Databases are search tools (similar to a search engines) which index different type of publications.
Start finding articles by searching in a multidisciplinary database that indexes periodicals (journals, newspapers, magazines), such as Academic Search Complete, ScienceDirect, and JSTOR. Then move to specialized databases appropriate for your topic.
Find It! is the Libraries' "link resolver;" it links an article citation to the full-text of the article, if available. When you see the Find It! button near a citation in an online database, simply click on it. The HPU Discovery menu page will open and indicate whether full text is available, and if so, provide a link to the article. If not, you may request the article via Interlibrary Loan.
If the article(s) you need is not part of our subscription, request the article(s) via Interlibrary Loan! Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is the process of borrowing books and/or obtaining periodical articles from other libraries or institutions.
All you have to do is fill out our Journal Article Request form! Pertaining the amount to pay, you can indicate that you want to pay zero (0.00); which will prompt our ILL department to only ask institutions that do not charge.
Once you have submitted the request, our ILL department will be in contact with you via email. Most article(s) requests take from 5-14 working days to arrive.
Below is a link to our Journal Article Request form.
When searching databases it is recommended to have a list of potential search terms and try numerous search combinations using search operators such as AND, OR, NOT. Utilize limiters of databases to make your results more precise and match assignment requirements.
