Student Success: Disabilities

The title comes from one of the contributor's experiences: she perceives numbers in color, and one of her favorites is the number "5," which she sees as aquamarine. Editor Prince-Hughes (anthropology, Western Washington U.) is herself a person with Asperger's Syndrome, (also termed high-functioning autism), which is a diagnosis being applied more frequently these days, to the relief of people plagued with its problems for years without explanation. Twelve individuals share their experiences.

Choosing the right career is a key daily stressor for people with Asperger's Syndrome and this ebook is packed with advice from Aspie mentors who have all been there, done that, and offer career guidance that really work. Lars Perner, Anita Lesko, Debbie Denenburg, and more offer guidance based on their personal experiences of choosing a career and the ebook ends with professional analysis and recommendations from world expert Dr. Tony Attwood. This inspirational advice comes from the bestselling book Been There. Done That. Try This!, written by Aspies for Aspies, now available in short Aspie Mentor Guides!

Getting and keeping a job is a key daily stressor for people with Asperger's Syndrome and this ebook is packed with advice from Aspie mentors who have all been there, done that, and offer suggestions for employment strategies that really work. Temple Grandin, Richard Maguire, Anita Lesko and more offer guidance based on their personal jobhunting and employment experiences and the ebook ends with professional analysis and recommendations from world expert Dr. Tony Attwood. This inspirational advice comes from the bestselling book Been There. Done That. Try This!, written by Aspies for Aspies, now available in short Aspie Mentor Guides!

As someone with Asperger Syndrome, Wendy Lawson knows all about the social difficulties that accompany the condition. In this book, she guides others on the autism spectrum through the confusing map of life, tackling the building bricks of social existence one by one with humour, insight and practical suggestions. Exploring what it is like to be an adult in an alien world, she looks at the concepts of 'self' and 'other' and talks about the people in our lives - how to relate to them, how we can use their support and how we can protect ourselves in the process. Using poetry and illustrations, she goes on to explain the difficult notion of `putting on a face', looks at how to assess personal skills in order to develop them into a suitable career and how to deal with unwelcome changes in life. This book is essential reading for all those on the higher-functioning end of the autism spectrum, helping them to get the best out of a world that is often confusing and aiding those close to them to understand their perspective.

Diagnosed with pervasive developmental disorder, a form of autism, as a toddler, Anthony Ianni wasn't expected to succeed in school or participate in sports, but he had other ideas. As a child, Ianni told anybody who would listen, including head coach Tom Izzo, that he would one day play for the Michigan State Spartans. This book is the firsthand account of a young man's social, academic, and athletic struggles and his determination to reach his goals. In this remarkable memoir, Ianni reflects on his experiences with both basketball and the autism spectrum. Centered, an inspirational sports story in the vein of Rudy, reveals Ianni to be unflinching in his honesty, generous in his gratitude, and gracious in his compassion. Sports fans will root for the underdog. Parents, teachers, and coaches will gain insight into the experience of an autistic child. And everyone will triumph in the achievements of Centered.

Presents a realistic picture of the positive and negative aspects of the transition to higher education as experienced by students with disabilities. Combines findings from special education studies, personal stories from individuals with disabilities, and tips for both individuals and professionals facing the challenges. Includes practical advice to encourage self-advocacy in students with disabilities, and to support the professionals who are facing the challenges alongside them. Covering cerebral palsy, autism spectrum disorders, intellectual disabilities, and much more, this is vital reading for parents, individuals with disabilities, school teachers, college professors, and professionals working with adults with disabilities.

Providing expert yet accessible guidance to parents of young autistic people who are going to college, this book helps parents support their child from application through to graduation. Covering social issues, independent living, academic challenges, student services and emotional wellbeing, this is the one-stop shop for advice on the transition from school to college or university. The book examines the skills that students need to live and function at college, and the skills parents need to let their teens navigate college without a parent as intermediary. It offers ways to combat common problems that affect the mental health of people on the spectrum, such as keeping up with homework, fast-paced classes, and complex social expectations. This book is for any parent considering college as an option for their child, disability service providers in colleges and for autistic students themselves.

This practical college curriculum helps students with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) to enter into working life with confidence. With visual reinforcements and exercises, it teachers young people strategies for managing the stresses and challenges of employment.

