Healthy People provides science-based national objectives for improving the health of all Americans.
Welcome to your research guide! This resource is tailored to support your academic journey by providing access to an array of tools designed to enhance your research. Here, you’ll find carefully curated databases, essential books, practical search tips, and much more to streamline your studies.
Should you encounter any questions or need assistance with navigating literature or data, please don’t hesitate to reach out. You can contact me using the information provided on the right-hand side of this page. I am committed to aiding your research endeavors and am available for one-on-one research consultations. Simply click on the “Schedule Consultation” link to book a time that suits your schedule.
~Elizabeth Torres
CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 1,350 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, 953 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Nursing & Allied Health Collection. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1937, CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. Includes full-text Cochrane systematic reviews.
When accessing our subscribed online resources off-campus, you will be prompt to our EZproxy login screen (seen below). Use your MyHPU credentials (username and password) to get authenticated. In case your account is not working please contact the IT department at help@hpu.edu.
Some thesis and dissertation from HPU are available in the library’s open access institutional repository. This online repository includes student works supporting candidature or for degree completion from various academic departments at HPU. The capstone papers or thesis and dissertation are uploaded by faculty mentors or assigned departmental staff with the adequate clearance of copyright provided by the authored students. All student scholarship in the HPU Digital Collection is available in full text. You can browse the Theses and Dissertations collection or conduct a keyword search.
If the HPU Libraries do not have an article or book that you need, it may be possible to request it from another library. Simply fill out the appropriate form. The Journal Article Request form for articles or book chapters, and the Book Request form for print books. Book requests are only available for pick up at the HPU Libraries, so if you are not able to pick it up from Waterfront or Atherton Library, we recommend requesting a book chapter rather than the entire book.
The HPU Libraries follow all copyright laws and use the Commission on New Technological Uses of Copyrighted Works [CONTU] published guidelines to source all print and electronic materials, we will first attempt to secure these materials from resource sharing partners at no cost to the patron.
The Counseling and Behavioral Health Services (CBHS) department provides FREE & CONFIDENTIAL counseling services to current registered HPU students. Schedule an appointment via email
Librarians help primarily with the research involved in crafting your assignment. This includes choosing and narrowing a topic, finding resources, and using resources ethically.
Tutors at the Center for Academic Success (CAS) help primarily with completing your assignment. This includes help with writing or otherwise crafting your work, and providing suggestions on how to improve your work.
