CHEM 4030/4031 Biochemistry: Reference Resources

Academic Video Online [AVON] delivers more than 64,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. For guides and tutorials, see the AVON LibGuide.

Recordings of televised Shakespeare plays, originally produced by the BBC.

Kanopy is a mediated on-demand streaming video service, provided through funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities. Faculty from the College of Liberal Arts may request access to videos within the grant’s approved subject areas. Videos should support at least 3000-4000 of undergraduate level study. Faculty from other colleges should contact their Dean or program chair for support in purchasing or licensing instructional media.

Approved Subject Areas: Art & Art History: all disciplines, Classics: classical studies, Foreign Languages: original texts in foreign languages if they support the curriculum; must be at 300-400 level: no foreign language film used primarily for practice; no how-to videos, History, International Studies: all disciplines, Linguistics: history, not applied, Literature, Military Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Religious Studies, World History: comparative studies

Subject areas not covered under the grant: Applied Linguistics, Performing Arts, Psychology, Sociological Studies, Sociology, general, Studio Art, and Theater.

Provides media and marketing information on 100,000+ U.S. and international media properties.

UNdata is the data access system to UN databases. It contains official statistics produced by countries and compiled by United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. The domains covered are agriculture, crime, education, energy, industry, labor, national accounts, population and tourism.

CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview, which includes three pro-con debates; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) offers full-text access to encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Global Issues offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected,relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.

Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Points of View Reference Center is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. Students can use Points of View as a guide to debating, developing arguments, writing position papers, and developing critical thinking skills. Each PoV Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought.

TOPICsearch contains full text for over 150,961 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.

This searchable, customizable, regularly updated version of AP Stylebook offers bonus features including Ask the Editor, Topical Guides and Pronunciation Guide.

Search for an article’s Digital Object Identifier (DOI), or “permanent link.” You may also retrieve information for a known DOI.

EndNote Basic is a free reference management tool that allows you to store, organize, and share references in your web-based account.

Zotero is a free, open-source research tool that helps you collect, organize, and analyze research and share it in a variety of ways. Zotero includes the best parts of older reference manager software—the ability to store author, title, and publication fields and to export that information as formatted references—and the best aspects of modern software and web applications, such as the ability to organize, tag, and search in advanced ways.

Ulrichsweb contains detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.