Engineering Standards

Additional Databases

Key Journals

Peer-Reviewed

Peer Review in Three Minutes (Video)
(NCSU Libraries)

What is a Peer-Reviewed Article? (Library Guides)  (Lloyd Sealy Library ) 

How to recognize peer-reviewed (refereed) journals (Library Guides)
(Angelo State University Library)

How do I Find Peer-Reviewed Articles?  (Lloyd Sealy Library/ HPU Library ) 

The easiest and fastest way to find peer-reviewed articles on sciences is to;

Search the databases that include only peer-reviewed /scholarly /academic journals/books primarily on science, technology and medicine.

-- JSTOR

-- Nature Journal Online

-- PubMed @ HPU

-- SAGE Premier

-- Science

-- ScienceDirect

-- SpringerLink

-- Taylor & Francis
 

Search the multi-subject databases, many of which include peer-reviewed journals: EBSCO databases (EBSCOhost Main Databases) and Gale Databases.

-- Choose Databases:

   To search within a single database, click the database name listed below.

   To select more than one database to search, check the boxes next to the databases and click Continue.

-- Choose the Advanced Search option. On the search screen, look for a check-box

   that allows you to limit your results to peer-reviewed only.

-- Organize your results by source. For example, the database Academic Search

   Complete will let you choose the tab "Peer-Reviewed Journals."

Search Google Scholar @ HPU that include journal articles, government reports, case law, book chapters, patent.

-- Sign in to your Google account and set up your settings for search results, library links, bibliographic management software, etc.

-- Uncheck the box for "Case law" and check off "Articles"

-- Search by keywords, phrases, DOI, authors

-- Uncheck the box for "include patents" or "include citations" if wanted.

-- Add “–book” to remove book chapters from the results list.

-- Use library's UlrichsWeb as needed to see if an article found from Google Scholar is a

   journal article or government report.

Source: How Do I Find Peer-Reviewed Articles? http://guides.lib.jjay.cuny.edu/c.php?g=288333&p=1922599

Finding Scholarly Sources

Journal Article Formats

Journal Rankings & Metrics

Overall Search Process

Here is a quick summary of the search process.

1. Once your topic is decided, select the appropriate databases for your subject.

2. Do a trial search, using a few of the specific key terms for your topic.

3. Review the full record of the first ten or more articles.

4. Focus only on the subject terms in the results:
-Did you select a keyword that is their subject heading?
-Is there an alternate subject term to use?
-Are there some terms that will help you narrow your retrieval?

5. Revise your search using the subject terms found.

6. Narrow further, if necessary, by adding more terms or other limiters available.

7. Check if you need to adjust the time coverage for your topic.

Reminder: the titles of articles do not always indicate the content of the articles (their subject focus), but if you have done a subject search then you know the articles will cover your topic.
 

Science RSS Feeds

What is the DOI System?