Research Guides: ENG 1101: Representations of Pacific Life: Welcome

Aloha ENG 1101 students,

This mini research website is to assist you for your Public Service Announcement (PSA) assignment with Dr. J Cardenas. I've gather plenty of sources designed to enhance your research, it has supplemental databases, essential books, practical search tips, and much more to streamline your studies.

If you need assistance with finding and using literature or data, please don’t hesitate to contact a librarian using the information provided on the left-hand side of this page. We are here to support your research you can also schedule a one-on-one consultations, click on the “Meet with A Librarian” link in the How to Get Help section below.

~Elizabeth T.

Hawaii & Pacific Online Resources

In addition to HPU databases, we offer specific periodical subscriptions to support your assignments. This section includes direct links to valuable resources we’ve subscribed to, such as the Honolulu Star-Advertiser and The Contemporary Pacific publication.

You’ll also find a list of other excellent open-access resources that are freely available to everyone.

Honolulu Star-Advertiser (ProQuest)
Provides full-text access to The Honolulu Star-Advertiser (6/7/2010 - 6/23/2025), The Honolulu Advertiser (11/30/2002 - 6/6/2010) and The Honolulu Star-Bulletin (3/18/1996 - 6/6/2010). ProQuest no longer has rights to newer issues of the Honolulu Star-Advertiser past June 23, 2025. We are working with the consortium to identify a replacement subscription. We apologize for the inconvenience.

The Contemporary Pacific (Subscription)
The Contemporary Pacific covers a wide range of disciplines with the aim of providing comprehensive coverage of contemporary developments in the entire Pacific Islands region, including Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia. Subscription includes access from 2000- Present.

Contemporary Pacific
Back Issues for Contemporary Pacific from 1989 -2022.
Hawaiian Journal of History
First published in 1967, Hawaiian Journal of History is an annual scholarly journal devoted to original articles on the history of Hawai‘i, Polynesia, and the Pacific area. Each issue includes articles on a variety of subjects; illustrations; book reviews; notes and queries; and a bibliography of Hawaiiana titles of historical interest.

Thrum's Hawaiian Annual
The Hawaiʻi almanac now commonly known as "Thrum's" was published annually between 1875 and 1974. In addition to statistical reports on business, population, government, weather and geography, each volume included directories of government, businesses and organizations, and articles and essays on a wide variety of topics.
Center for Pacific Islands Studies
The Center for Pacific Islands Studies, in the University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa School of Pacific and Asian Studies, is both an academic department and a larger home for initiatives that bring together people and resources to promote an understanding of the Pacific Islands and issues of concern to Pacific Islanders. he university’s Pacific Collection, one of the most comprehensive collections of Pacific materials in the world, attracts a worldwide audience, as do the center’s international conferences, its Web-based resources.
Papakilo
The Office of Hawaiian Affairs’ (OHA’s) Papakilo Database, is the ongoing development of a cutting edge and comprehensive “Database of Databases” consisting of varied collections of data pertaining to historically and culturally significant places, events, and documents in Hawai'i’s history. This online repository of data will greatly increase OHA’s ability to preserve and perpetuate cultural and historical information and practices, thus providing an invaluable resource to educate other regulatory agencies, OHA’s Native Hawaiian beneficiaries, and the general public.

more... less...

The name, Papakilo, was provided by Puakea Nogelmeier and Kau'i Sai-Dudoit and selected by OHA's CEO, Ka Pouhana Dr. Kamana'opono Crabbe. The definition of Papakilo is “a foundation for seeking, searching, observing.” Dr. Crabbe expands on this definition by saying that the name, Papakilo, "embraces the function of the database which not only implies seeking or to search, but the continual exploration of infinite spaces, levels of knowledge as a perpetual cycle for the next generations to come."
Punawaiola
Punawaiola is dedicated to the collection and dissemination of digitized Hawaiian Kingdom historical and legal materials. The hope is to maximize public access to these important, yet difficult to find, resources. Punawaiola, which is translated as “spring water of life,” thematically represents how our past nourishes and sustains us today.
Civil Beat
Honolulu Civil Beat is a 501(c)3 tax-exempt news organization. Civil Beat removed its paywall in June 2016 and transitioned to 501(c)3 nonprofit status.

Supplemental Databases

JSTOR
Contains full text back issues of journal titles in the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. Also contains 500+ open-access ebooks.
Project Muse
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating.
LitFinder (Gale)
LitFinder provides access to a wealth of literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history, including full-text poems and poetry citations, short stories, inaugural presidential speeches, and plays. LitFinder also contains biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary. Researchers can quickly search for a particular author or identify authors linked by qualities such as gender, nationality, century, and genre using person search. Works search functions, similarly, giving users the ability to browse works by thousands of subjects, themes, genres, and literary movements.
Gale Databases (Gale)
Portal to all of our Gale databases and ebooks.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Provides full-text access to peer reviewed scholarly journals in the physical, social and health sciences from 1996 to present.

Access Library Resources Off-Campus

When accessing our subscribed online resources off-campus, you will be prompt to our EZproxy login screen (seen below). Use your MyHPU credentials (username and password) to get authenticated. In case your account is not working please contact the IT department at help@hpu.edu.

HPU Digital: Institutional Repository

HPU Digital is Hawaii Pacific University’s institutional repository. It advances knowledge, showcases achievements, and preserves the intellectual and creative contributions of the HPU community. It provides long-term, open access to HPU records and publications while globally disseminating scholarly and creative works by faculty, students, and affiliates. By offering open access, it enhances scholarship, innovation, and global collaboration.

HPU Help

Get Counseling Help

The Counseling and Behavioral Health Services (CBHS) department provides FREE & CONFIDENTIAL counseling services to current registered HPU students. Schedule an appointment via email

Meet with a Counselor

Get Librarian Help

Librarians help primarily with the research involved in crafting your assignment. This includes choosing and narrowing a topic, finding resources, and using resources ethically.

Get Tutoring Help

Tutors at the Center for Academic Success (CAS) help primarily with completing your assignment. This includes help with writing or otherwise crafting your work, and providing suggestions on how to improve your work.

Meet with a Tutor