This practical skills guide helps young people with who learn differently including those with dyslexia, DCD/dyspraxia and ADHD, study for their exams. Students who learn differently can often find exams challenging and can experience a good deal of anxiety around exam time, leading to exam results that may not accurately reflect their capabilities. Much exam stress arises from a lack of confidence with the ability to learn and retain information in a meaningful way. This engaging workbook is designed to help students to overcome these issues. It not only shows students how to develop a positive success attitude towards study and exams, but also aims to equip them with powerful strategies and techniques for learning and remembering. The book offers strategies for learners whose methods of learning are multisensory. When learning is active rather than passive, it happens faster, and is easier, more enjoyable and more effective. As you progress through the fun, engaging activities, so your confidence and belief in your ability to learn will increase. Struggling students will become confident, successful learners, with a positive attitude and access to a wide range of effective strategies, and in this way, you will achieve the results in exams that you have worked for and deserve.

Discusses critical topics for young people with hidden disabilities, such as self-advocating, developing positive relationships with mentors, planning for college, successful working life, interpersonal skills, and satisfying relationships.

Chatty, honest and full of really useful information, Haley Moss' first-hand account of the college experience covers everything students on the autism spectrum need to know as they begin their Freshman year. She shares tips and advice on getting ready for college, dorm life, making friends, and what to expect from classes, professors and exams.

Interactive workbook provides guidance for your entire journey through college and further education. Assists you with preparing for a new sensory environment, planning your transport and making friends. Also covers life in college, so you'll know how to properly manage your time studying and socialising, how to get a grip on social media and have the confidence to tackle exams head on! Includes 100 pages of interactive elements, which develop decision-making, reflection and strategy-building skills, and you can work through it all with an older adult for help.

Many college campuses are diligently working to improve programming for students with Autism on their campuses. Increasing enrollment and demands often leave college professionals with questions about the best ways to support these students. Having a clear understanding of Autism and ways to assist those with Autism can maximize the college experience for both students and college professionals. This book provides students and professionals in higher education with information to better support individuals with Autism. The intended readership for this book includes educators and students in secondary and higher education, high school counselors, and high school transition specialists. At the end of each chapter, stories of success are shared with the reader. All of the voices shared are real-life stories from college students with Autism, providing readers with a rare and unique perspective of what it is like to be a college student with Autism.

These short biographies tell the stories of people who have faced unique challenges which have not stopped them from becoming trailblazers, innovators, advocates and makers. Each person is a leading figure in their field, be it sport, science, maths, art, breakdance or the world of pop. Challenge your preconceptions of disability and mental health with the eye-opening stories of these remarkable people

The BASICS College Curriculum presents a hands-on approach to learning essential life and study skills for college students with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD). This book focuses on the transition to college, developing key academic skills, navigating campus social life, and living away from home for the first time. Ideal as a textbook for ASD college programs and suitable for students to use for self-study, it teaches independence skills, self-advocacy, organization, stress management, and social skills. Each chapter has a lesson-based progressive structure, providing valuable information and advice for the student, useful diagrams, practical exercises and workbook components that can be filled in at home or in class. Self-assessment tools ensure the skills from each chapter can be reviewed and adjusted as necessary.

More students are enrolling in college than ever before in U.S. history. Yet, many never graduate. In this book, the author examines why this is by sharing the experiences of aspiring first-generation college students as they move from middle-school to young adulthood. By following the educational trajectories and transitions of Latinx, mainly second-generation immigrant students and analyzing national data, the author explores the different paths that students take and the factors that make a difference. The interconnected role of schools, neighborhoods, policy, employment, advocates, identity, social class, and family reveal what must change to address the "college completion crisis." Appropriate for anyone wanting to understand their own educational journey as well as students, teachers, counselors, school administrators, scholars, and policymakers, this book outlines what is needed so that education can once again be a means of social mobility for those who would be the first in their families to graduate from college.

Graduating high school and moving on to further education or the workplace brings with it a whole new set of challenges, and this is especially true for students with disabilities. This useful book provides a complete overview of the issues such students and their families will need to consider, and outlines the key skills they will need in order to succeed once they get there. The authors describe the legal landscape as it applies to students with disabilities in the USA, and how to obtain the proper disability documentation to ensure that the student receives the right support and accommodations in college. Focussing specifically on the issues that affect students with disabilities, they offer advice on everything from dealing with college entrance exams and the college application process, to selecting the right college, visiting the campus, and achieving medical and financial independence away from home. A list of further resources guides students and their families towards additional sources of information and support, and stories of students with disabilities who have made the transition from high school to further education or the workplace are included throughout. This accessible and thoroughly readable book offers help and support to students with disabilities of all kinds, and their families, both before and during the transition to life after high school.

