The dictionaries listed below are located at the Library at Waterfront (Downtown Campus) in the Hawaii Pacific Collection. Click on the title or image for a link to its entry in the HPU Discovery. Use the call number to find the book in the stacks. You can search for more books in our library using the HPU Discovery. To access the Libraries' electronic resources off-campus, please logon to my.hpu.edu.
All about Hawaiian by
This quick and lively tour of the Hawaiian language begins by uncovering its fascinating and often controversial history. With the help of a clear and concise guide to pronunciation, learn the importance of the okina () and the kahako (macron) and how these marks affect the meaning as well as the pronunciation of words. Helpful vocabulary lists introduce words heard and seen most often in place names, in restaurants, and in Hawaiian songs--including those commonly mispronounced even by life-long Hawaii residents. The author also discusses ongoing efforts to preserve Hawaiian as a living language through language-teaching programs.
Beginner's Hawaiian by 
Hawaiian Dictionary by
For many years Hawaiian Dictionary has been the definitive and authoritative work on the Hawaiian language. Now this indispensable reference volume has been enlarged and completely revised. More than 3,000 new entries have been added to the Hawaiian-English section bringing the total number of entries to almost 30,000, and making it the largest and most complete of any Polynesian dictionary. Other additions and changes in this section include: a method of showing stress groups to facilitate pronunciation of Hawaiian words with more than three syllables; indication of parts of speech; current scientific names of plants; use of metric measurements; additional reconstructions; classical origins of loan words; and many added cross-references to enhance understanding of the numerous nuances of Hawaiian words. The English-Hawaiian section, a complement and supplement to the Hawaiian-English section, contains more than 12,500 entries and can serve as an index to hidden riches in the Hawaiian language. This new edition is more than a dictionary. Containing folklore, poetry, and ethnology, it will benefit Hawaiian studies for years to come. - Publisher.
Hawaiian Dictionary by
The roots of A Dictionary of the Hawaiian Language go back to the late 1820s, when Lorrin Andrews arrived in Hawai`i and began a systematic study of Hawaiian, which grew into a love of the language that was to continue for forty years. In 1836, he published a Hawaiian "vocabulary," which eventually quadrupled in size to become the present work, which first appeared in 1865. Although many missionary linguists compiled dictionaries of Polynesian languages to aid in translating, Andrews had a different motive: to collect "specimens of the language of common life." To this end, he used native speakers, mostly through their writings, as the authorities for defining words. In the 1860s, Hawaiian was indeed the language of common life, for it was used in everyday communication, and in such institutions as the schools, the government, and the church. Thus, this dictionary provides a rare and valuable glimpse into mid-nineteenth-century Hawaiian culture and thought. This is especially important today, as students and scholars examine the past to help insure that Hawaiian continues as a living language in the present and the future. Book jacket.
The Hawaiian Language and Hawaiian-English Dictionary by 
Illustrated Hawaiian Dictionary by
This dictionary provides a resource for beginning speakers and students of the Hawaiian language. It includes thousands of example sentences in Hawaiian and English that illustrate practical and cultural uses of the language. More than 5000 Hawiian entries are included.
Mamaka Kaiao by
This work adds to the 1998 edition more than 1000 new and contemporary words that are essential to the continuation and growth of ka olelo Hawai'I - the Hawaiian language.
Nā Lula Hālāwai : a parliamentary guide to conducting meetings in Hawaiian by
"The rules of procedure from the early kingdom and the sources noted here reveal they were not brought about through colonial imposition as contemporary scholars may claim, but rather as a means of effectively and responsibly exercising the nation's sovereignty in its creation of laws for the realm. This book will do well for not only history buffs, but for the everyday person who wants to reconnect to Hawaiʻi's past and apply these rules in Hawaiian organizations today. A must have book" - David Keanu Sai, Ph.D.
New Pocket Hawaiian Dictionary by
Preface -- Pronunciation of Hawaiian -- Abbreviations used in the dictionary -- Hawaiian-English -- English-Hawaiian -- Grammar -- 1. Overall view -- 2. Pronunciation -- 3. Hyphens and no hyphens -- 4. Verbs and verb phrases -- 5. Nouns and noun phrases -- 6. Person words -- 7. Transformations -- 8. Numerals -- 9. Qualifying particles -- 10. Conjunctions -- 11. Loanwords -- Given names in Hawaiian -- References.
Pocket Hawaiian grammar : a reference grammar in dictionary form : including a guide to pronunciation by
Pocket Hawaiian Grammar is the ultimate reference guide to the Hawaiian language. Its unique dictionary format makes it easy for students and professional linguists to find explanations of grammatical terms (both Hawaiian and English), major sentence patterns, and grammatical markers. Most entries include examples and references to one or more of nearly 80 works spanning a century and a half of research on the Hawaiian language. The grammar also explains terms relating to the sounds of Hawaiian and includes a guide to pronunciation. Pocket Hawaiian Grammar is the perfect complement to A Dictionary of the Hawaiian Language by Lorrin Andrews, and its handy size makes it easy to carry in a backpack or briefcase.
The eBooks listed below are available online for the HPU community. Click on the title or image to access the title. You can search for more eBooks by using HPU Discovery. To access the Libraries' electronic resources off-campus, please logon to my.hpu.edu.
Hawaii Place Names : Shores, Beaches, and Surf Sites by
In his latest book, John Clark, author of the highly regarded "Beaches of Hawaii" series, gives us the many captivating stories behind the hundreds of Hawaii place names associated with the ocean--the names of shores, beaches, and other sites where people fish, swim, dive, surf, and paddle. Significant features and landmarks on or near shores, such as fishponds, monuments, shrines, reefs, and small islands, are also included. The names of surfing sites are the most numerous and among the most colorful: from the purely descriptive (Black Rock, Blue Hole) to the humorous (No Can Tell, Pray for Sex). Clark began gathering information for the "Beaches" series in 1972, and during the years that followed interviewed hundreds of informants, many of them native Hawaiians, and consulted dozens of Hawaiian reference books, newspapers, and maps. A significant amount of the oral history he collected was unrecorded and remained only in his notebooks and memory. Hawaii Place Names: Shores, Beaches, and Surf Sites is the final result of those years of research, and like its popular predecessors, it benefits substantially from Clark's having spent a lifetime surfing and swimming Hawaii's beaches. Presented in the same convenient format as Pukui, Elbert, and Mookini's Place Names of Hawaii (UH Press, 1974) this rich compendium of information on Hawaii's surf, shore, and beach sites will satisfy visitors and residents alike
Hawaiian Dictionaries (Ulukau)