Contents on this page
The French Collection is located at the Library at Waterfront (Downtown Campus) in the Hawaiian and Modern Languages Collection, which is organized in alphabetical order by language. These books have a “French” label at the top edge of their spines. "Easy Reading" titles are designated with a red dot on the spine of the book.
Browsing the Libraries' shelves: You may wish to simply look at the books on the shelves.
The books listed below are in the Hawaiian and Modern Languages Collection. Click on the title or image for a link to its entry in HPU Discovery. Use the call number to find the book in the stacks. You can search for more books in our library using HPU Discovery. To access the Libraries' electronic resources off-campus, please logon to my.hpu.edu.
Arsène Lupin Le bouchon de cristal by 
Aventures de Tintin au Pays des Soviets by 
Beginner's French Reader by 
Candide: A Dual-Language Book by 
Contes by 
Hiroshima Mon Amour by 
L' Ile Noire by 
La belle et la bête by 
Lancelot Book + MP3 CD (Level 1) by 
Le Livre de Mon Ami by 
Le Lotus Bleu by 
Le Petit Nicolas et les Copains by
Nicolas is invited to a birthday party by the girl next door, plays a very messy game of chess, and learns that walking on your hands is much harder than turning somersaults.
Le Petit Prince by
An aviator whose plane is forced down in the Sahara Desert encounters a little prince from a small planet who relates his adventures in seeking the secret of what is important in life.
Le voleur d'enfants by
Seven years, it is said, is the age of reason but that does not prevent those who reach it from keeping the habit of the marvelous taken to frequent the fairies from previous years. Antoine Charnelet therefore accepts without fear that an unknown hand drags him through the crowd far from his maid to lead him to Colonel Philémon Bigua
Poil de Carotte by
The classic French novel celebrated for its deeply felt depiction of childhood. Neglected by his parents, bullied by his peers, left to wander the streets and woods by himself (that is, when he isn’t locked in his room or the cellar for punishment), the little redheaded boy known as “Poil de Carotte” [“Carrot Top”] manages to triumph through imagination, cunning, and sheer persistence. An inspiration to writers as diverse as Barthelme, Beckett, and Sartre, Jules Renard’s timeless novel-in-stories is at once the lyrical account of a hard-knock provincial childhood and a frighteningly acute psychological study of how cruelty can affect a young mind-a book that is by turns chilling, humorous, and quietly beautiful.
Tintin au Congo by
Tintin and Haddock have travelled to the Congo in order to go on safari. But have will they have more than just big game to contend with?
Un Noel de Maigret by
...a Christmas mystery in which an otherwise sensible little girl insists that she has seen Father Christmas.
Voyage Au Centre de la Terre Book + MP3 CD (Level 1) by
Journey to the Center of the Earth... is a classic science fiction novel by Jules Verne.
The eBooks listed below are available online for the HPU community. Click on the title or image to access the title. You can search for more eBooks by using HPU Discovery. To access the Libraries' electronic resources off-campus, please logon to my.hpu.edu.
Complete French by
The best-selling complete course for a fun and effective way to learn French. This ISBN is for the paperback book. The corresponding audio support (ISBN: 9781444100068) is also available. The book and audio support can also be purchased as a pack (ISBN: 9781444100051).
Essential French Grammar by
Essential French Grammar will help you get more out of your study of French. Now in a brand new edition with new, easy-to-follow page design and interactive on-line features.
Essential French Verbs by
Essential French Verbs is the course for you if you need help with your study of French. This fully revised edition of our best-selling course now comes with free downloadable audio support containing hints on how to learn verbs effectively.
Essential French Vocabulary by
Essential French Vocabulary is the course for you if you need help with your study of French. This fully revised edition of our best-selling course now comes with free downloadable audio support containing hints on how to learn vocabulary effectively.
French All-in-One for Dummies® by
Your comprehensive guide to speaking, reading, and writing in French French is a beautiful language but can be quite difficult to learn. Whether you need to learn the language for a French class, or for business or leisure travel, French for Dummies All-In-One makes it easier. With nearly 800 pages, French All-in-One For Dummies is for those readers looking for a comprehensive guide to help them immerse themselves in the French language. Culls vital information from several Dummies titles, offering you a comprehensive, all-encompassing guide to speaking and using French Includes French Canadian content and enhanced practiced opportunities Its accompanying audio CD provides you with en effective tool to start speaking French right away Both new students of French and experienced speakers can benefit from the wealth of information that has been included in French All-in-One For Dummies. CD-ROM/DVD and other supplementary materials are not included as part of the e-book file, but are available for download after purchase.
