Research Guides: Geography (GEOG): Hawaii and the Pacific

Contact Us

Australian Bureau of Statistics
Provides census data, regional statistics, and other measurable information for the nation of Australia.
Hawaii State Data Center
"The officially designated source of Census Bureau data for the State of Hawaii."
Pacific Regional Statistics
Collected and maintained by PRISM (Pacific Regional Information System).
Statistics New Zealand
Includes census data, maps, and other statistics for the nation of New Zealand.

Kipuka
Created by the Office of Hawaiian Affairs (OHA), Kipuka is "a geographical information system that utilizes the latest mapping technologies to provide a window into native Hawaiian land, culture, and history."
Papakilo Database
The Office of Hawaiian Affairs' (OHA) Papakilo Database consists of a varied collection of data "pertaining to historically and culturally significant places, events, and documents in Hawaii's history."

Ulukau: the Hawaiian Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
Ulukau is a compilation of resources available for the use, teaching, and revitalization of the Hawaiian language. Resources include Hawaiian newspapers, dictionaries, and books such as Atlas of Hawaii, Native Use of Fish, The Polynesian Family System in Ka`u, Hawaii, Ruling Chiefs of Hawaii and Unwritten Literature of Hawaii: the Sacred Songs of the Hula.

Hawaii Historical Maps, 1897-1902
Courtesy of the University of Hawaii at Manoa Library. Includes maps of all principal islands.
Maps of Australia and the Pacific
From the Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
PacIOOS Voyager
"An interactive map interface for visualizing and downloading oceanographic observations, forecasts, and other geospatial data."

AVA Konohiki
AVA Konohiki, or Ancestral Visions of 'Aina, provides maps, land documents, and other resources on the Hawaiian Islands.
Hawaii Coastal Erosion Website
Provides "historical maps and air photos, modern vertical and oblique air photos, and maps depicting rates of shoreline change . . . on Maui, Oahu, and Kauai."
Pacific Islands Report
From the East-West Center at the University of Hawaii, includes news, commentary, and analysis.
Rainfall Atlas of Hawaii
Created by the Geography Department at the University of Hawaii at Manoa
USGS Hawaiian Volcano Observatory
Information and updates on Mauna Loa and Kilauea