Research Guides: Diversity, Equity, &amp; Inclusion: Immigration &amp; Anti-Xenomisia

Library Databases

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview, which includes three pro-con debates; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Diversity Studies (GALE) This link opens in a new window
A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, Diversity Studies explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.
Fuente Académica (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Fuente Académica offers more than 450 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. The database is updated weekly.
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This resource provides full-text of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index plus unique full-text content, much of which is not found in other databases.
Informe Academico (GALE) This link opens in a new window
Informe Académico provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines. The database offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains full text back issues of journal titles in the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. Also contains 500+ open-access ebooks.
Opposing Viewpoints (GALE) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals in the physical, social and health sciences.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text peer-reviewed academic journals in many subject areas.

Web Resources

ACLU Immigrants' Rights Project
"Using targeted impact litigation, advocacy, and public outreach, the ACLU protects the rights and liberties of immigrants."
American Immigration Council
"The American Immigration Council works to strengthen America by shaping how America thinks about and acts towards immigrants and immigration and by working toward a more fair and just immigration system that opens its doors to those in need of protection and unleashes the energy and skills that immigrants bring." This site includes state-by-state info and reports on a multitude of topics.

Resource Compilations

Asian/Pacific American Librarians Association (APALA) Coronavirus 2019 (COVID-19) Resources
Includes sections on Anti-Xenophobia Resources & Statements, Organizations Providing Legal Assistance and Educational Resources About Racial Profiling and Hate Crimes Against Asian Pacific Americans, and more.
Fighting Xenophobia and Anti-Asian Racism from Northwester University
Links to resources on Coping with Xenophobia and Anti-Asian Racism, Reporting Xenophobia and Anti-Asian Racism, and Fighting Anti-Asian Racism, and Social Justice Advocacy.

Data & Statistics

Department of Homeland Security
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics
Pew Research Center
Reports on migration
TRAC, from Syracuse University
TRAC Immigration Tools
U.S. Census Bureau
Surveys and Programs Contributing to Migration/Geographic Mobility
U.S. Department of State - Bureau of Consular Affairs
Visa statistics

Support Resources for Immigrants

Find Legal Services - U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
"U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services provides free resources to help guide you through the application, petition or request process."
Immigration Law Help
"Helping low-income immigrants find legal help."
Legal Aid Society of Hawaiʻi
"The Hawaiʻi Immigrant Justice Center provides free legal services to eligible indigent immigrants living in the State of Hawaiʻi. We also conduct community outreach and education, host free legal clinics, and provide training on a variety of immigration and related civil rights issues."
Map: Sanctuary Cities, Counties, and States
From the Center for Immigration Studies
Hawai'i Handbook For Immigrants: What Every Newcomer Needs to Know About Living In Hawai'i
Published by the Office of Community Services, Department of Labor and Industrial Relations -State of Hawai'i