Cultural Competency & Social Awareness

Contemporary Women's Issues (CWI), a multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and the alternative press -- with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries. Contemporary Women's Issues includes English-language titles from East and West Africa, Asia, and South and Central America, the Caribbean, North America and Europe. Contemporary Women's Issues compiles into a single collection, often overlooked and hard-to-find newsletters and NGO research reports to which most libraries do not subscribe, plus ephemeral literature from leading research institutes and grass roots organizations that is rarely indexed or cataloged.

Contemporary Women's Issues records are indexed by 17 categories, including subject, region, article type and publication type. Basic searching on the Internet is easy -- using keywords, with options to search full-text, enhanced titles, author or book author. Advanced searching is done using convenient pull-down menus for selecting indexed terms.

CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview, which includes three pro-con debates; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, Diversity Studies explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.

Gender Studies provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

Contains full text back issues of journal titles in the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. Also contains 500+ open-access ebooks.

Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Provides full-text access to scholarly journals in the physical, social and health sciences.

Provides access to full-text peer-reviewed academic journals in many subject areas.