French Essentials for Dummies by
If you have some knowledge of French and want to polish your skills, French Essentials For Dummies focuses on just the core concepts you need to communicate effectively. From conjugating verbs to understanding tenses, this easy-to-follow guide lets you skip the suffering and score high at exam time. French 101 -- get the lowdown on the basics, from expressing dates and times to identifying parts of speech Gender matters -- see how a noun's gender determines the articles, adjectives, and pronouns you have to use The here and now -- learn how to conjugate verbs in the present tense, choose subject pronouns, and form the present participle Way back when -- get guidance on working with the past tense, including hints about when to use the compound past (pass compos ) and when to use the imperfect What lies ahead -- discover the different ways to express the future Open the book and find: A review of numbers, dates, and times The parts of speech How to determine a noun's gender How to select the correct preposition Rules for making adjectives agree Tips for asking and answering yes/no questions Ways to spice up your descriptions Ten important verb distinctions Learn: The basics of French grammar and sentence construction How to conjugate regular, irregular, and stem-changing verbs To express ideas about the past, present, and future.
French Grammar and Usage by
Long trusted as the most comprehensive, up-to-date and user-friendly grammar available, French Grammar and Usage provides students and teachers with a complete guide to French as it is written and spoken today. It includes clear and concise descriptions of all the main grammatical phenomena of French, and their use, illustrated by numerous examples taken from contemporary French, and distinguishes the most common forms of usage, both formal and informal. This combination of reference grammar and manual of current usage will prove invaluable to students and teachers of French from intermediate through to advanced level. Praised for its clear lay-out and lucid explanations, the new edition includes updated examples, enhanced cross-referencing and expanded explanations of notoriously difficult points of grammar.
French Verbs by
Mastering verbs is the key to romance languages for many people. This 6-page eGuide offers easy-to-read tables of conjugations for the 15 verb tenses and moods, with the changes bolded for quick reference. Twenty-two key-example verbs and their meanings are included, with the irregular tenses and moods listed for each verb. Using the example conjugations, this guide becomes a powerful key to unlocking French for communication - and of course for better grades. Topics covered include: Regular – ER Regular – RE Regular – IR Subject Pronouns Progressive Present Progressive Past Near Future Verb Tenses & Moods Regular Reflexive 22 Verbs Alphabetically Future Subjunctive Future Perfect Subjunctive Suggested uses: Students – a very lightweight, inexpensive grade-booster that can be slipped between your notebook pages for quick and easy answers Teachers – Inexpensive classroom tool, whether you have a few for those students struggling or a whole class set that can last your entire career with the durable lamination Travelers – Being flat, laminated and with conjugations being easy to find, if you have moved beyond one word translations and are striving to speak correctly, this is a great travel buddy
French Verbs Made Simple(R) by
It's time for a new approach to learning French verbs. Unlike popular verb guides that require the rote memorization of hundreds of verb forms, this book clearly explains the rules that govern the conjugation of all classes of French verbs--especially the irregular ones that give second-language learners the most trouble. These straightforward, easy-to-understand rules for conjugating French verbs are effective learning tools for both beginning students and more advanced speakers who want to perfect their usage of French verb forms. French Verbs Made Simple(r) has many helpful features that you won't find in any other verb guide: Clear explanations of all verb tenses and forms. The simple patterns and rules that govern the conjugation of all verbs--including those verbs whose irregularities follow patterns that can be easily learned. A detailed discussion of how each verb form is used, with numerous examples. A full explanation of whether a verb should be conjugated with avoir or être, and the conditions under which the past participle is variable--two of the thorniest problems for students of French. An extended treatment of the subjunctive that will help you understand why it is used in some situations but not others. Complete conjugations for 57 basic model verbs (along with 27 "variants") and a comprehensive listing of some 6,200 verbs that indicates which of the models each verb follows. Going well beyond any other guide in the clarity and detail of its explanations--as well as the innovative manner in which individual verbs are linked to model conjugations--French Verbs Made Simple(r) is the only guide to French verbs a learner needs.
Modern French Grammar : A Practical Guide by
This new edition of the Modern French Grammar is an innovative reference guide to French, combining traditional and function-based grammar in a single volume. Divided into two parts, Part A covers traditional grammatical categories such as word order, nouns, verbs and adjectives and Part B is organized around language functions and notions such as: giving and seeking information describing processes and results expressing likes, dislikes and preferences. With a strong emphasis on contemporary usage, all grammar points and functions are richly illustrated with examples. Implementing feedback from users of the first edition of the Grammar, this second edition includes clearer explanations and greater emphasis on areas of particular difficulty for learners of French. This is the ideal reference grammar for learners of French at all levels, from beginner to advanced. No prior knowledge of grammatical terminology is assumed and a glossary of grammatical terms is provided. This Grammar is complemented by the Modern French Grammar Workbook Second Edition which features related exercises and activities.
