Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Zotero: Cite

Learn how to cite your references with Zotero, a free citation tool.

Contact Us

Zotero and Word Doc

Zotero will work with a number of different (but not all) versions of Open Office and Microsoft Word. Documentation for integrating Zotero with word processing programs can be found at:

zotero.org/support/word_processor_integration

Zotero Word Plugin

Zotero and Google Docs

Zotero can bee sync to your Google Docs using the internet browser that has a Zotero connector installed, you will see a Zotero option added to your menu. Interacting with the Zotero functionality for the first time in a document will prompt you to authenticate the plugin with your Google account. Once authenticated you can begin inserting citations from your Zotero libraries.

To add a citation to your document, choose "Add/edit citation" from the menu or click on the Z button in the Google Docs toolbar. You will be prompted to choose your citation style.

 

Add other Citation Styles

Zotero comes with the most common bibliographic styles, but many more are available to download.

To install a style (Firefox):

  1. Go to the Zotero Style Repository page in Firefox.
  2. Search for the name of the style you need.
  3. Click the Install link next to the style, then the Install button to confirm.
To install a style (Zotero Standalone):
  1. Go to the Zotero Style Repository page in Firefox.
  2. Search for the name of the style you need.
  3. Download the style (right-click the Install link and choose Save As).
  4. Open Zotero preferences. Click Cite, then Styles, then the "+" button, and select the style you downloaded (a .CSL file).

Create Bibliographies

Create a bibliography or a citations list in Zotero, by selecting a collection or highlighting (control and click) multiple items from a collection, then right-click (or control-click on Macs) to select “Create Bibliography From ...”.
 
 
Select the citation style and the output mode you want to open your bibliography in. A RTF will allow you to save the bibliography as a rich text file (usually opens in Word). HTML will allow you to save the bibliography as a HTML file for viewing in a web browser. Clipboard will allow you to save the bibliography to your clipboard to paste into any text field. Print will send your bibliography straight to a printer.

Creating Bibliography: While You Write

If you just want to quickly add references to a paper, email, or blog post, Zotero's drag-and-drop "Quick Copy" feature is the easiest to go. Simply select items in the center column and drag them into any text field. Zotero will automatically create a formatted bibliography for you.

You can also have Zotero work directly with text processors such as  Microsoft Word and LibreOffice/OpenOffice/NeoOffice. Download the appropriate plugin, there is no need to download the plugin again if you have Zotero Standalone. 

The Zotero Toolbar allows you to insert and edit citations and bibliographies, set your document preferences and remove field codes.

PC: After installing the plugin you'll see a tab labeled 'add-ins' in Word.  Click it to bring up the Zotero toolbar.  

Mac: The Zotero toolbar will float near the top of your screen.  If you don't see it, go to the View menu, then Toolbars, and click Zotero to add a check mark.