This mini research website is all about helping you with your NUR 4700 course. I've gather plenty of sources designed to enhance your research, it has recommended databases, search tips, and much more to streamline your course work. For tips on finding primary research articles, please see the Find Primary Research tab.
If you need assistance with finding and using literature or data, please don’t hesitate to contact me using the information provided on the left-hand side of this page. I'm here to support your research and I'm available for one-on-one consultations. Just click on the “Schedule Consultation” link and pick a time that works for you.
~Elizabeth T.
CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 1,350 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, 953 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Nursing & Allied Health Collection. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1937, CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. Includes full-text Cochrane systematic reviews.
If the HPU Libraries do not have an article or book that you need, it may be possible to request it from another library. Simply fill out the appropriate form. The Journal Article Request form for articles or book chapters, and the Book Request form for print books. Book requests are only available for pick up at the HPU Libraries, so if you are not able to pick it up from Waterfront or Atherton Library, we recommend requesting a book chapter rather than the entire book.
The HPU Libraries follow all copyright laws and use the Commission on New Technological Uses of Copyrighted Works [CONTU] published guidelines to source all print and electronic materials, we will first attempt to secure these materials from resource sharing partners at no cost to the patron.
Reading, Understanding, and Applying Nursing Research
by
Fast Facts for Evidence-Based Practice: Implementing EBP in a Nutshell
Hawai'i Pacific University now offers eligible graduate students free 24/7 access to urgent medical care and on-demand counseling through our partnership with AcademicLiveCare (ALC). Sign up using the Service Key from the email sent to eligible students, and for technical support, call (866) 882-0343.
Librarians help primarily with the research involved in crafting your assignment. This includes choosing and narrowing a topic, finding resources, and using resources ethically.
Tutors at the Center for Academic Success (CAS) help primarily with completing your assignment. This includes help with writing or otherwise crafting your work, and providing suggestions on how to improve your work.
