Geology (GEOL): Web Resources

(New York Academy of Medicine)

(GrayNet International)

(Library of Congress)

Dedicated to Research, Publication, Open Access, Education,
and Public Awareness to Grey Literature

OpenDOAR is an an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories and lets you search for repositories or search repository contents.

provides open access to 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature (paper) produced in Europe and allows you to export records and locate the documents.

global access to DOE research results and brings the world’s research to DOE.

By Gregory R.G. Hutton, School of Information Management, Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nova Scotia

"an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics"

"The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government."

"the public home page of the NIST Virtual Library (NVL), the portal to the services of the NIST Information Services Office (ISO)" including links that "provide access to publications and information services available to the public"

"provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences"

The best free cultural & educational media on the web. 1,100 free online courses, 700 free movies, 550 free audio books, 700 free eBooks, 1,000 free MOOCs, free educational material for 46 languages, and 200 free educational resources for kids.

Founded in 2008 by physicians Dr. Ijad Madisch and Dr. Sören Hofmayer, and computer scientist Horst Fickenscher, ResearchGate today has more than 14+ million members. We strive to help them make progress happen faster.

"a gateway to government science information and research results"

"provides the most relevant results from over 300 authoritative science and technology collections"

"a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals"

The U.S. Geologic Names Lexicon ("Geolex"), a National compilation of names and descriptions of geologic units.

The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Mineral Resources Data System catalogs information about mineral resources around the United States and the world. Using the map tool, users can zoom in to obtain reports and data on past and present mines, mine prospects, and processing plants.

Printed reference: Botkin, Daniel... [et al.]. Forces of Change: A New View of Nature. National Geographic Society, 2000.

"an online vault where a comprehensive collection of select video clips and high-resolution still images from America's underwater treasures are securely stored and available for searchable access and download"

"provides multi-media resources on planet earth an education"

Hosted by the NSF’s Dena Headlee, NSF Science Now is a weekly newscast covering some of the latest in NSF-funded innovation and advances across all areas and disciplines, from astronomy to zoology. This fast paced, news round-up reports many of the week's top stories.

"in order to see this short video presentation you must have a modern web browser and the QuickTime plug-in from Apple Computer"

A collection of annotated research papers and accompanying teaching materials.

Department of Geography, University of Cambridge

Teaching Petrology Using the Primary Scientific Literature

TOXLearn is a multi-module online learning tool providing an introduction to toxicology fundamentals to inform the general public, to serve as an ancillary curriculum to a first level undergraduate toxicology course, and to equip with a working knowledge of the science’s basic principles.

Know Your Ocean.The ocean covers more than 2/3 of Earth's surface and is a fundamental reason why life exists on Earth—but much of it remains unexplored and under-appreciated.

Provides source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data with census tables, news & notes, video tutorials, and etc..

Provides direct access to the full range of official statistical data on topics of your choice produced by the Federal Government with convenient searching and linking capabililties to more than 100 agencies

NSF is the funding source for about 24 percent of all federally supported basic research conducted at America's colleges and universities.

Online Provides media and marketing information on 100,000+ U.S. and international media properties.

**NOTE FOR OFF-CAMPUS USE: FROM THE “SELECT AN ACCOUNT” PAGE, CHOOSE HAWAII PACIFIC UNIV** TableBase is a database comprised of tabular information of a strategic nature. Every record has a unique table title written by our editorial staff which aids users in making precise selection of tables that meet their searching needs. Many of the table records also have textual content which supports the data in the tables. The tables provide information such as: market share, market size, capacity, production, imports, exports, sales, product and brand rankings, forecasts, healthcare statistics and demographics

UNdata is the data access system to UN databases. It contains official statistics produced by countries and compiled by United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. The domains covered are agriculture, crime, education, energy, industry, labor, national accounts, population and tourism.