This mini research website is all about helping you with your studies. I've gather plenty of sources designed to enhance your research, it has recommended databases, essential books, practical search tips, and much more to streamline your studies.
If you need assistance with finding and using literature or data, please don’t hesitate to contact me using the information provided on the left-hand side of this page. I'm here to support your research and I'm available for one-on-one consultations. Just click on the “Schedule Consultation” link and pick a time that works for you.
~Elizabeth T.
AccessMedicine is an interactive medical database, including textbooks, journals, image galleries, and more.
AccessPharmacy is an interactive pharmaceutical database, including textbooks, journals, image galleries, and more.
CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 1,350 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, 953 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Nursing & Allied Health Collection. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1937, CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. Includes full-text Cochrane systematic reviews.
A clinical decision support tool for medical and health sciences. Requires registering for a personal account.
Registration
The first time that you use this resource, you must connect to the campus network by signing on to the MyHPU Portal with your MyHPU username and password. You will also be required to create a username and password. After registering, you may access the UpToDate website directly using your username and password.
UpToDate App
Download the UpToDate app from the Apple App Store or Google Play. You must already have registered for a personal account on our campus network to log in to the app.
Authorized Users are required to log in to UpToDate at least once every 90 days using their username and password through the secure student account portal. If a 90-day period without login occurs, access to licensed materials will be suspended. To regain access, Authorized Users must log in to UpToDate via the secure student portal using their username and password.
HIPAA (Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996) is United States legislation that provides data privacy and security provisions for safeguarding medical information.
2) Review the information on the slides.
3) Complete the Post-Test found here: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/Hawaii_HIPAA_PostTest
4) Print the last page before closing
5) Sign and upload the page to your Castle Branch tracker WITH the Bloodborne Pathogen training.
NOTE: If you upload separately, your documents will be rejected.
1) Log into a computer in the Library or Computer Lab - OR - if you wish to access the training from your personal computer by connecting to VDI Off Campus
a) See the Connecting to VDI Desktops from Off Campus
2) Find the Bloodborne Pathogen Training Folder
Option 2A: Login to VDI computer or VMware
Option 2B : Login to VDI computer or VMware
Either option should take you to the Bloodborne Pathogen Training folder the path of the folder looks like the one listed below.
Network ⇒ hpu.edu ⇒ Academic ⇒ video ⇒ Bloodborne Pathogens Training
2C: If you have problems with option 2A or 2B follow the instructions to find the Bloodborne Pathogens Training folder from IT
3) Upload the page to your Castle Branch track WITH the HIPAA Training
NOTE: If you upload separately, your documents will be rejected
The Counseling and Behavioral Health Services (CBHS) department provides FREE & CONFIDENTIAL counseling services to current registered HPU students. Schedule an appointment via email
Librarians help primarily with the research involved in crafting your assignment. This includes choosing and narrowing a topic, finding resources, and using resources ethically.
Tutors at the Center for Academic Success (CAS) help primarily with completing your assignment. This includes help with writing or otherwise crafting your work, and providing suggestions on how to improve your work.