Perfect Your French by
The best-selling advanced course for a fun and effective way to learn French. This ISBN is for the paperback book. The corresponding audio support (ISBN: 9781444102079) is also available. The book and audio support can also be purchased as a pack (ISBN: 9781444102062).
Practising French Grammar : A Workbook by
The new edition of Practising French Grammar offers a set of varied and accessible exercises for developing a deep practical awareness of French as it is spoken and written today. It can be used alone or as the ideal companion to the new edition of the widely acclaimed French Grammar and Usage by Roger Hawkins and Richard Towell. The new edition benefits from the addition of a glossary of grammatical terms and a variety of new and updated exercises designed to stimulate even the most grammar-shy student. Lively, authentic texts and activities, as well as jokes and cartoons, help students to expand their vocabulary, and their ability to speak French. Practising French Grammar provides summaries of key grammatical points at the beginning of each exercise, as well as model answers to the exercises and translations of difficult words making it ideal for use both in class and by independent learners.
A Reference Grammar of French by
A Reference Grammar of French is a lively, wide-ranging and original handbook on the structure of the French language. It includes new information on register, pronunciation, gender, number, foreign words (Latin, Arabic, English, Spanish, Italian), adjectives and past participles used as nouns, texting, word order, frequency of occurrence of words, and usage with all geographical names. Examples come not only from France, but also from Quebec, Belgium and Switzerland. Readers will appreciate the initial passages illustrating the grammatical features of a given chapter. Also included is a user-friendly introduction to the French language, from its Latin origins to modern times. A full glossary explains any terms that might confuse the less experienced reader, and the index leads the student through the detailed labyrinth of grammatical features. This handbook will be an invaluable resource for students and teachers who want to perfect their knowledge of all aspects of French grammar.
A Short Course in Reading French by
This textbook teaches the basics of French grammar, reinforcing its lessons with exercises and key practice translations. A systematic guide, the volume is a critical companion for university-level students learning to read and translate written French into English; for graduate scholars learning to do research in French or prepping for proficiency exams; and for any interested readers who want to improve their facility with the French language. In addition, A Short Course in Reading French exposes readers to a broad range of French texts from the humanities and social sciences, including writings by distinguished francophone authors from around the world. The book begins with French pronunciation and cognates and moves through nouns, articles, and prepositions; verbs, adjectives, and adverbs; a graduated presentation of all the indicative and subjunctive tenses; object, relative, and other pronouns; the passive voice; common idiomatic constructions; and other fundamental building blocks of the French language. Chapters contain translation passages from such authors as Pascal, Montesquieu, Proust, Sartre, Bourdieu, Senghor, C#65533;saire, de Certeau, de Beauvoir, Barthes, and Kristeva. Drawn from more than two decades of experience teaching French to students from academic and nonacademic backgrounds, Celia Brickman's clear, accessible, and time-tested format enables even beginners to develop a sophisticated grasp of the language and become adept readers of French. There is an answer key for translation exercises and for non-copyrighted translation passages available to professors and teachers who have assigned this title in a class. Please provide your name, title, institution, and number of students in the course in an email to coursematerials@columbiauniversitypress.com.
A Student Grammar of French by
A Student Grammar of French is a concise introduction to French grammar, designed specifically for English-speaking undergraduates. Keeping technical detail to a minimum, it explains the fundamentals of the grammar in accessible and simple terms, and helps students to put their learning into practice through a range of fun and engaging exercises. All the essential topics are covered, with chapters on verbs, nouns, adjectives, pronouns, determiners, prepositions, adverbs, negation, numerals, sentences, and clauses. Every grammatical point is illustrated with a range of authentic examples drawn from magazines and newspapers, covering many areas of contemporary life such as fashion, health issues, relationships and sport. It is clearly organized into a user-friendly, numbered indexing system, allowing the learner to quickly and easily locate any grammatical topic. Functioning both as an indispensable reference guide and a comprehensive workbook, this grammar will become the perfect accompaniment to any first or second year undergraduate course.
Textures : Pour approfondir la communication orale et écrite by
Language proficiency emerges not solely as mastery of discrete skills, but also through one's ability to express ideas fully in a variety of cultural contexts. This innovative French+'language textbook employs a holistic approach that integrates listening, reading, writing, and conversation--placing communication at the heart of the learning experience. It provides intermediate+'level students with the interpretive tools necessary for literary and cultural studies. There are interactions with a variety of texts and media, including short stories, poems, essays, images, and podcasts.
