Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT) Resources: Home

Profile Photo
Elizabeth Torres
Contact:

WP6-302-J
500 Ala Moana
Honolulu HI
808-566-2412

If the article(s) or book chapters you need are not part of our subscription, request the article(s) via Interlibrary Loan!  Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is the process of borrowing books and/or obtaining periodical articles from other libraries or institutions.

All you have to do is fill out either the Journal Article Request or Book Request form! Pertaining the amount to pay, you can indicate that you want to pay zero (0.00); which will prompt our ILL department to only ask institutions that do not charge. 

Once you have submitted the request, our ILL department will be in contact with you via email. Most article(s) requests take from 3-12 working days to arrive.

Below is a link to ILL forms 

You can use Web Print through PaperCut to print from any computer, including your own device and pick the print job at any of our library locations. 

  • Go to: https://myprint.hpu.edu/
  • Bypass the "Your connection is not private screen"  by clicking Advanced and then the Proceed option
  • Once you get the MyHPU credential screen input your log-in info
  • PaperCut screen select “Web Print” option
  • Select “Submit a Job”
  • Select the specific print job and printer (see below list of printers in libraries)
  • Select number of copies
  • Upload document to print preferably PDFs format
  • Print
  • Pick up your copy 

Printers names across library locations:

Enter WP6302 to filter out the printers @ Waterfront Library

Enter ATMLC to filter out the printers @ Learning Commons

Enter Atherton to filter out the printers @Atherton Library

Welcome to the DPT Research Guide!

Aloha DPT students!

This guide is designed to help you with your research and contains a variety of physical therapy  and health sciences resources, including books,  databases, journals, and much more.

If you need assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me! I can help you with your literature searching,  finding a variety of information - statistics, scientific literature, and using personal citation management programs such as Zotero & EndNote Basic. 

 ~Elizabeth 

Bookmark this guide for easy access to resources!

https://hpu.libguides.com/DPT

Core Physical Therapy Databases

Other Recommended Online Resources

Student scholarship from various programs is available in the library’s open access institutional repository. This online repository includes student works supporting candidature or for degree completion from various academic departments at HPU. The capstone papers or thesis and dissertation are uploaded by faculty mentors or assigned departmental staff with the adequate clearance of copyright provided by the authored students.  All student scholarship in the HPU Digital Collection is available in full text. You can browse the Theses and Dissertations collection or conduct a keyword search.

HPU Discovery is our one search tool to find books, articles, and videos. This discovery tool works by searching across multiple databases that HPU subscribes to through a single search. HPU Discovery is designed to provide a “Google”-like single-search experience of the world of library electronic resources, including the library online catalog, databases, ejournals, digital collections, and more. However HPU Discovery does not index all the recommended Physical Therapy databases, therefore it is recommended that in addition to searching HPU Discover to search specific databases. 

The library has access to thousands periodicals (journals, magazines, newspapers, items that are published in a periodical basis). For the most part we have access through subscription packages, others by print subscription and some  via open access.  Generally the most effective way to search periodical articles is by using databases, however, sometimes you may want to search articles within a specific publication; if so you must use the Periodical List. 

If we do not have access to the journal or periodical you need, it may be possible for us to obtain articles through interlibrary loan. 

Library Sessions

The following online resources are featured in DPT program:

The full text of the Merck Manual Professional Version is freely available online.  You may enter a keyword search, or browse by section, index, or symptoms.