At the age of 32, when she was finally diagnosed with severe dyslexia, Linda G. Tessler's word fluency tested on a third-grade level. Yet, in spite of the challenges, she earned a Ph.D. and became a clinical psychologist. One Word at a Time: A Road Map for Navigating Through Dyslexia and Other Learning Disabilities is Tessler's brave and honest account of her lifelong struggles with dyslexia. Interspersed is compassionate advice and practical strategies - culled from her experiences as a psychologist and scholar specializing in learning disabilities and as the parent of a son who struggles with dyslexia. Bringing together sound psychological principles with personal knowledge, Tessler has created a unique and groundbreaking resource guide that is informative, insightful and inspiring. Easy to read, One Word at a Time is the one book you must read about dyslexia.

For young people with ASD, navigating leaving home, parties, and the first sexual encounters of their twenties can be tricky. This practical guide is full of tips for how to stay safe while making the most out of life and it includes advice on socialising, relationships, online safety, looking after your health, and more.

The STEM fields (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) attract many students with autism, ADD, affective disorders and related invisible disabilities who are highly intelligent and analytical, but who, upon entering higher education, may find that they struggle with independent living and a different way of learning. This preparation guide explains everything students need to know about the university experience including classroom behavior, study skills, self-reliance, accessing support services, and when parents should and shouldn't get involved.

College life is particularly stressful for students with Asperger Syndrome (AS) and the resources that colleges provide for such students are often inadequate. This much needed guide provides information to help these students prepare successfully for the rites and rituals of studying, interact with staff and fellow students, cope with expectations and pressures, and understand their academic and domestic responsibilities. How will I cope with the workload? What do I do if I feel ill? How do I make friends and initiate relationships with the opposite sex? Drawing on first hand interviews with AS students and direct clinical experience, the authors address these and many other questions thoughtfully and thoroughly, making practical recommendations. Succeeding in College with Asperger Syndrome demystifies the range of college experiences for students with AS. It is a must for these students, their parents and counsellors alike, providing benefits that will continue throughout the college years and beyond.

With increasing numbers of students with invisible disabilities attending college and university, faculty and staff find themselves faced with new challenges. This practical handbook provides lecturers, tutors, disability services, and administrative staff with an overview of the invisible disabilities they may encounter, dispelling common myths and offering practical advice to support the needs of these students. Students with invisible disabilities are often academically talented but struggle with certain aspects of higher education such as keeping track of appointments or maintaining concentration in lecture halls. By providing detailed information on a range of disabilities including autism, AD/HD, dyslexia, OCD, and affective disorders, this book facilitates a better understanding of the unique needs of these students and what their strengths and limitations may be. With ideas for adapting teaching methods, offering suitable accommodations, and improving institutional policy, this is vital reading for all university faculty and staff.

Offering middle school, high school and first-year college students strategies to succeed on every type of test from multiple-choice to standardized to essay tests this book shows students how to maximize their time and skills. With successful, real-life strategies shared by students, this guide will also help students of all levels, including those with ADD/ADHD and learning disabilities, learn study skills, strategies to handle their anxiety concerning tests, and how to have a mental edge.

Leaving home and moving to college or university can be a daunting experience. In this easy-to-use book, Rosemary Martin provides guidelines and invaluable advice for every student on the Autism Spectrum as he or she thinks about, and plans for, entry into student life. Packed with tried and tested methods for coping and succeeding away from home that cover every aspect of student life, this book focuses on the particular needs of people with AS - from how to get up on time for lectures, to the art of living with other people and attending to the basics of personal hygiene - and encourages everyone to make the most of student life in a style that suits them. Handy hints and tips reassure the reader that going to college is a big deal for every student, regardless of whether or not they are on the autism spectrum. This friendly and useful book is an absolute must for any student on the spectrum about to begin a university or college degree.

The BASICS College Curriculum presents a hands-on approach to learning essential independence and life skills for students with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD). The third book helps young adults to translate their strengths and interests into possible careers and develop job-hunting skills that will set them on the road to success. Students are shown how to identify their unique skill set, write an effective resume, build a network of contacts, prepare for interviews, and secure that internship position. Other possible life paths are also explored including continuing in education and studying abroad. Ideal as a textbook for ASD college programs and suitable for young adults to use for their own self-study, each chapter has a lesson-based progressive structure, providing valuable information and advice for the student, useful diagrams, practical exercises and workbook components that can be filled in at home or in class. Self-assessment tools ensure the skills from each chapter can be reviewed and adjusted as necessary. The book can be used on its own or in conjunction with the other BASICS curriculum books to further develop essential life skills.