This database, produced by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, contains drug information monographs written in plain language, intended for use by consumers. Monographs are available in both English and Spanish (with audio capabilities), and you may search by generic or brand name.
Click on the link below to access AHFS Consumer Medication Information (via EBSCO).
AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers and has been a Top Ten Award Winner in the Department of Health and Human Services National Consumer Education Materials Contest. This content is updated monthly.
The National Library of Medicine (NLM) Drug Information Portal provides access to information on more than 33,000 drugs. Coverage includes drugs available in the US marketplace, as well as those that are still in the clinical trials stage. Search results link to NLM resources (such as Medline and ClinicalTrials.gov) as well as resources from the Food and Drug Administration (FDA).
Click on the link below to access the Drug Information Portal (open access database).
DailyMed contains the most up-to-date FDA labels (package inserts) for drugs available in the US marketplace. This information is provided as a public service by the National Library of Medicine.
Click on the link below to access DailyMed (open access database).
The Dietary Supplement Label Database, a joint project of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) and National Library of Medicine (NLM), contains the full label contents from a sample of dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S.
Click on the link below to access the Dietary Supplement Label Database (open access database).
Drugs@FDA is a database containing basic information for all FDA-approved brand name and generic drugs, both prescription and over-the-counter. You may search by drug name, active ingredient, or application number.
Click on the link below to access Drugs@FDA (open access database).
MedWatch, provided by the FDA, focuses on drug safety. You may view up-to-date information on drug recalls, search the database for specific products, or report an adverse event.
Click on the link below to access MedWatch (open access database).
Can't make it to the library? Access these ebooks from home. Simply click on the cover photo or title to access the ebook
Got meds? Whether you need to look up a specific drug or want to brush up on pharmacology, the library has resources for you. Databases and ebooks are featured in the left column. Selected print books are listed below.
IMPORTANT NOTE: If you are off-campus, you may be prompted to log in to your Blackboard account before accessing our online resources.
Here is a sampling of the drug information handbooks available at Atherton Library. Many of the most recent editions are in our Reference Collection (library use only), with older editions usually available for checkout. Click on the cover photo or title to see the status of the book in our library catalog.
2013 Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses, 13th ed.
Mosby's 2013 Nursing Drug Reference, 26th ed.
PDR for Nonprescription Drugs 2012, 33rd ed.
Pearson Nurse's Drug Guide 2012These books may be borrowed from Atherton Library. Click on the cover photo or title to see the checkout status of the book in our library catalog.
2012 Intravenous Medications: a Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals, 28th ed.
Infusion Nursing: an Evidence-Based Approach, 3rd ed.
Manual of I. V. Therapeutics: Evidence-Based Infusion Therapy, 5th ed.
Pearson Intravenous Drug Guide 2011-2012Nearly all of these books may be borrowed from Atherton Library. Click on the cover photo or title to see the checkout status of the book in our library catalog.
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, 12th ed.
Drug Therapy in Nursing, 4th ed.
Focus on Nursing Pharmacology, 5th ed.
Introduction to Pharmacology, 12th ed.
Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews : Pharmacology
Memory Notebook of Nursing: Pharmacology and Diagnostics, 3rd ed.
Pearson Reviews and Rationales: Pharmacology, 3rd ed.
Pharmacology for Nursing Care, 8th ed.
Pharmacology: a Nursing Process Approach, 7th ed.
