Does Zotero cost anything?
Nope. You get 300 MB of storage with the free account. You may purchase additional storage space.
I'm a MAC user. Is Zotero compatible with Apple?
Yes it is compatible and you can even use Safari as a browser if you prefer.
Do I have to use my HPU email address?
No, you can use the email address of your choosing. Your account will not be affiliated with HPU, so you are responsible for the access and management of your Zotero account.
What happens when I graduate, or leave HPU?
You are creating your own account, separate from HPU, so nothing will change regarding Zotero. However, if you use your HPU email address, you will want to change it in the Zotero settings when you graduate or leave HPU since that email will no longer be active.
Zotero is a free citation management tool that allows you to easily collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. This guide will walk you through how to use Zotero from start to finish. Video tutorials are located in the left column of each page.
Zotero is used in two ways:
Step 1. Download Zotero 6.0 for Windows or Mac:
Zotero 6.0 runs as a separate application within your computer, the software includes the plugins for Word and OpenOffice.
Step 2. Install Internet browser Connectors
Depending on the Internet browser you use the most, install the proper Zotero connector to your computer. This will allow to collect references from your browser. Note: There has been reported issues with Safari browser so opt for Firefox or Chrome.
Step 3. Register for a Zotero account
You can use any email address, this is your personal account with Zotero.
Step 4. Check that your browser is connected to Zotero
Close and reopen your internet browser, go to Google Scholar and conduct a quick search on any topic. From your search results page, take a closer look within your browser tab. Check to see if there are any icons popping up, like a folder icon or a paper icon. If you see icons then your browser is connected to Zotero. If not, re-do Step 2.
Step 5. Open your Zotero account.
Once you have downloaded Zotero 5.0, open the software by clicking on the Z icon from your computer. Then look for the sync icon 
on the top right corner and click on it, then click on the option "Open Sync Preferences". You will be prompt to login into your Zotero account - the one you created on step 3.
Zotero is able to identify references (books, articles) within most databases and websites through a "translator", which displays a resource icon in the address bar allowing you to collect citation information easily. The icon will vary depending on the type or source it finds (book, media, webpage, etc.)
If an address bar icon does not appear for some reason, you can generally use the database's export function to export the citation as an RIS and add the reference to your Zotero Library. You can also manually create a new citation in Zotero or even add references using the ISBN, DOI or PubMed ID information. All of these methods will be explained on this page.
Note: Zotero will accurately import metadata supplied by most bibliographic databases, library catalogs, publisher sites, and webpages. However, sometimes the metadata that Zotero retrieves is incomplete or incorrect. So make sure that you verify and edit your references as you collect them.
This is an example of collecting resources in the HPU Library Catalog which contains multiple items.
Add References by ISBN, DOI or PubMed number
Have a DOI, PubMed ID, or ISBN number? You can easily add that reference to your Zotero Library by clicking on the magic wand icon from the Zotero toolbar and input the information.
One of the main advantages of citation management tools is the capability to organize your references. Zotero, by default, stores all your references, including new citations, in "My Library". You can organize your citation by creating "collections", which are folders you can name however you want, and even have a hierarchy order by creating "sub-collections". There is no limit on how many collections or sub-collections you can create. References can be in more than one collection at a time, and this does not mean you will have a duplicate of a reference. Those items not affiliated with a collection can also be found in the "Unfiled Items."
Create collections by clicking on the "New Collection" button represented by folder and plus sign icon. Or you can right click "My Library" and choose "New Collection". Give your collection a name and the collection will appear as a folder under "My Library". Subcollections can be created by dragging and dropping a collection onto another collection, or by right-clicking an existing collection and choosing “New Subcollection" then give it a name.
Add items to your collections by simply dragging them from your "My Library" to specific collections. By default items will be added to the new collection but won't be removed from the original location.
You can also add new items to a specific collection, by selecting the folder first and then add the item to your Zotero Library. This way the information will be automatically saved into the selected collection.
To move items between collections instead of simply adding them to the new collection, press and hold Cmd (OS X) or Shift (Windows/Linux) and then drag the item onto a collection. Items can only be moved between collections; since “My Library” always shows all of your citations (other than those in the trash).
Rename/delete collections and delete items: To rename a collection right click the collection and choose “Rename Collection…”, and input the new name. To delete a collection right-click a collection and choose “Delete Collection…”. Deleting a collection does not delete the items from your Zotero Library. If you want delete items from your collections you must go the specific collection and select the item you wish to delete, right click and select "Remove Item from Collection". Deleting items from collections does not delete them from you Zotero Library, if you want to delete items, you must do so from "My Library", the deleted items will be moved to the "Trash" icon.
Create groups in Zotero to collaborate with just one other person or as many as you'd like; there's no limit to how many users can be included in a group. You can share notes, bibliographies, discussion threads, and more within the group. Zotero groups can be set to either public or private.
There are two ways to create a group:
1. If you're using the Zotero Firefox add-on, open it and then click on the group icon in the top left corner of the add-on.
2. If you're using Zotero's online version, go to the Groups tab and then click on Create New Group.
Create a bibliography or a citations list in Zotero, by selecting a collection or highlighting (control and click) multiple items from a collection, then right-click (or control-click on Macs) to select “Create Bibliography From ...”.
Select the citation style and the output mode you want to open your bibliography in. A RTF will allow you to save the bibliography as a rich text file (usually opens in Word). HTML will allow you to save the bibliography as a HTML file for viewing in a web browser. Clipboard will allow you to save the bibliography to your clipboard to paste into any text field. Print will send your bibliography straight to a printer.
