP	PHYSIOLOGY
QR	MICROBIOLOGY
CLASS S	AGRICULTURE
SH	AQUACULTURE
CLASS T	TECHNOLOGY
TD	ENVIRONMENTAL TECHNOLOGY
TL	AERONAUTICS / ASTRONAUTICS
TP	CHEMICAL TECHNOLOGY

Call Numbers for Science

eBooks

Bielefeld Academic Search Engine
The Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (BASE) is a multi-subject, academic search engine indexing documents from more than 8,000 content providers.
Cambridge Core
Provides access to Cambridge University Press ebooks (including Cambridge Histories) and 300+ journals in diverse subject areas (full text typically from 2010-2013).
Ebook Central (formerly Ebrary)
Formerly known as Ebrary. Ebrary bookshelf contents can be transferred to Ebook Central; click on the Bookshelf link to start the process (while on campus). Contains ebooks in all subject areas; currently more than 100,000 titles.
EBSCOhost Ebook Collection (EBSCO)
Search and view the full text of reference works, scholarly monographs, literature and fiction.
eBooks (Gale)
Gale eBooks offers broad cross-curricular collection of non-fiction titles, supporting science, geography, history, language arts, business and other subjects. Optimized for search and discovery, the Gale eBooks platform enables you to search through multiple nonfiction eBooks within a single search.
JSTOR
Contains full text back issues of journal titles in the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. Also contains 500+ open-access ebooks.
NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information)
The National Center for Biotechnology Information website offers access to key databases and resources from the National Library of Medicine.
Peterson’s Test Prep (Gale)
Peterson's Test Prep offers study guides and practice tests to help test takers prepare for a variety of tests, including the GRE, LSAT, MCAT, and TOEFL. Resources also allow exploration of different careers and career-related topics.

Users must create a free account to access content.
SpringerLink
Contains full-text Springer ebooks (published from 2005 – 2013) and journals focusing primarily on science, technology and medicine.
Taylor & Francis Ebooks
Taylor & Francis publishes eBooks in science, technology, engineering, medicine, humanities and social science.

Search Primary Sources

Featured GIS Books

Applications of Geographic Information Systems for Wireless Network Planning by Francisco Saez De AdanaAbdelhamid Tayebi TayebiJuan Casado Ballesteros
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781630817640
Publication Date: 2020
Geographical Information Systems by Elaheh Pourabbas (Editor)
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781466596955
Publication Date: 2014-05-16
Web services, cloud computing, location based services, NoSQLdatabases, and Semantic Web offer new ways of accessing, analyzing, and elaborating geo-spatial information in both real-world and virtual spaces. This book explores the how-to of the most promising recurrent technologies and trends in GIS, such as Semantic GIS, Web GIS, Mobile GIS, NoSQL
COVID-19 Pandemic, Geospatial Information, and Community Resilience by Abbas Rajabifard (Editor); Daniel Paez (Editor); Greg Foliente (Editor)
Call Number: Taylor & Francis (Open Access)
ISBN: 9781000402926
Publication Date: 2021-06-07
"The Open Access version of this book, available at https://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/oa-edit/10.1201/9781003181590, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license." Geospatial information plays an important role in managing location dependent pandemic situations across different communities and domains. Geospatial information and technologies are particularly critical to strengthening urban and rural resilience, where economic, agricultural, and various social sectors all intersect. Examining the United Nations' SDGs from a geospatial lens will ensure that the challenges are addressed for all populations in different locations.
Sustainable Development Goals Connectivity Dilemma by Abbas Rajabifard (Editor)
Call Number: Taylor & Francis (Open Access)
ISBN: 9780429290626
Publication Date: 2019-08-05
Large-scale migration from rural to urban areas, and between countries, affects sustainable development at local, national, and regional levels. To strengthen urban and rural resilience to global challenges, Sustainable Development Goals Connectivity Dilemma: Land and Geospatial Information for Urban and Rural Resilience, brings together leading international geospatial experts to analyze the role of land and geospatial data infrastructures and services for achieving the United Nations' Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).
Drones and Geographical Information Technologies in Agroecology and Organic Farming by Massimo De Marchi (Editor); Alberto Diantini (Editor); Salvatore Eugenio Pappalardo (Editor)
Call Number: Taylor & Francis (Open Access)
ISBN: 9780429052842
Publication Date: 2022-09-29
Although organic farming and agroecology are normally not associated with the use of new technologies, it's rapid growth, new technologies are being adopted to mitigate environmental impacts of intensive production implemented with external material and energy inputs. GPS, satellite images, GIS, drones, help conventional farming in precision supply of water, pesticides, fertilizers. Prescription maps define the right place and moment for interventions of machinery fleets.
All Source Positioning, Navigation and Timing by Rongsheng Li
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781630817046
Publication Date: 2020
This is the first book on the topic of all source positioning, navigation and timing (PNT) and how to solve the problem of PNT when the most widely-used measurement source available today, the GPS system, may be come unavailable, jammed or spoofed. Readers learn how to define the system architecture as well as the algorithms for GPS-denied and GPS-challenged PNT systems.
Indoor Geolocation Science and Technology: at the Emergence of Smart World and IoT by Kaveh Pahlavan
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central
ISBN: 8770220506
Publication Date: 2019-02-04
The book provides examples with supporting MATLAB codes and hands-on projects throughout to improve the ability of the readers to understand and implement variety of algorithms. It can be used for both academic education, as a textbook with problem sets and projects, and industrial training, as a practical reference book for professionals involved in design and performance evaluation. The author of this book has pioneering research experience and industrial exposure in design and performance evaluation of indoor geolocation based on empirical measurement and modeling of the behavior of the radio propagation in indoor areas and inside the human body.
QGIS Quick Start Guide : a Beginner's Guide to Getting Started with QGIS 3. 4 by Andrew Cutts
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781789340044,
Publication Date: 2019
Step through loading GIS data, creating GIS data, styling GIS and making maps with QGIS following a simple narrative that will allow you to build confidence as you progress. Key Features Work with GIS data, a step by step guide from creation to making a map Perform geoprocessing tasks and automate them using model builder Explore a range of features in QGIS 3.4, discover the power behind open source desktop GIS Book Description QGIS is a user friendly, open source geographic information system (GIS).
Webs of Corruption by Mariya Omelicheva; Lawrence Markowitz
Call Number: JSTOR Ebooks
ISBN: 9780231547918
Publication Date: 2019-05-21
Webs of Corruption is an innovative study demonstrating that terrorist and criminal activity intersect more narrowly than is widely believed. Mariya Y. Omelicheva and Lawrence P. Markowitz analyze the links between the drug trade and terror financing in Central Asia, finding that state security services shape the nexus of trafficking and terrorism.
Epidemiology and Geography by Marc Souris
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781119597438
Publication Date: 2019-03-07
This book describes the objectives, principles, methods and tools of spatial analysis and geographic information systems applied to the field of health, and more specifically to the study of the spatial distribution of disease and health-environment relationships. It is a practical introduction to spatial and spatio-temporal analysis for epidemiology and health geography, and takes an educational approach illustrated with real-world examples. Epidemiology and Geography presents a complete and straightforward overview of the use of spatial analysis in epidemiology for students, public health professionals, epidemiologists, health geographers and specialists in health-environment studies.

Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

Find Books via HPU Discovery

Search our HPU Discovery tool to find books, videos and more in one single search.

Catalog Basics

Keyword Searching: Type your search term to run a basic keyword search.

Use words or phrases, not sentences.

(Example: tilapia AND aquaculture)

(Example: "endangered species")

Various search options include title, author, subject and other fields.

Search Limits: If you have too many results, select search limits.

A General Collection limit, for example, returns books that may be checked out.

You may also choose to limit the returns to Atherton or Waterfront Library.

GIS Subject Headings

Browse Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) Online

Authorities and Vocabularies for Geographical information systems: Use these terms to refine, broaden, and narrow your search results.

Variants

Geographical information systems

GIS (Information systems)

Broader Terms

Narrower Terms

Call Numbers for Natural Sciences.

Class G-Geography, Anthropology (PDF) -Subclass GC-Oceanography -Subclass GE-Environmental Sciences

Class S-Agriculture (PDF) -Subclass S - Agriculture (General) -Subclass SB-Plant Culture -Subclass SD-Forest -Subclass SF-Animal Culture -Subclass SH-Aquaculture / Fisheries / Angling

Class T-Technology (PDF) -Subclass TD - Environmental Technology -Subclass TL - Aeronautics / Astronautics -Subclass TP - Chemical Technology

By Subject

QB

QH, QK, QL, QM, QP, QR

QD

G, GE, GF, H, HC, QC, QH, TD

QE

GC, SH

QA

QC

By Call Numbers

GC

GE

QA

QB

QC

QD

QE

QH

QK

QL

QM

QP

QR

SH

TD

TL

AERONAUTICS / ASTRONAUTICS

TP

Call Numbers for Science

eBooks

Search Primary Sources

Featured GIS Books

Authorities and Vocabularies for Geographical information systems:
Use these terms to refine, broaden, and narrow your search results.

Class G-Geography, Anthropology (PDF)
-Subclass GC-Oceanography
-Subclass GE-Environmental Sciences

Class S-Agriculture (PDF)
-Subclass S - Agriculture (General)
-Subclass SB-Plant Culture
-Subclass SD-Forest
-Subclass SF-Animal Culture
-Subclass SH-Aquaculture / Fisheries / Angling

Class T-Technology (PDF)
-Subclass TD - Environmental Technology
-Subclass TL - Aeronautics / Astronautics
-Subclass TP - Chemical Technology