You can use HPU Discovery to search for books, articles, videos, and more. To search for only books, click the "Books" tab above the search box.
Once you find books from our HPU Discovery tool, you should make sure that the books are held by HPU.
eBooks can be accessed by clicking on the "View full text online" link in each item's record.
If the books are physical books, get the location and call number information.
The books listed with call numbers are located at the Library at Waterfront (Downtown Campus). Books that do not have call numbers are eBooks that are available online. Click on the title or image for a link to its entry in the HPU Discovery. Use the call number to find the book in the stacks. You can search for more books in our library using the HPU Discovery. To access the Libraries' electronic resources off-campus, please logon to my.hpu.edu.
There are two libraries collections: Atherton Library at Hawaii Loa Campus and the Library at Waterfront at our Downtown location. With your call number in hand, go to the appropriate library and location to find your books. Read the call number from left to right by sections- on the shelves, find the letters of the call number first, then the whole number next to it, followed by the letter and number combination and year at the end. Books are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress (LOC) classification system. This means that when you find a book you may find other relevant books next to it. If you cannot find a book, ask a librarian.
TESOL books mostly have a LOC call number starting with "P." See the full LOC TESOL outline
British or American English? : A Handbook of Word and Grammar Patterns by 
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language by 
The Cambridge Handbook of English Corpus Linguistics by
The Cambridge Handbook of English Corpus Linguistics (CHECL) surveys the breadth of corpus-based linguistic research on English, including chapters on collocations, phraseology, grammatical variation, historical change, and the description of registers and dialects. The most innovative aspects of the CHECL are its emphasis on critical discussion, its explicit evaluation of the state of the art in each sub-discipline, and the inclusion of empirical case studies. While each chapter includes a broad survey of previous research, the primary focus is on a detailed description of the most important corpus-based studies in this area, with discussion of what those studies found, and why they are important. Each chapter also includes a critical discussion of the corpus-based methods employed for research in this area, as well as an explicit summary of new findings and discoveries.
The Cambridge History of the English Language: Volume 1, the Beginnings To 1066 by 
The Cambridge History of the English Language: Volume 2, 1066-1476 by 
The Cambridge History of the English Language: Volume 3, 1476-1776 by 
The Cambridge History of the English Language: Volume 4, 1776-1997 by 
The Cambridge History of the English Language: Volume 5, English in Britain and Overseas: Origins and Development by 
The Cambridge History of the English Language: Volume 6, English in North America by 
The New Partridge Dictionary Of Slang And Unconventional English by 
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory by 
Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education ( 2 vol. eBook set) by 
The Atlas of Languages by 
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language by 
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the World's Ancient Languages by 
Facts about the World's Languages : An Encyclopedia of the World's Major Languages, Past and Present by 
Handbook of the International Phonetic Association by 
Phonetic Symbol Guide by 
The Routledge Handbook of Language and Intercultural Communication by 
The Routledge Handbook of Pidgin and Creole Languages by 
The Routledge Handbook of Second Language Acquisition and Corpora by 
The Routledge Handbook of Second Language Acquisition and Language Testing by 
The Routledge Handbook of Second Language Acquisition and Sociolinguistics by 
The Routledge Handbook of Second Language Acquisition and Speaking by 
The Routledge Handbook of Second Language Acquisition and Technology by 
The Routledge Handbook of Second Language Acquisition and Writing by 
Encyclopedia of Language and Education : Research Methods in Language and Education by 
The Encyclopedic Dictionary of Applied Linguistics : A Handbook for Language Teaching by 
Handbook of Research on Integrating Technology into Contemporary Language Learning and Teaching by 
Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts by 
The Handbook of Technology and Second Language Teaching and Learning by 
International Handbook of English Language Teaching by 
Longman Dictionary of Language Teaching and Applied Linguistics by 
Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning by 
The Routledge Handbook of Language Testing by 
The Routledge Handbook of Materials Development for Language Teaching by The Routledge Handbook of Second Language Acquisition and Language Testing by 
