Research Guides: Psychology: Databases

Databases for Research in Psychology

The primary database for finding journal articles in psychology is PsycNET.

In addition to the above databases, consider using databases from other disciplines when they are appropriate for your topic.

If your topic involves school-age children, consider the ERIC database.

PsycNET This link opens in a new window
Provides access to PsycINFO (citations and abstracts in psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences) and PsycARTICLES (full-text journal articles in subject areas such as applied psychology, health, theory, research, social/personality, and more).
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
PubMed @ HPU This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Access the database via PubMed @ HPU to see linked full text.

Other Useful Databases for Psychology

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains full text back issues of journal titles in the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. Also contains 500+ open-access ebooks.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals in the physical, social and health sciences.
Google Scholar @ HPU This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Accessing Google Scholar via this link authenticates your off-campus computer, enabling off-campus access to the Libraries' resources.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. Includes full-text Cochrane systematic reviews.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.

Contact Us

reference@hpu.edu
+808 544-1133

Empirical Research

Empirical research are studies based on actual and objective observation, experience or experimentation (original research).

Empirical research articles are published in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
Most empirical studies articles comprise the following elements:
- abstract
- introduction (and review of the literature)
- method
- results
- discussion (and/or Conclusion)
- references

Note: Other research articles that are not empirical might have similar elements; always read the article specially the methods or methodology section to distinguish if that study is an original research.