Research Guides: TESOL: Find Journals

Academic Journals

Are publications where experts and researchers in a specific discipline publish scholarly articles. Scholarly articles are usually based on original research, reviews of current research, or theoretical discussion. Academic journals are valuable resource because they:

Keep you up to date with current trends and discoveries on your discipline.
Help you understand complex topics and connects you with other works in their references.
Most have a peer-reviewed process vetting the information by other experts.
Improve the quality of your academic work.
Great sources to consider for publishing your scholarly work.

Periodicals Quick Search

About the Periodicals List

"Periodicals" refers to magazines, journals, newspapers and other items published periodically.

Like a Library Catalog, the Periodicals List enables one to search or browse for a title. Simply enter the title in the search box; if we have access to that item the Periodicals List will provide coverage information and links to it.

About the Link Resolver (Find it!)

Find It! is the Libraries' "link resolver;" it links an article citation to the full-text of the article, if available. When you see the Find It! button near a citation in an online database, simply click on it. The HPU Discovery menu page will open and indicate whether full text is available, and if so, provide a link to the article. If not, you may request the article via Interlibrary Loan.

TESOL Working Paper series

TESOL Working Paper series
The TESOL Working Paper Series is a refereed, open-access journal that is published annually by the TESOL program in the Department of English and Applied Linguistics at Hawaii Pacific University. It publishes papers related to the field of second or foreign language teaching, particularly the teaching of English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL). Papers in this series tend to be small-scale empirical studies, action research, theory-to-practice reflection, or practical teaching ideas (see Aim and Scope in the "Call for Contribution").
TESOL Working Paper series (print issues)
Some volumes have distinct titles. All volumes produced prior to Volume 4, Issue 2, Fall 2006 are available only in print. All volumes published from Volume 7, Issue 1, Spring 2009 to the present are available only electronically.
more...less...
Summer 2004 edition edited by Tim Murphey [and others] ; with contributions by Yun-Ning (Carrie) Chang [and others] ; Spring 2005 edition edited by Jean Kirschenmann ; with contributions by Ling-Chun (Jennifer) Chao [and others].

Featured eJournal Collections

Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Cambridge University Press ebooks (including Cambridge Histories) and 300+ journals in diverse subject areas (full text typically from 2010-2013).
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
SAGE Premier provides full-text access to 700+ international, peer-reviewed journals, spanning subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, science/technology/medicine, and more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals in the physical, social and health sciences.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text Springer ebooks (published from 2005 – 2013) and journals focusing primarily on science, technology and medicine.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text peer-reviewed academic journals in many subject areas.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences; social sciences; and the humanities. Full-text coverage of 30 journals (from 1997 for most).

Featured TESOL eJournals at HPU

Applied Linguistics
HPU access: 1996~2019; volume:17;issue:1~volume:40;issue:6
Applied Linguistics publishes research into language with relevance to real-world issues. The journal is keen to help make connections between scholarly discourses, theories, and research methods from a broad range of linguistic and other relevant areas of study. The journal welcomes contributions which critically reflect on current, cutting edge theory and practice in applied linguistics.
more...less...
The journal's Forum section is intended to stimulate debate between authors and the wider community of applied linguists and to afford a quicker turnaround time for short pieces. Forum pieces are typically a commentary on research issues or professional practices or responses to a published article. Forum pieces are required to exhibit originality, timeliness and a contribution to, or stimulation of, a current debate. The journal also contains a Reviews section
Classroom Discourse.
Classroom Discourse is an international, peer reviewed journal that provides a forum in which research from language and education disciplines can be combined.
more...less...
The Journal focuses on research that considers discourse and interaction in settings where activity is deliberately organised to promote learning. While most papers focus on the discourse of classrooms, others report research in more informal, naturalistic settings in which, while learning is certainly still taking place, it is not occurring in the typical and ‘traditional’ space of a classroom. Examples might include online tutorials, peer-peer interactions of work-in-progress, and dialogues between ‘trainer and trainee’ in a workplace context.
ELT Journal
ELT Journal is a quarterly publication for all those involved in English Language Teaching (ELT), whether as a second, additional, or foreign language, or as an international Lingua Franca. The Journal links the everyday concerns of practitioners with insights gained from relevant academic disciplines such as applied linguistics, education, psychology, and sociology.
more...less...
ELT Journal aims to provide a medium for informed discussion of the principles and practice which determine the ways in which English is taught and learnt around the world. It also provides a forum for the exchange of information and ideas among members of the profession worldwide.

