Research Guides: NUR 4700 (Research Proposal Development): Home

Quick Links

Library Presentation

Library Session Activities

For the library session there are multiple hand activities during class. Below are the link to the assignment or handouts for such activities.

PICO(T) Handout

NUR4700 GUIDE

This guide has been develop fro NUR 4700 students research assignment. For tips on finding primary research articles, please see the Finding Primary Research tab.

If you need help with your research please contact me I am here to help you!

Recommended Databases for NUR 4700

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 1,350 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, 953 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Nursing & Allied Health Collection. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1937, CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
PubMed @ HPU This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Access the database via PubMed @ HPU to see linked full text.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Google Scholar @ HPU This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Use Google Scholar when you want to check if a specific article is available in Full Text via HPU or in Open Access. Look for: Find It @ HPU or Full Text links - on the far right side of results. Currently Google Scholar is not working off campus, so access it by searching through your VMWare.

Selected Nursing Research Links

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
The AHRQ website provides practical health care information, research findings, and data to help consumers, health providers, health insurers, researchers, and policymakers make informed decisions about health care issues.
American Nurses Association's Nursing Research page
Nursing research information and tools from the American Nurses Association.
Cochrane Collaboration
The Cochrane Collaboration is an international non-profit organization providing up-to-date information about the effects of health care. Produces Cochrane Reviews, widely considered to be the "gold standard" of systematic reviews. To access the full text systematic reviews, go to the Databases tab and click on The Cochrane Library.
National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)
The NINR supports and conducts research and research training on health and illness across the lifespan, with the goal of promoting and improving the health of individuals, families, communities and populations.
Hawai'i Pacific University Institutional Review Board
"The purpose of the Institutional Review Board (IRB) is to evaluate all research proposals, to determine what risks may be present for subjects, and to assess how these balance against benefits to subjects and the advancement of knowledge. Hawaii Pacific University’s human subjects policy was developed in accordance with the Federal Policy for the Protection of Human Subjects"

Subject Guide

Elizabeth Torres

she/her/ella

Email Me

Contact:

Learning Commons
Aloha Tower Market Place
Honolulu HI

808-566-2412

Subjects: Citation Management (EndNote/Zotero), Nursing & Health Sciences, Social Sciences

VMWare

VMware is a virtual desktops available to HPU affiliates, it provides access to HPU licensed applications from personal computers as if one was using a VDI computer in campus.

How to Set Up VMWare

Course Texts on Reserve

These books are on reserve at Atherton Library. Please present your valid HPU UniCard at the Circulation Desk. These are for in-library use only (2 hour limit).

Basic Steps in Planning Nursing Research: from Question to Proposal, 7th ed.
Call Number: On reserve for NUR 4700
ISBN: 9780763771799
A Cross Section of Nursing Research: Journal Articles for Discussion and Evaluation, 5th ed.
Call Number: On reserve for NUR 4700
ISBN: 9781884585968