WORLD HISTORY - GENERAL:
The World Digital Library
A wonderful resource, built and maintained by UNESCO and the US Library of Congress, this site offers digital images of important historical documents and images from around the world, throughtout history. Highly recommended.
- Avalon Project at the Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History and Government
- This website provides digital primary source documents in law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy, and government. Materials include Nuremberg Trials Collection, the Native American Treaty collection, and the Cuban Missile Crisis.
-
- Historical Text Archive
- A gateway to resources in the form of articles, books and links for various fields of history and countries or regions of the world.
-
- History Gateway -- Academic Info
- Provides links to many sites on most historical topics with international coverage.
-
- HyperHistory Online
- This site presents 3,000 years of world history in a graphical format using lifelines, timelines, and maps. This format brings perspective to world historical events and enables the user to understand simultaneously the events that occurred in different parts of the world. Includes several hundred links to history-related sites on the Web.
-
- Internet History Sourcebooks Project
- A collection of public domain and copyright-permitted historical texts for educational use. Separate sourcebooks are available for ancient, medieval, and modern history, with additional sourcebooks for special regions and topics.
-
- WWWVL The World Wide Virtual Library: History
- Provides links to sites covering history research methods and materials, historical eras and epochs, specialized historical topics, and history by countries and regions.
-
- WORLD HISTORY - ANCIENT and MEDIEVAL:
- Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies
- A highly acclaimed site providing collections of texts and images and also giving connections to other resources, databases, and more.
-
- NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources
- A metasite for over 1,000 links. Includes an excellent glossary of medieval terms.
-
- ORB: the On-line Reference Book for Medieval Studies
- This site contains links, primary sources, instructional material, bibliographies, and an encyclopedia.
-
- The Perseus Digital Library – Resources for Studying the Ancient World
- A good website that provides links and translation materials concerning the ancient Mediterranean.
-
- WORLD HISTORY - AREA STUDIES:
- Country Studies/Area Handbooks
- An easy-to-use site for authoritative information on more than 70 nations, their people, culture, and beliefs.
-
- EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe
- Provides links to available primary sources for all European countries, for Europe as a supranational region, and for "Medieval and Renaissance Europe."
-
- Japan Policy Research Institute
- The Japan Policy Research Institute contains information about the historical and contemporary issues affecting Japan and U.S.-Japanese relations.
-
- Handbook of Latin American Studies
- Access to books, articles, and conference papers on the history, politics, and culture of Central and South America. From the Library of Congress.
-
- The Virtual Library: Regional Studies
- A gateway to access regional information from universities, organizations, and other sources, both for history and other fields.
