Research Guides: Finance: Home

Aloha Finance students,

This mini research website is designed to support your academic journey. It offers a curated selection of resources, including recommended databases, key books, helpful search strategies, and more—all aimed at making your research process smoother and more effective.

If you need help locating or using literature and data, feel free to reach out using the contact details from my profile. I’m here to assist and am available for one-on-one consultations.

~Paul C.

About this Finance Guide

Research Skills
Follow this link for some helpful resources on understanding the various steps of the research process.
Books and eBooks
Books provide in-depth coverage of a particular topic. Follow this link to see where you can find books and ebooks in the HPU Libraries.
Journals & Databases
Databases compile articles, books, essays, chapters, images, conference proceedings, and more from various sources. Follow this link to see articles, databases, and journals that are ideal.
Financial Ratios
Financial ratios are an essential source of information for analyzing company financial data. By comparing the ratios to previous years and to other businesses in the same industry, it is possible to make judgments about a firm's basic financial health and to determine operating trends.
Mutual Funds
A mutual fund is a professionally managed investment fund that pools money from many investors to purchase securities. These investors may be retail or institutional in nature. Mutual funds have advantages and disadvantages compared to direct investing in individual securities.
Annual Reports & SEC Filings
Annual reports are tools used to analyze a public company's quality and profitability. They are used primarily by investors to determine whether to buy, hold, or sell stocks (shares of ownership in a company). Annual reports are often found on corporate websites under the "Investors" section.
Other Online Resources
While many scholarly resources require a library subscription to access full-text, there are also relevant websites for organizations, associations, and other interest groups that are helpful in research.

Financial News from Reuters

MarketWatch Industry News

HPU Help

Get Counseling Help

The Counseling and Behavioral Health Services (CBHS) department provides FREE & CONFIDENTIAL counseling services to current registered HPU students. Schedule an appointment via email

Meet with a Counselor

Get Librarian Help

Librarians help primarily with the research involved in crafting your assignment. This includes choosing and narrowing a topic, finding resources, and using resources ethically.

Get Tutoring Help

Tutors at the Center for Academic Success (CAS) help primarily with completing your assignment. This includes help with writing or otherwise crafting your work, and providing suggestions on how to improve your work.

Meet with a Tutor