The Editor of ELT Journal is supported by an Advisory Board which assists the Editor in guiding the development of the Journal, and by an Editorial Panel whose members referee submissions.
International Journal of Computer-Assisted Language Learning and Teaching (IJCALLT)
This journal serves as a forum for researchers, teachers, practitioners, and education professionals to discuss and share their ideas, experience, and knowledge in combining computer technology with language teaching and learning.
JALT Journal
The research journal of the Japan Association for Language Teaching, JALT Journal is published semiannually—in the spring and in the fall—and contains articles, perspectives, and reviews.
Journal of Pragmatics
Since 1977, the Journal of Pragmatics has provided a forum for bringing together a wide range of research in pragmatics, including cognitive pragmatics, corpus pragmatics, experimental pragmatics, historical pragmatics, interpersonal pragmatics, multimodal pragmatics, sociopragmatics, theoretical pragmatics and related fields. Our aim is to publish innovative pragmatic scholarship from all perspectives, which contributes to theories of how speakers produce and interpret language in different contexts drawing on attested data from a wide range of languages/cultures in different parts of the world.
more...less...
The Journal of Pragmatics also encourages work that uses attested language data to explore the relationship between pragmatics and neighbouring research areas such as semantics, discourse analysis, conversation analysis and ethnomethodology, interactional linguistics, sociolinguistics, linguistic anthropology, media studies, psychology, sociology, and the philosophy of language. Alongside full-length articles, discussion notes and book reviews, the journal welcomes proposals for high quality special issues in all areas of pragmatics which make a significant contribution to a topical or developing area at the cutting-edge of research.
Journal of Second Language Writing
The Journal of Second Language Writing is devoted to publishing theoretically grounded reports of research and discussions that represent a significant contribution to current understandings of central issues in second and foreign language writing and writing instruction. Some areas of interest are personal characteristics and attitudes of L2 writers, features of L2 writers' texts, L2 writers' composing processes, readers' responses to L2 writing, assessment/evaluation of L2 writing, contexts (cultural, social, political, institutional) for L2 writing, and any other topic clearly relevant to L2 writing theory, research, and instruction. Manuscripts should take care to emphasize the pedagogical implications of the work.
Language & Communication
This journal is unique in that it provides a forum devoted to the interdisciplinary study of language and communication. The investigation of language and its communicational functions is treated as a concern shared in common by those working in applied linguistics, child development, cultural studies, discourse analysis, intellectual history, legal studies, language evolution, linguistic anthropology, linguistics, philosophy, the politics of language, pragmatics, psychology, rhetoric, semiotics, and sociolinguistics.
more...less...
The journal invites contributions which explore the implications of current research for establishing common theoretical frameworks within which findings from different areas of study may be accommodated and interrelated. By focusing attention on the many ways in which language is integrated with other forms of communicational activity and interactional behaviour, it is intended to encourage approaches to the study of language and communication which are not restricted by existing disciplinary boundaries.
The Language Teacher
JALT's bimonthly publication, containing articles related to language education, resources for language teachers, and news and information for JALT members.
Research in The Teaching of English
Research in the Teaching of English is a multidisciplinary journal composed of original research and scholarly essays on the relationships between language teaching and learning at all levels, preschool through adult. Articles reflect a variety of methodologies and address issues of pedagogical relevance related to the content, context, process, and evaluation of language learning.
TESOL in Context
TESOL in Context is an internationally refereed journal with a wide target audience, both national and international. Readership includes TESOL / EAL professionals working in all sectors of education; universities, primary and secondary schooling, early childhood settings, adult migrant programs, vocational training, ELICOS and TESOL teacher education, both in Australia and internationally. Articles published in TESOL in Context typically examine the nexus between theory and practice.
more...less...
The aims of TESOL in Context are to provide professionals in the field with insights into TESOL issues in Australia and internationally
contribute to the development of classroom expertise through dissemination of current research and thinking around TESOL
TESOL Journal
TESOL Journal (TJ) is a refereed, practitioner-oriented electronic journal based on current theory and research in the field of TESOL. TJ is a forum for second and foreign language educators at all levels to engage in the ways that research and theorizing can inform, shape, and ground teaching practices and perspectives. Articles enable an active and vibrant professional dialogue about research- and theory-based practices as well as practice-oriented theorizing and research.
TESOL Quarterly
TESOL Quarterly, a professional, refereed journal, was first published in 1967. The Quarterly encourages submission of previously unpublished articles on topics of signiﬁcance to individuals concerned with English language teaching and learning and standard English as a second dialect. As a publication that represents a variety of cross-disciplinary interests, both theoretical and practical, the Quarterly invites manuscripts on a wide range of topics

Featured TESOL Open Access Journals

Language Learning and Technology
A refereed journal for second and foreign language scholars and educators
Reading in a Foreign Language
Supported by the Center for Language & Technology and the National Foreign Language Resource Center at the University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa
Semantics and Pragmatics
Semantics and Pragmatics (S&P) is published by the Linguistic Society of America (LSA). It is a fully open-access peer-reviewed journal publishing high quality, original, self-contained research articles on the semantics and pragmatics of natural languages.