The dictionaries listed below are located at the Library at Waterfront (Downtown Campus). Click on the title or image for a link to its entry in the catalog. Use the call number to find the book in the stacks. You can search for more books in our library using HPU Discovery. To access the Libraries' electronic resources off-campus, please logon to my.hpu.edu.
Larousse Gran Diccionario : Inglés-Español, Español-Inglés by
This completely new edition of the Larousse Unabridged Dictionary is the ideal reference work for students, teachers, and translators as well as general users with a high-level interest in the Spanish language. The cornerstone of the Larousse bilingual Spanish line, this in-depth reference is specially designed to make translation into or out of either language clear and easy. This authoritative reference is packed with useful features: * NEW! 20 pages of thematic color illustrations * 250,000 words and phrases * 400,000 translations * extensive coverage of general, technical, business, and literary vocabulary * generous coverage of Latin American Spanish * hundreds of abbreviations, acronyms, and proper nouns * boxed entries explaining items of particular cultural interest * a supplement with information on Spanish-speaking countries * Spanish verb tables Rich in content and easy to use, this comprehensive dictionary is a must-have for any Spanish reference collection.
The eBooks listed below are available online for the HPU community. Click on the title or image to access the title. You can search for more eBooks by using HPU Discovery. To access the Libraries' electronic resources off-campus, please logon to my.hpu.edu.
The Aba Spanish Legal Phrasebook by
This unique, quick and easy reference guide is written to bridge the communication gap between non-Spanish-speaking legal professionals and non-attorney Spanish-speakers.
Dictionary of Botany (English-Spanish Spanish-English) by
Over 30,000 entries
Covers all aspects of botany:
plant biochemistry, plant species, tree species, plant ecophysiology, paleobotany, plant morphology, plant anatomy, taxonomy and classification, horticulture, arboriculture, plant breeding and genetics, palynology, pteridology, agrostology, orchidology, and much more... Both plant and tree species glossaries are English-Latin-Spanish and Spanish-Latin-English, in accordance with the International Code of Botanical Nomenclature, and broken down by country. Useful bilingual appendices.
Dictionary of Economics and Business (English-Spanish Spanish-English) by
Over 23,000 entries
Covers all aspects of each field:
applied economics, macroeconomics, microeconomics, stock markets and investment, e-commerce, business, finance, marketing, banking. economic theory, world currencies, labor studies, international economics, international trade, personal finances, worldwide economic organizations
Useful bilingual appendices
Dictionary of Mathematics (English-Spanish Spanish-English) by
Over 22,000 entries,
covering all aspects of mathematics:
applied mathematics, pure mathematics, algebra, statistics, geometry, arithmetic, calculus, game theory, topology, probability, trigonometry, economic theory, mathematics teaching and learning.
Dictionary of Ophthalmology (English - Spanish / Spanish - English) by
Over 24,000 entries - example sentences provided in both languages. Exhaustive reference work embracing all aspects of ophthalmology: anatomy, physiology, and pathology of the eye; ophthalmic surgery, ocular pharmacology, clinical ophthalmology, retinology, ocular oncology, neuro-ophthalmology, pediatric ophthalmology, orthoptics, ophthalmic instruments, optometry, contactology, vision science, and more... Includes bilingual tables and appendices.
Dictionary of Political Science and International Relations (English-Spanish Spanish-English) Diccionario de Ciencias Polti by
Over 24,000 entries covering political science, world political organizations & parties international relations, customs, international trade, peacemaking, terrorism and counterterrorism, politics, espionage and counterespionage, war and regional conflicts, elections, immigration and naturalization, political journalism, European Union terminology, United Nations terminology and more…
Bilingual example sentences are given throughout the dictionary. Useful appendices and acronyms glossaries included.
English-Spanish Dictionary of Plant Biology, Including Plantae, Monera, Protoctista, Fungi and Index of Spanish Equivalents by
The English-Spanish Dictionary of Plant Biology has been written to fill a need for increased communication between English and Spanish speaking people who are working in or are being affected by the many sub-fields of plant biology. Its general purpose is to aid, stimulate, and facilitate a two-way flow of information and understanding between the peoples of North, South, and Central America in an era of economic and environmental interdependence.
An introduction to Spanish for health care workers : communication and culture by
Contents:
Buenos días, soy el doctor -- ¿Cómo está usted? -- ¿Qué le pasa? -- El recepcionista -- La familia -- La farmacia -- La nutrición y las dietas -- El examen físico -- ¿Qué pasó? -- Padecimientos e historia médica -- Internamientos, odontología y la salud mental -- Maternidad y la protección sexual -- Appendices. 1. El abecedario (The Spanish alphabet) -- 2. A guide to some irregular and stem-changing verbs -- English to Spanish glossary -- Spanish to English glossary -- Answer key to Ejercicios.
Multicultural Spanish Dictionary: How Everyday Spanish Differs From Country to Country by
An updated and revised edition of the widely used first edition. Includes hundreds of new technology terms and entries from even more Spanish-speaking countries.
The Routledge Spanish Bilingual Dictionary of Psychology and Psychiatry by
The Routledge Spanish Bilingual Dictionary of Psychology and Psychiatry contains over 100,000 entries making this the most comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary of its kind. The Dictionary provides concise, comprehensive and current coverage of every word or phrase used in the study and practice of psychiatry and psychology. This valuable reference tool covers all disciplines and sub-disciplines, both research-based and clinical. This is a vital resource to those in the healthcare professions, to academicians and to those who work in translation and/or interpretation, healthcare and the law who are in contact with the English and Spanish speaking communities.
Spanish Chemical and Pharmaceutical Glossary by
With over 26,000 chemical and pharmaceutical terms, this modern, easy-to-use English and Spanish glossary is an indispensable resource for pharmacists, physicians, scientists, health care professionals, and anyone else who works in these or related fields.
The Street-Wise Spanish Survival Guide : A Dictionary of over 3,000 Slang Expressions, Proverbs, Idioms, and Other Tricky English and Spanish Words and Phrases Translated and Explained by
If you were dropped into the middle of Managua, Mexico City, or Miami, would you know how to speak not only the language, but also the lingo? In The Street-Wise Spanish Survival Guide, the reader who is already familiar with Spanish will discover the banter and metaphor (both polite and rude) that enrich the spoken language as it is really used, hints on avoiding embarrassing mistakes in grammar, and a list of dreaded false cognates. Full of advice on pronunciation and tips on customs and manners, and keyed with time-saving symbols, this is the best guide available to understanding and appreciating Spanish as it is spoken in Latin America and the United States.
Wiley's English-Spanish Spanish-English Chemistry Dictionary by
This Dictionary provides over 75,000 entries covering all areas of chemistry, such as Chemical Biology, Biochemistry, Biotechnology, and Nanochemistry, plus relevant terms in related spheres of expertise. In order to prepare this Second Edition, the First Edition was completely revised, and over 35,000 new terms were added. This new edition will continue to be the Dictionary that chemists, educators, students, translators, and those working in English and Spanish in chemistry and associated fields have been trusting since the First Edition was published in 1998.
Yes/No Medical Spanish : A Comprehensive Handbook of Clinical Spanish by
Communicate more effectively with your Spanish-speaking patients! This pocket-sized guide translates A & P and other healthcare scenarios you encounter everyday into questions that require only "Yes" or "No" responses. From registration through discharge, it's the reference you'll turn to first to deliver high-quality care in any clinical setting.