Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome graduate nursing students!
Aloha MSN & DNP students,
This guide is designed to help you with your research for the MSN and DNP programs. It contains a variety of resources including databases, books, tips, and much more.
If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions, please use the information on the right to contact me. I am here to assist you so don't hesitate to contact me.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more. CINAHL is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
PubMed @ HPU This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Access the database via PubMed @ HPU to see the "Find It" link resolver and get full-text access to articles through our various database subscriptions.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. Includes full-text Cochrane systematic reviews.
PsycNET This link opens in a new window
Provides access to PsycINFO (citations and abstracts in psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences) and PsycARTICLES (full-text journal articles in subject areas such as applied psychology, health, theory, research, social/personality, and more).
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals. (Hawaii Library Consortium
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. NOTE: Limited to 20 simultaneous users.
Google Scholar @ HPU This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Accessing Google Scholar via this link authenticates your off-campus computer, enabling off-campus access to the Libraries' resources.
When accessing our subscribed online resources off-campus, you will be prompt to our EZproxy login screen (seen below). Use your MyHPU credentials (username and password) to get authenticated. In case your account is not working please contact the IT department at email@example.com.
Some student scholarship from MSN and DNP programs is available in the library’s open access institutional repository. This online repository includes student works supporting candidature or for degree completion from various academic departments at HPU. The capstone papers or thesis and dissertation are uploaded by faculty mentors or assigned departmental staff with the adequate clearance of copyright provided by the authored students. All student scholarship in the HPU Digital Collection is available in full text. You can browse the Theses and Dissertations collection or conduct a keyword search.
If the HPU Libraries do not have an article or book that you need, it may be possible to request it from another library. Simply fill out the appropriate form. The Journal Article Request form for articles or book chapters, and the Book Request form for print books. Book requests are only available for pick up at the HPU Libraries, so if you are not able to pick it up from Waterfront or Atherton Libary, we recommend requesting a book chapter rather than the entire book.
The HPU Libraries follow all copyright laws and use the Commission on New Technological Uses of Copyrighted Works [CONTU] published guidelines to source all print and electronic materials, we will first attempt to secure these materials from resource sharing partners at no cost to the patron.