Research Guides: Style Guides: APA, MLA, ASA, AMA & Chicago: MLA

MLA Handbook

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2021-04-06
Available at both at Atherton & Waterfront Library Reference Desks.

In 2021, MLA published a new handbook of style.

Some of the changes:

expanded, in-depth guidance on how to use the MLA template of core elements to create works-cited-list entries that shows what each core element is, where to find it, and how to style it
a new chapter containing recommendations for using inclusive language
updated guidelines on avoiding plagiarism
new, expanded guidelines on spelling, punctuation, capitalization, and more

Note: The 9th edition is the latest edition of this style but faculty might still be using an older edition. Ask your instructor which edition to follow for your assignments.

In 2016, MLA published a new handbook of style.

Some of the changes:

All citations now follow one basic "core elements" standard, instead of having specific rules for different source types.
Volume and numbers or issues are now abbreviated. (before 28.5; now vol.28, no.5,)
Place of publication, medium of publication, and date of access are omitted.

Note: This edition has been replaced by the 9th edition. Ask your instructor which edition to follow for your assignments.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
ISBN: 9781603292627
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Available at both at Atherton & Waterfront Library Reference Desks.

In 2009, MLA published the 7th edition of handbook of style.

Some of the rules:

Using italics instead of underlines.
All citations now include an indication of the medium of the source that was viewed (e.g. Print or Web)
Not including a URL when citing Web Resources unless specifically directed to do so by an instructor.

Note: This edition has been replaced by the 8th and 9th editions. Ask your instructor which edition to follow for your assignments.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by Joseph Gibaldi; Modern Language Association of America Staff Widely adopted by universities, colleges, and secondary schools, the MLA Handbook is the guide millions of writers have relied on for over half a century. The seventh edition, taken out of print by the MLA in spring 2016 upon publication of the eighth edition, provides the MLA's previous recommendations on documentation style for use in student writing. Please note that copies of the seventh edition of the MLA Handbook include a code for accessing an accompanying Web site. The Web site is no longer available.
ISBN: 1603290249
Publication Date: 2009-01-01

MLA Resources

Ask the MLA
Search the List of Frequently Asked Questions submitted to the MLA
Formatting Your Research Project
General guidelines on how to format your research project using MLA style.
Purdue OWL: MLA Formatting and Style Guide
Purdue Unviersity's Online Writing Lab is an excellent resource! Linked by virtually every university library, This page created to help learners better understand how to cite sources using MLA 9th edition, including how to format the Works Cited page and in-text citations.
Sample Papers in MLA Style
These papers provide models for organizing an argument and working with sources. They also demonstrate MLA documentation style and paper formatting according to the 8th edition.
Using MLA Format
Get started with MLA style. Learn how to document sources, set up your paper, and improve your teaching and writing.
Works-Cited-List Entries: Citations by Format
The examples show you how to cite five basic source types. Click on an entry to get more information, as well as links to posts with more examples. For hundreds of sample entries by format, check out the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook.

HPU Tutoring Services

MLA (7th ed.) Style Guide by CAS
The Center for Academic Success has created a guide for writing research papers in MLA 7th edition format.
MLA (7th ed.) Quick Reference Check by CAS
This handout created by the Center for Academic Success is a quick guide on how to do some of the most common citations in MLA 7th edition both in reference list and in-text citation.
Library Guide 4: MLA (7th ed.) Style for Research Paper Format and Citation
The following guide has been prepared for both HPU students and faculty as a quick reference for courses requiring MLA organizational format and style of citation. Based on the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th edition.

CAS Tutoring Services
Have an experienced tutor check your writing including MLA references and citations at Aloha Tower Marketplace (Learning Commons), Waterfront Plaza (Building 6, Suite 440), or at Hawaii Loa (Academic Center, 3rd Floor) by appointment only.
Online Tutoring
The Center for Academic Success also has Online Tutoring available via their SMARTHINKING service.