Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Medical Terminology Resources
Merck Manual for Health Care Professionals
The full text of the Merck Manual Professional Version is freely available online. You may enter a keyword search, or browse by section, index, or symptoms.
Recommended Nursing Apps
The following apps can offer study materials:
Welcome to the Nursing and Health Sciences Research Guide!
Aloha Nursing students!
This guide is designed to help you with your research and contains a variety of nursing and health sciences resources, including books, NCLEX sources, databases, journals, and much more.
If you need assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me! I can help you with your literature searching, finding a variety of information - statistics, measurements, and using personal file management programs such as Zotero & EndNote Basic.
Bookmark this guide for easy access to resources!
Top Nursing Databases
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more. CINAHL is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
PubMed @ HPU This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Access the database via PubMed @ HPU to see linked full text.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. Includes full-text Cochrane systematic reviews.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals. (Hawaii Library Consortium
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. NOTE: Limited to 20 simultaneous users.
PsycNET This link opens in a new window
Provides access to PsycINFO (citations and abstracts in psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences) and PsycARTICLES (full-text journal articles in subject areas such as applied psychology, health, theory, research, social/personality, and more).
Bloodborne Pathogens Training
The Bloodborne Pathogen Training is available at any VDI computer at HPU Libraries. Or you can access them via HPU Cloud Computing (VMware HPU).
Option A: Login to VDI computer or VMware
- Go to the File Explorer (the Windows icon on the bottom left side)
- Type the following in the search window: \\hpu.edu
- Click Open
- Then click on the Academic folder
- Then click on the video folder
- Find and click the Bloodborne Pathogen Training folder
Option B : Login to VDI computer or VMware
- Open any folder from the desktop
- Click on the URL bar of the opened window, which should reveal the folder URL address
- Enter the following URL: \\hpu.edu\Academic\video\Bloodborne Pathogens Training
Either option should take you to the Bloodborne Pathogen Training folder the path of the folder looks like the one listed below.
Network ⇒ hpu.edu ⇒ Academic ⇒ video ⇒ Bloodborne Pathogens Training