Research Guides: Cultural Competency & Social Awareness: Antiracism

Antiracism

"An antiracist idea is any idea that suggests the racial groups are equals in all their apparent differences—that there is nothing right or wrong with any racial group. Antiracist ideas argue that racist policies are the cause of racial inequities...Antiracism is a powerful collection of antiracist policies that lead to racial equity and are substantiated by antiracist ideas." - Ibram X. Kendi in "Ibram X. Kendi defines what it means to be antiracist," 2020

Sources to start with:

Antiracism definition from Dictionary.com
"Being Antiracist" from the National Museum of African American History & Culture
"How Ibram X Kendi's Definition of Antiracism Applies to Schools" by Katrina Schwartz for KQED
"'Not Racist' is Not Enough: Putting in the Work to be Anti-Racist" by Eric Deggans for NPR
"What Does it Mean to be Anti-Racist?" by Jordan Carter and Ian Snyder for the National League of Cities

Eliminating Microaggressions: The Next Level of Inclusion | Tiffany Alvoid | TEDxOakland

Support Resources for BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, and People of Color)

Mental Health Resources for the Black Community by Megan Burke
This resource list provides information on how to find and get in touch with a therapist, and links to mental health resources and wellness classes.
NAMI HelpLine
The National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) HelpLine is a free, nationwide peer-support service. HelpLine staff and volunteers listen and support and can help identify resource options for individual concerns.
Mental Health Resources for Black, Indigenous and People of Color (BIPOC) from Massachusetts General Hospital
This guide highlights "a range of resources that may be useful to BIPOC-identifying individuals seeking support for mental health concerns and/or coping with race-related stressors, whether current and/or historical."
Ayana App
Ayana is an app that matches individuals of "marginalized communities with compatible licensed therapists based on their unique experiences and identities across race, gender identity, class, sexuality, ethnicity, and ability. It allows for flexible, convenient and anonymous online communication (text, call and video call) and addresses barriers to care such as transportation issues, busy schedules and mobility challenges that people may face."

Resource Compilations

#GeorgeFloyd+ Resource Compilation
This compilation highlights readings and resources on police brutality and what individuals and communities can do to combat it.
#PōpoloSyllabus
A syllabus of recommended readings compiled by the Pōpolo Project in Hawai'i.
Black Lives Matter Syllabus
A collection of syllabi from Black Lives Matter.
Curriculum for White Americans to Educate Themselves on Race and Racism–from Ferguson to Charleston
Created by educator and writer Jon Greenberg.
Shareable Anti-Racism Resource Guide by Tasha K
This guide provides suggested reading for the continued, life-long work of antiracism. Tasha K highlights readings for both BIPOC individuals and white individuals. The guide includes reading lists on Asian & Pacific Islander Studies; Chicanx/Latinx Studies; Indigenous Studies; and Black Studies; as well as topics like immigration, voting, and more.
Trump Syllabus 2.0
An introduction to the currents of American culture that led to “Trumpism,” from the organization Public Books.

Web Resources

Center for the Study of Racism, Social Justice & Health
Extensive collections on the intersection of racism, social justice, health, and more.
The Demands
Lists of demands for an end to systematic and structural racism on college campuses, created by students at colleges across the U.S. "They are a resource for campus organizers fighting for equity and justice in America."
First Vigil
"First Vigil is a project to track far-right individuals, and their affiliated groups, as they proceed through the American justice system. The project focuses on far-right violence in America, and seeks to shine a light on what happens after the news cameras go away."
The Marshall Project
The Marshall Project is a "nonpartisan, nonprofit news organization that seeks to create and sustain a sense of national urgency about the U.S. criminal justice system."

