Research Guides: Computer Science &amp; Information Systems: Assembly Language / Systems Programming

Books and eBooks in the Libraries

The Library of Congress Subject Heading (LCSH) term for Assembly Language is:

Assembler language (Computer program language)

The LCSH term for Systems Programming is:

Systems programming (Computer science)

Key Resources

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals. (Hawaii Library Consortium resource)

Computer Science (Gale) Computer Science provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
Computer Source (EBSCO) Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.

EBSCO eBook Collection Search and view the full text of reference works, scholarly monographs, literature and fiction.

Information Science (Gale) Information Science is a database curated for library science students and information science and technology professionals. The database is updated daily with articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology, including usability, cataloging, circulation, business information, and more.

ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly Ebrary) Formerly known as Ebrary. Ebrary bookshelf contents can be transferred to Ebook Central; click on the Bookshelf link to start the process (while on campus). Contains ebooks in all subject areas; currently more than 100,000 titles. (Hawaii Library Consortium resource)

SAGE Premier

ScienceDirect Provides full-text access to scholarly journals in the physical, social and health sciences.
SpringerLink Contains full-text Springer ebooks and journals focusing primarily on science, technology and medicine.

Selected Titles

The Art of Assembly Language by Randall Hyde
ISBN: 9781593273019
Publication Date: 2010
ebrary eBooks
Subjects:
Assembler language (Computer program language)
Programming languages (Electronic computers)
Computer Science and Engineering by Benjamin W. Wah (Editor)
Call Number: MREF QA76.15 .W545 2009
ISBN: 9780471383932
Publication Date: 2009
Wiley Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Engineering, 5-volume set, includes over 450 A to Z articles addressing the latest advances and findings in computer science and engineering, in addition to important topics of interest to computer scientists and engineers, including standards, electronic commerce, financial engineering, and computer education. Each article is written by an expert in his or her particular specialty and is peer-reviewed by two other experts to ensure that it is clear and precise.
Print reference title at Meader Library, 2nd Floor
Subjects:
Computer science -- Encyclopedias
Computer engineering -- Encyclopedias
Developing Information Systems by James Cadle (Editor); Tahir Ahmed; Julian Cox; Lynda Girvan; Alan Paul; Debra Paul; Pete Thompson
ISBN: 9781780172460
Publication Date: 2014
Systems development is the process of creating and maintaining information systems, including hardware, software, data, procedures and people. It combines technical expertise with business knowledge and management skill. This practical book provides a comprehensive introduction to the topic and can also be used as a handy reference guide.
ebrary eBooks
Subjects:
System design
IBM Tools by Eugene Deborin; International Business Machines Corporation, International Technical Support Organization Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780738428109
Publication Date: 2003
ebrary eBooks
Subjects:
CICS (Computer system)
Teleprocessing monitors (Computer programs)
Ios and Os X Network Programming Cookbook by Jon Hoffman
ISBN: 9781849698092
Publication Date: 2014
This book follows a recipe-based approach that will heavily focus on the code and how to integrate the samples with the reader's projects.
ebrary eBooks
Subjects:
iOS (Electronic resource)
Operating systems (Computers) -- Programming
Professional Assembly Language by Richard Blum
ISBN: 9780764595615
Publication Date: 2005
Covering assembly language in the Pentium microprocessor environment, this code-intensive guide shows programmers how to create stand-alone assembly language programs as well as how to incorporate assembly language libraries or routines into existing high-level applications.
ebrary eBooks
Subjects:
Assembler language (Computer program language)
Programming for the Absolute Beginner by Jerry Lee Ford Jr.
ISBN: 9781598637564
Publication Date: 2007
ebrary eBooks
Subjects:
Computer software -- Development
Computer programming