HPU Libraries continues to offer Library Workshops throughout years.
HPU Libraries Workshops are designed to engage students and faculty in short, informal sessions
that cultivate information literacy skills so that they achieve academic success.
Participants can:
---choose to attend a session already set up by the library that would meet individual needs
---create their own sessions our library staff can teach you a specific information literacy skills of their choice.
The sessions ranging from 30 min. to 75 min. will be held both on the DT/HLC campus and are open to students (all levels), faculty and staff.
Upcoming library workshops and other events are listed on the calendar below. Click on the links to view more information or to register for a session (if applicable).
How a typical Google search works
Google search takes place on Google’s own web servers- huge index of websites stored on Google’s servers. It takes less than half a second to complete.
GoogleBot:
“Google uses several user-agents to crawl and index content in the Google.com search engine. Googlebot describes all Google spiders. All Google bots begin with “Googlebot”; for example Googlebot-Mobile: crawls pages for Google’s mobile index; Googlebot-Image: crawls pages for Google’s image index.”
http://bullseyenj.com/need-to-know/glossary/googlebot/
What Would GoogleBot Do?
http://www.stateofdigital.com/what-would-google-bot-do/
How Google Ranks Its Results: Three Components:
What Google IS/ISN’T Good at?
Google IS good at:
Google ISN’T good at:
Conducting a More Refined Search: Advanced Search
Sourece: Miller, M. (2008). Googlepedia : The ultimate google resource (2nd ed.). Indianapolis, Ind.: Que Pub.
Automatic Citation (Easy Bibliography) Generators:
Bibliographic (Reference/Citation) Management Programs:
Other Useful Resources: for journal articles, Thesis/Desertations, Government Reports, Book Chapters, etc.
Useful Links:
EndNote Basic is a free, web-based reference management program that allows you to:
NOTE: EndNote Basic was, until recently, called EndNote Web. It is also sometimes referred to as EndNote Online.
To set up an account and download additional plug-ins, log in to your HPU Pipeline account and we recommend registering for your EndNote Basic account through the Web of Science database because the two products are integrated and you will have access to an enhanced version of EndNote Basic. (click here to learn more about "Creating Your EndNote Basic Account")
To learn more about "EndNote Basic", go to the EndNote Basic Research Guide
Zotero is a free citation management tool that allows you to easily collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. This session will walk you through how to use Zotero from start to finish.
Zotero can be used in two ways:
To set up an account and download Zotero, go to Zotero Home.
To learn more about "Zotero", go to the Zotero Research Guide
HPU Library Databases
* Please note that this notes will evolve as new resources become available.
LAS Session Reference Management Programs: Post Test and Survey Enter Room #: to start quiz.
| EndNote Basic | Zotero | |
|---|---|---|
| Cost | Free to everyone (fewer styles) Free to HPU students, staff and faculty (many more styles) |
Free to everyone (costs for upgraded storage) |
| Storage/Maximum number of records | 2 GB free web space/10,000 | 300 MB/ Unlimited on desktop (restricted by local storage capacity) |
| Access via | Online | Online & Desktop |
| Creates formatted bibliographies, in-text citations, and footnotes in word processor | Yes (in MS Word only) | Yes (in MS and LibreOffice) |
| Operating System | Web-based (operating system-independent), MAC OS X | Macintosh, Windows, Linux, BSD, Unix |
| Library system integration/EZ Proxy | Yes | Yes |
| Share data among other citation management programs | Yes | Yes |
| Duplicate detection | Yes | Yes |
| Automatic journal abbreviation lists | None | Version 4.0 and later |
| Link to PDFs or other materials | Yes | Yes |
| Retrieve PDF citation data | No | Queries CrossRef, WorldCat and/or Google Scholar. Mixed success |
| Add notes to references | Yes, in “notes” field | Yes, notes can stand alone or be attached to references |
| Annotate PDFs | No | No, but will sync PDFs annotated with 3rd party software |
| Full Text PDF search | No | Yes |
| Direct Search of Online Catalogs/Databases | Yes | Automatic capture |
| Direct Export (from databases) | Yes, with specific databases | Yes, via translators |
| Filters for importing from online databases | Yes | Imports wikis, websites, and databases via translators.Web snapshot retains the presentation of a particular web page. |
| Edit or create styles | No | Yes, via Citation Style Editor |
| Read-only capability | Yes (Read-only share “group” with anyone who has an EndNote Web account) | Yes (Via member settings within groups) |
| Collaboration features | Share EndNote Web account with other EndNote Web users (cannot share file attachments) | Create public and private groups Automatic synchronization of collections among multiple computers |
| Mobile Device Application | No | 3rd party iOS and Android apps, web interface |
| Access citations remotely | Yes | Yes |
| Store PDFs in personal citation database | Yes | Yes |
| Screen capture web page content (blogs, streaming video, etc.) | No | Yes |
| Maximum number of reference types (e.g. journal, book) | • Pre-defined (customizable): 50 • User-defined: 3 |
Pre-defined: 35 |
| Auto-complete data entry | No | Yes, for author(s), journal title, tags |
| Sort Capabilites | Author, title or year | Any information categories |
| Field Search | Yes, by author | Yes, by any field |
| Advanced Search | No | Yes. All fields |
| Edit or create filters | Yes | Yes |
| Create a bibliography as a file within citation manager | • HTML • Rich Text Format (RTF) • Plain Text |
• HTML • Rich Text Format (RTF) • Copy plain text to clipboard |
| Export |
Export records to: |
Export records to: |
| RSS Feeds | No | Yes |
Source: Comparison Chart by the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries
https://www.library.wisc.edu/services/citation-managers/comparison-chart/
Useful Links
The ACS Style Guide by
In the time since the second edition of The ACS Style Guide was published, the rapid growth of electronic communication has dramatically changed the scientific, technical, and medical (STM) publication world. This dynamic mode of dissemination is enabling scientists, engineers, and medical practitioners all over the world to obtain and transmit information quickly and easily. An essential constant in this changing environment is the requirement that information remain accurate, clear, unambiguous, and ethically sound. This extensive revision of The ACS Style Guide thoroughly examines electronic tools now available to assist STM writers in preparing manuscripts and communicating with publishers. Valuable updates include discussions of markup languages, citation of electronic sources, online submission of manuscripts, and preparation of figures, tables, and structures. In keeping current with the changing environment, this edition also contains references to many resources on the internet. With this wealth of new information, The ACS Style Guide's Third Edition continues its long tradition of providing invaluable insight on ethics in scientific communication, the editorial process, copyright, conventions in chemistry, grammar, punctuation, spelling, and writing style for any STM author, reviewer, or editor. The Third Edition is the definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts.
