Research Guides: Current Events & Issues : Home

Welcome

Welcome to the HPU Libraries' Current Events and Issues Research Guide. This guide is intended to promote diversity and inclusion of thought and perspectives among the HPU community on local and worldwide issues affecting our communities.

In alignment with HPU's value of pono, HPU Libraries seeks to address social justice issues respectfully, with urgency and integrity.
In alignment with HPU's value of kuleana, HPU Libraries acknowledges that individuals and communities are differentially subject to discrimination and precarity based on intersectional identities.
In alignment with HPU's value of aloha, HPU Libraries aims to uphold the principles of kindness and humility by embracing the multifaceted identities of ourselves and our fellow community members; encouraging self-care especially for those with marginalized/oppressed identities; and by engaging in committed advocacy and/or allyship for marginalized and oppressed communities.

The following is a list of specialized databases and newspaper sources that cover current issues and events within broader contexts and from differing viewpoints.

Opposing Viewpoints (GALE) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview, which includes three pro-con debates; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Global Issues (GALE) This link opens in a new window
Global Issues offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected,relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
New York Times institutional access provides HPU users with individual subscriber access to NYTimes.com. To access this content, users are required to create an individual username and password. First-time users may register via the link below.

NYT Account Activation

Related Guides

Book Club at HPU Libraries
by Elizabeth Torres Last Updated May 13, 2024 37 views this year
Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion
by Elizabeth Torres Last Updated Sep 17, 2024 449 views this year

Have a Suggestion?

This guide--and our learning--are works in progress. Please email us at reference@hpu.edu with feedback and suggestions for improving this guide, and correcting our errors, implicit biases, and blind spots.

We would also love to hear your suggestions for new content focused on communities not yet represented here. We appreciate you sharing your time and knowledge!