Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome NUR 3710 EBP Research Guide
This guide is designed and created with the collaboration of nursing student Melissa Aguda. Its focus is to help you with your research and assignments for the NUR:3710 course. It contains a variety of recommended resources including databases, tips, and more. Below is the presentation slides in the library session of the course.
If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions, please use the information on the right to contact me. I am here to assist you so don't hesitate to contact me.
Top Nursing Databases
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more. CINAHL is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
PubMed @ HPU This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Access the database via PubMed @ HPU to see linked full text.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. Includes full-text Cochrane systematic reviews.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals. (Hawaii Library Consortium
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. NOTE: Limited to 20 simultaneous users.
PsycNET This link opens in a new window
Provides access to PsycINFO (citations and abstracts in psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences) and PsycARTICLES (full-text journal articles in subject areas such as applied psychology, health, theory, research, social/personality, and more).