Find It! is the Libraries' "link resolver;" it links an article citation to the full-text of the article, if available. When you see the Find It! button near a citation in an online database, simply click on it. The HPU Discovery menu page will open and indicate whether full text is available, and if so, provide a link to the article. If not, you may request the article via Interlibrary Loan.
Connect your search terms using Boolean logic: AND, OR, NOT. AND will narrows you searches as it commands for all your terms to be present. The more AND's you have the less results you will retrieve.
OR broadens your searches by retrieving either one of the terms that is connected by an OR. The more OR's you have the more results you will obtain. Try to connect similar terms or synonyms with OR. 
You can also use Google Scholar to search the web for scholarly articles! By using Google Scholar via HPU you will see on the right column the articles that are available to you thanks to HPU Libraries' database subscriptions.
After you graduate, you will not be able to access our subscription databases due to licensing restrictions. However, you can access "open access" resources which are free of access restrictions.
Databases are search tools (similar to a search engine) which indexes different type of publications (sometimes even media like the case of Films on Demand).
Start finding articles by searching in a multidisciplinary database that indexes periodicals (journals, newspapers, magazines), such as Academic Search Complete, ScienceDirect, and JSTOR, then move to specialized databases appropriate for your topic.
Empirical research are studies based on actual and objective observation, experience or experimentation (original research).
Note: Other research articles that are not empirical might have similar elements; always read the article specially the methods or methodology section to distinguish if that study is an original research.
Peer Review describes the process that an article goes through before publication. Peer review articles are reviewed by other researchers within the discipline prior publication to ensure the highest levels of academic merit. Peer reviewed articles are often called scholarly, academic, juried or refereed.
Some databases only contained scholarly peer-reviewed articles such as ScienceDirect. While other databases have the capability to limit your search to peer-reviewed articles. For example, in EBSCO databases, there's an option on the main search page under "Limit your results" to limit your search to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.
Note: Keep in mind that not everything appearing in a peer-reviewed journal is a peer-reviewed article; there are also book reviews, editorials, etc published in peer-reviewed journals.
If you are searching in a database that does not have a Peer-reviewed filter or have an article and want to make sure it was published in a Peer Reviewed publication, check the journal publication in UlrichsWeb.
