Skip to Main Content

Research Skills

Review the Assignment

To better understand your assignment, the Decipher Your Research Assignment video, created by Sonoma State University Library, recommends reviewing your assignment prompt to answer these questions:

  1. What type of research assignment is it?
  2. How many pages are required?
  3. What are the source requirements?
  4. Are topic suggestions supplied by your instructor?

Types of Assignments for WRI Courses

Sample assignments would be different kinds of essays, which are typically 3-5 pages:

  • personal essay
  • informative essay
  • reflective essay
  • argumentative essay

Typical assignments would be major essays such as:

  • response argument essay
  • rhetorical analysis essay
  • dialogue and debate essay
  • self-reflective essay
  • research based essay

With a focus on reading works of literature, assignments for this course may include:

  • writings/answers to thought questions
  • longer form writing on different genres (short story, poetry, drama and essay)
  • formal essay

Sample assignments include major essays such as:

  • response argument essay
  • research based argument essay
  • annotated bibliography
  • Typical assignments include writing a research paper, but with a focus on the humanities.
  • annotated bibliography

Annotated Bibliographies

An annotated bibliography is a common research assignment that requires listing sources relevant to a specific topic and providing a brief explanation of each. The annotations can be descriptive, summarizing the source, or evaluative, analyzing its strengths, weaknesses, and relevance to research. Often, they do both.

By engaging with scholarly literature, an annotated bibliography helps you develop evidence-based research skills, such as assessing the quality of sources, identifying research gaps, and synthesizing key findings.

Types of Annotated Bibliographies

  1. Descriptive (Informative):

    • Summarizes the source’s key findings, methodology, and conclusions.
    • Explains its relevance to the topic but does not critically assess its validity or implications.

  2. Analytical (Critical):

    • Summarizes the source and examines its research methods, credibility, and limitations.
    • Evaluates how the evidence supports or challenges existing research.
    • Discusses its usefulness in building an evidence-based understanding of the topic.

Most academic assignments require analytical (critical) annotations, where you assess the strength of the evidence, the author's argument, and its application to your research.

Your Annotations Should…

For each selected source, write a concise summary of its content and how it contributes to your research. If applicable, provide evaluative comments on its strengths, limitations, and relevance. Consider the author’s expertise and credibility, and compare the source’s evidence, arguments, or findings to other works on the same topic.

Questions to Guide Your Annotation:

  • Summary: What is the main argument or key findings (1-2 sentences)?
  • Purpose: Why was this written? What is the intended impact?
  • Audience: Who is the target audience (scholars, professionals, general public)?
  • Scope: What topics or perspectives does it cover? What is missing?
  • Evaluation: What are the strengths and weaknesses? How does the evidence support or challenge its claims?
  • Relevance: How does this source support or contradict your research question?
  • Credibility: What are the author’s qualifications? Are they recognized in their field?
  • Bias: Are there any clear biases that might affect the interpretation of evidence?
  • Comparison: How does this source align with or differ from other sources on the topic? Does it present new findings, confirm existing research, or challenge established perspectives?

Some disciplines may have specific criteria for evaluating sources, such as the use of peer-reviewed studies in the sciences or primary historical documents in the humanities. Always check with your faculty for discipline-specific expectations.

By addressing these questions, your annotations will demonstrate critical analysis and synthesis of research, helping you build an evidence-based understanding of your topic.

Language for Discussing Sources

When summarizing and evaluating a source, it can be challenging to find the right vocabulary to describe arguments, analyze evidence, and critique sources effectively. Below are some useful verbs and phrases to help you frame your annotations:

Verbs for Summarizing and Analyzing Texts

Example Phrases for Annotations

  • The evidence indicates that…
  • The author identifies three key reasons for…
  • The article questions the view that…
  • The study demonstrates a correlation between…
  • The researcher argues that… but fails to consider…
  • This source provides a useful comparison to… by…

Using these terms will strengthen your annotations by making them clear, analytical, and evidence-based.

What Style Should You Follow?

The citation style you use for your annotated bibliography depends on your assignment, discipline, and instructor's requirements. Always read the assignment carefully and ask your instructor if you are unsure about the expected format.

Your topic, scope, and purpose will determine what information you include in your annotations. The tone and level of detail should align with your research goals and academic field.

Below are examples of annotated bibliography entries in different citation styles:

MLA Style (Literature, Humanities)

Martz, Louis L. "Donne, Herbert, and the Worm of Controversy."
Early Modern Literary Studies Special Issue 7 (May 2001): 2.1-28.

Compares the religious beliefs and attitudes of George Herbert and John Donne, particularly in relation to tensions between the Church of England and strict Calvinists. Uses both poets’ works and Donne’s sermons as evidence. Concludes that their popularity reflected discomfort with Puritan iconoclasm and anti-sacramentalism. Useful for understanding the religious context of these poets.

Note: In MLA format, both the citation and annotation should be double-spaced.

APA Style (Social Sciences, Psychology, Education)

Hernandez-Flores, R. A. (1999). Social misunderstanding: A manual (2nd ed.). Calexico, CA: Sierra Padres Press.

A general guide on language, gestures, and nonverbal communication for professionals in social work, education, and writing. Provides a rationale for communication rules to help users navigate diverse social and academic contexts. Includes practical advice on interviewing, written and oral exams, and adapting body language.

Chicago Style (Art History, Theology, Humanities)

Mueller, Laura. Western Art: A Critical Survey. Chicago: GoodLion Press, 2001.

Mueller, an experienced lecturer in both art and literature, offers a systematic review of major themes in Western art, covering sculpture, jewelry, and architecture alongside painting. She provides close analyses of individual artworks, including printmaking by Dürer, Rembrandt, and Picasso. The book is clear, engaging, and accessible to both general readers and scholars.

Your discipline may have specific criteria for evaluating and citing sources. Check with your faculty to ensure you follow the correct format and level of detail for your annotations.