Data & Statistics

The COVID Racial Data Tracker
"The COVID Racial Data Tracker is a collaboration between the COVID Tracking Project and the Boston University Center for Antiracist Research. Together, we’re gathering the most complete and up-to-date race and ethnicity data on COVID-19 in the United States."
FBI: Hate Crime Statistics
FBI's statistics on hate crime, crime motivated by biases based on race or ethnicity, gender, gender identity, disability, or sexual orientation.
Mapping Police Violence
"We believe the data represented on this site is the most comprehensive accounting of people killed by police since 2013."
National Fair Housing Alliance: Reports & Research
"Every year, NFHA compiles data from both private, nonprofit fair housing organizations and government agencies across the country to provide an annual snapshot of the nation’s fair housing enforcement activities. The reports also highlight key issues in fair housing."
Prison Policy Initiative Research Library
Data and statistics on prison and race and ethnicity.
Race, Ethnicity, and Gender of Full-Time Faculty Members at More than 4,300 Institutions
"The sortable table below shows the percentages of full-time faculty members who were members of specific racial and ethnic groups at degree-granting colleges and universities in November 2019."
State of Working America: Data Library
This initiative, from the Economic Policy Institute, "provides researchers, media, and the public with easily accessible, up-to-date, and comprehensive historical data on the American labor force...Use it to research wages, inequality, and other economic indicators over time and among demographic groups."

Local Community Organizations

Honolulu Hawai‘i NAACP
The Honolulu branch of the NAACP

Featured Books for Antiracism

When They Call You a Terrorist: A Black Lives Matter Memoir by Patrisse Khan-Cullors & Asha Bandele
ISBN: 9781250171085
Publication Date: 2018
The Autobiography of Malcolm X by Malcolm X
ISBN: 9781101967805
Publication Date: 2015
Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates
ISBN: 9780812993547
Publication Date: 2015
The Fire Next Time by James Baldwin
ISBN: 9780804149723
Publication Date: Reprint 2013
Killing the Black Body: Race, Reproduction, and the Meaning of Liberty by Dorothy E. Roberts
ISBN: 9780804152594
Publication Date: 1999
The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness by Michelle Alexander
ISBN: 9781620971949
Publication Date: 2020
Sister Outsider: Essays and Speeches by Audre Lorde
ISBN: 9780307809049
Publication Date: 2007
Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America by Ibram X Kendi
ISBN: 9781568588063
Publication Date: 2016
Who Do You Serve, Who Do You Protect? by Maya Schenwar, Joe Macaré, Alana Yu-lan Price (Editor)
ISBN: 9781608466849
Publication Date: 2016

How to be an Antiracist by Ibram X Kendi
ISBN: 9780525509295
Publication Date: 2019
The Making of Asian America: A History by Erika Lee
ISBN: 9781476739427
Publication Date: 2015
Two Faces of Exclusion: The Untold History of Anti-Asian Racism in the United States by Lon Kurashige
ISBN: 9781469629438
Publication Date: 2016
White Fragility by Robin DiAngelo
ISBN: 9780807047422
Publication Date: 2018
Rich Thanks to Racism: How the Ultra-Wealthy Profit from Racial Injustice by Jim Freeman
ISBN: 9781501755149
Publication Date: 2021
A Wider Type of Freedom by Daniel Martinez HoSang
ISBN: 9780520974197
Publication Date: 2021

An American Marriage by Tayari Jones
ISBN: 9781616208776
Publication Date: 2018
The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
ISBN: 9780062498533
Publication Date: 2017
How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents by Julia Alvarez
ISBN: 9781616200985
Publication Date: 2010
Sing, Unburied, Sing by Jesmyn Ward
ISBN: 9781501126062
Publication Date: 2017

Library Databases

CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview, which includes three pro-con debates; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Diversity Studies (Gale)
A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, Diversity Studies explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.
JSTOR
Contains full text back issues of journal titles in the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. Also contains 500+ open-access ebooks.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale)
Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Project Muse
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating.
ScienceDirect
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals in the physical, social and health sciences.
Taylor & Francis Online
Provides access to full-text peer-reviewed academic journals in many subject areas.