Better Reading French : A Reader and Guide to Improving your Understanding of Written French by
New reading series brings foreign language acquisition into the 21st century While the world produces more and more reading material each year, from magazines to newspapers to websites, why are most language learners still relying on contrived texts and classic literature for language acquisition? Providing entertaining contemporary texts in the original language, the Better Reading Language series is for those who want to brush up on a foreign language. With the authentic materials provided in this series, readers will be able to peruse a Latin Grammys write-up in Spanish, a feature on Alain Ducasse's favorite recipes in French, or a review of a Milan fashion show in Italian. Readings on everything from music and sports to cinema and contemporary family life are arranged in increasing difficulty within chapters. Along the way, learners will find instruction and exercises to help develop improved reading speed, comprehension, and vocabulary.
Candide : ou L'Optimisme by
Extrait : ""Après le tremblement de terre qui avait détruit les trois quarts de Lisbonne, les sages du pays n'avaient pas trouvé un moyen plus efficace pour prévenir une ruine totale que de donner au peuple un bel auto-da-fé ; il était décidé par l'université de Coïmbre que le spectacle de quelques personnes brûlées à petit feu, en grande cérémonie, est un secret infaillible pour empêcher la terre de trembler.""
Doit-on le dire? by
Extrait : "BLANCHE, à la cantonade : Oui, mon ami... habillez-vous et revenez bien vite pour la signature du contrat... (Redescendant en scène.) J'ai cru qu'il ne s'en irait pas. (Frappant à la porte de droite.) Monsieur Dupaillon ! DUPAILLON, paraissant : Est-il parti ? BLANCHE : Oui ; mais vous finirez par me compromettre... Si le marquis vous avait surpris... il est très jaloux." À PROPOS DES ÉDITIONS LIGARAN Les éditions LIGARAN proposent des versions numériques de qualité de grands livres de la littérature classique mais également des livres rares en partenariat avec la BNF. Beaucoup de soins sont apportés à ces versions ebook pour éviter les fautes que l'on trouve trop souvent dans des versions numériques de ces textes. LIGARAN propose des grands classiques dans les domaines suivants : * Livres rares * Livres libertins * Livres d'Histoire * Poésies * Première guerre mondiale * Jeunesse * Policier
Le Jeu de l'amour et du Hasard by
Extrait : "SILVIA - Dorante arrive ici aujourd'hui, si je pouvais le voir, l'examiner un peu sans qu'il me connût ; Lisette a de l'esprit, Monsieur, elle pourrait prendre ma place pour un peu de temps, et je prendrais la sienne. MONSIEUR ORGON, à part. Son idée est plaisante. (Haut.) Laisse-moi rêver un peu à ce que tu me dis là. (A part.) Si je la laisse faire, il doit arriver quelque chose de bien singulier, elle ne s'y attend pas elle-même..."
Le Petit Chose by
Le Petit Chose, translated into English as Little Good-For-Nothing and Little What's-His-Name, is an autobiographical memoir by French author Alphonse Daudet.
Les Aventures du dernier Abencérage by
Extrait : "Lorsque Boabdil, dernier roi de Grenade, fut obligé d'abandonner le royaume de ses pères, il s'arrêta au sommet du mont Padul. De ce lieu élevé on découvrait la mer où l'infortuné monarque allait s'embarquer pour l'Afrique ; on apercevait aussi Grenade, la Véga et le Xénil, au bord duquel s'élevaient les tentes de Ferdinand et d'Isabelle."
Le Tour du Monde en Quatre-Vingts Jours by
Extrait : ""Donc, ajouta-t-il en consultant un calendrier de poche, puisque c'est aujourd'hui mercredi 2 octobre, je devrai être de retour à Londres, dans ce salon même du Reform-Club, le samedi 21 décembre, à huit heures quarante-cinq du soir, faute de quoi les vingt mille livres déposées actuellement à mon crédit chez Baring frères vous appartiendront de fait et de droit, messieurs.""
Le Voyage de Monsieur Perrichon by
Extrait : ""MAJORIN, se promenant avec impatience. Ce Perrichon n'arrive pas! Voilà une heure que je l'attends ... C'est pourtant bien aujourd'hui qu'il doit partir pour la Suisse avec sa femme et sa fille ... ""
Rions Encore by
This volume is a sequel to Rions ensemble, a collection of stories prepared by the author and provided with exercises, vocabulary, and notes by the late Professor H.L. Humphreys.
Rions Ensemble by
The twenty-five crisp and amusing short stories in this collection prove that elementary readings in French can also be entertaining.This collection is designed for reading in Grades XI and XII, and for introductory courses at the University or Extension course level.
Passport France : Your Pocket Guide to French Business, Customs and Etiquette by 