AMA Manual of Style by 
APA Style Guide to Electronic References, 6th ed.
CSE: Scientific Style and Format by
Scientific Style and Format is the most recognized, authoritative reference for authors, editors, publishers, students, and translators in all areas of science and related fields. The seventh edition of this useful resource has been fully updated and expanded to reflect changes in recommendations from authoritative international bodies. New chapters cover the responsibilities of authors, editors, and peer reviewers in scientific publication and discuss copyright requirements and practices. The chapters on books and journals provide advice pertinent to both electronic and print publication, and authoritative online resources are listed where available. Both American and British styles are covered. Everyone involved in scientific publishing should have the seventh edition of Scientific Style and Format on hand.
The Chicago Manual of Style by
The Sixteenth Edition is available in book form and as a subscription website. The same content from The Chicago Manual of Style is in both versions. While digital technologies have revolutionized the publishing world in the twenty-first century, one thing still remains true: The Chicago Manual of Style is the authoritative, trusted source that writers, editors, and publishers turn to for guidance on style and process. For the sixteenth edition, every aspect of coverage has been reconsidered to reflect how publishing professionals work today. Though processes may change, the Manual continues to offer the clear, well-considered style and usage advice it has for more than a century. The sixteenth edition offers expanded information on producing electronic publications, including web-based content and e-books. An updated appendix on production and digital technology demystifies the process of electronic workflow and offers a primer on the use of XML markup, and a revised glossary includes a host of terms associated with electronic as well as print publishing. The Chicago system of documentation has been streamlined and adapted for a variety of online and digital sources. Figures and tables are updated throughout the book—including a return to the Manual’s popular hyphenation table and new, comprehensive listings of Unicode numbers for special characters. With the wisdom of a hundred years of editorial practice and a wealth of industry expertise from both Chicago’s staff and an advisory board of publishing professionals, The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th edition, is an invaluable resource in this rapidly changing world. If you work with words—no matter what the delivery medium—this is the one reference you simply must have.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by
Widely adopted by universities, colleges, and secondary schools, theMLA Handbookgives step-by-step advice on every aspect of writing research papers, from selecting a topic to submitting the completed paper. For over half a century, theMLA Handbookis the guide millions of writers have relied on. The seventh edition is a comprehensive, up-to-date guide to research and writing in the online environment. It provides an authoritative update of MLA documentation style for use in student writing, including simplified guidelines for citing works published on the Web and new recommendations for citing several kinds of works, such as digital files and graphic narratives.
Writing Scientific Research Articles by 
The IEEE Guide to Writing in the Engineering and Technical Fields by I want to learn how to use Google Scholar.
Online Database Tutorials
HPU Library Databases
* Please note that this Pathfinder will evolve as new resources become available.
Research Organization Tools
1. Learning Outcomes
-Identify the kinds of information that should be recorded
-Identify various tips and tools to keep track of research
2. Creating a Check List
-Due dates
-Project format:
-Number/types of sources required
-Citation styles
-Limitations: publication years (current 5 years?), length of paper/project, etc.
-Check your copy: source information
3. Taking Research Notes: Low tech vs. High tech
4. What should be recorded?
-Keep track of the tools used for searching: -Search engines, deep/invisible web, databases, catalogs, people you talk to, etc.
-Keep track of what works and what doesn’t
-Keep track of sources that might be useful: -title (of book, article, website, etc.), author, date, the call number or location, URL ("web address"), etc.
5. Tools: Low Tech
-Notecards: Source #, Color coding,
# 1-1: Bibliographic information
# 1-2: Introduction: notes from your article: “direct quotation mark” with page numbers
# 1-3: Materials & Methods: direct quotes with page numbers
# 1-4: Results & Discussion
-Actual Sources: Print out sources, Source #, Color coding, Highlight/underline texts with notes in the margin, Database (date retrieved), Citation Style,
6. Tools: High-Tech: Digital Notes
Sources Used:
Useful Resources: