Keyword Searching: Type your search term to run a basic keyword search.
Various search options include title, author, subject and other fields.
Search Limits: If you have too many results, select search limits. A General Collection limit, for example, returns books that may be checked out. You may also choose to limit the returns to Atherton or Meader Library.
LC Linked Data Service: Authorities and Vocabularies
Browse LCSH Online
Search Authorities and Vocabularies
(Library of Congress)
Library of Congress Classification Outline
Call Numbers for Biomedical Engineering
CLASS R MEDICINE
| Subclass | |
|
R856-857 |
Medicine (General) |
Call Numbers for Biotechnology/Electrical Engineering
CLASS T TECHNOLOGY
|
Subclass TA TA1-2040 TA164 TA 165 TA174 TA213-215 TA329-348 TA349-359 TA1501-1820 |
; Engineering instruments, meters, etc. Engineering machinery, tools, and implements |
|
Subclass TK TK1-9971 TK301-399 TK452-454.4 TK1001-1841 TK2000-2891
TK3001-3521 TK4001-4102 TK4125-4399 TK4601-4661 TK5101-6720
TK9001-9401 TK9900-9971 |
Electrical engineering. Electronics. Nuclear engineering Electric apparatus and materials. Electric circuits. Electric networks Production of electric energy or power. Powerplants. Dynamoelectric machinery and auxiliaries Production of electricity by direct energy conversion Distribution or transmission of electric power Applications of electric power Telecommunication Electronics Nuclear engineering. Atomic power Electricity for amateurs. Amateur constructors' manuals |
|
Subclass TP TP1-1185 TP155-156 TP200-248 TP248.13-248.65 TP250-261 TP267.5-301 TP315-360 TP368-456 TP480-498 TP500-660 TP670-699 TP690-692.5 TP700-746 TP751-762 TP785-869 TP875-888 TP890-933 TP934-945 TP1080-1185 |
Chemicals: Manufacture, use, etc. Food processing and manufacture Low temperature engineering. Cryogenic engineering. Refrigeration Fermentation industries. Beverages. Alcohol Petroleum refining. Petroleum products Illuminating industries (Nonelectric) Clay industries. Ceramics. Glass Textile bleaching, dyeing, printing, etc. |
Agro-Technology by
Humans have been modifying plants and animals for millennia. The dawn of molecular genetics, however, has kindled intense public scrutiny and controversy. Crops, and the food products which include them, have dominated molecular modification in agriculture. Organisations have made unsubstantiated claims and scare mongering is common. In this textbook Paul Thompson presents a clear account of the significant issues - identifying harms and benefits, analysing and managing risk - which lie beneath the cacophony of public controversy. His comprehensive analysis looks especially at genetically modified organisms, and includes an explanation of the scientific background, an analysis of ideological objections, a discussion of legal and ethical concerns, a suggested alternative - organic agriculture - and an examination of the controversy's impact on sub-Saharan African countries. His book will be of interest to students and other readers in philosophy, biology, biotechnology and public policy.
Biological Thermodynamics by
This inter-disciplinary guide to the thermodynamics of living organisms has been thoroughly revised and updated to provide a uniquely integrated overview of the subject. Retaining its highly readable style, it will serve as an introduction to the study of energy transformation in the life sciences and particularly as an accessible means for biology, biochemistry and bioengineering undergraduate students to acquaint themselves with the physical dimension of their subject. The emphasis throughout the text is on understanding basic concepts and developing problem-solving skills. The mathematical difficulty increases gradually by chapter, but no calculus is required. Topics covered include energy and its transformation, the First Law of Thermodynamics, Gibbs free energy, statistical thermodynamics, binding equilibria and reaction kinetics. Each chapter comprises numerous illustrative examples taken from different areas of biochemistry, as well as a broad range of exercises and references for further study.
Biomedical Devices and Their Applications by
Biomedical devices that contact with blood or tissue represent a wide range of products. Depending on their potential harm to a body, medical devices are categorized according to the degree, so their safety can be assured. All biomaterials are by definition designed to contact with a body for a certain period of time. The nature of the body contact, as well as the duration a material contacts with the body may initiate unwanted biological In comparison with invasive devices Oike catheters and medical responses. implants contact directly with tissue or with the circulating blood) non invasive devices (like wound-dressings and contact lenses contact with the skin, the sclera, and the mucosa or with open wounds) have a lesser risk of hurting a patient. When blood contacts with a foreign material, plasma proteins become absorpted to the surface within a few seconds. The reactions that follow, the so-called intrinsic pathway lead to the formation of fibrin and activation of platelets and white blood cells, result in blood clot formation.
Biotechnology: An Introduction by
Succeed in this course and your future career with BIOTECHNOLOGY with InfoTrac! Using case studies and examples, this biology text provides you with the tools you need to understand the methods, implications, and debate surrounding the use of biotechnological products now and in the future. Coverage includes the human genome and other genomes, animal cloning, pharmacogenomics, plant bioreactors, RNA interference, microarray technology, microbial surface display, and biotechnology regulation and patent information. Mastering difficult material is made easy with the book-specific website that provides you with learning aids such as flashcards, exercises, and tutorial quizzes.
Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering by
Biotechnology is the manipulation of a living organism to increase its usefulness. Though it is commonly thought of as a modern practice, it actually began when the early farming civilizations began choosing which crops to plant annually. In recent decades, however, biotechnology has undergone drastic changes due to advances in genetic engineering. Scientists can now alter the DNA of living organisms. Although gene manipulation could address certain health concerns and alleviate the problem of world hunger through engineered crops, some worry about the ethical dilemmas, the possibility of discrimination and eugenics, and unforeseen environmental problems from such radical interference.    Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering expertly explains why biotechnology is a relevant and volatile issue. Part I begins with a history of biotechnology and its effect on agriculture, medicine, and the environment. The second chapter focuses on the United States, with emphasis on recent progress and new applications. Equal time is spent discussing the efforts of human rights advocates, animal rights advocates, and environmentalists to create definitive governmental regulations for this budding industry. The third chapter looks at how biotechnology has impacted the world, providing case studies of its history and current role in Japan, India, Germany, and South Africa. Part II draws together significant U.S. and international primary source documents and part III gathers useful research tools.
Concepts in Biotechnology by
Adopting a unique approach, this novel textbook integrates science and business for an inside view on the biotech industry. Peering behind the scenes, it provides a thorough analysis of the foundations of the present day industry for students and professionals alike: its history, its tools and processes, its markets and products. The authors, themselves close witnesses of the emergence of modern biotechnology from its very beginnings in the 1980s, clearly separate facts from fiction, looking behind the exaggerated claims made by start-up companies trying to attract investors. Essential reading for every student and junior researcher looking for a career in the biotech sector.
Engineering Fundamentals by
Now in dynamic full color, ENGINEERING FUNDAMENTALS: AN INTRODUCTION TO ENGINEERING, 5e helps readers develop the strong problem-solving skills and solid foundation in fundamental principles they will need to become analytical, detail-oriented, and creative engineers. The book opens with an overview of what engineers do, an inside glimpse of the various areas of specialization, and a straightforward look at what it takes to succeed. The book then covers the basic physical concepts and laws that you'll encounter on the job. Professional Profiles throughout the text highlight the work of practicing engineers from around the globe, tying in the fundamental principles and applying them to professional engineering. Using a flexible modular format, the book demonstrates how engineers apply physical and chemical laws and principles, as well as mathematics, to design, test, and supervise the production of millions of parts, products, and services that people use every day.
Fundamentals of Electric Circuits by
Fundamentals of Electric Circuits continues in the spirit of its successful previous editions, with the objective of presenting circuit analysis in a manner that is clearer, more interesting, and easier to understand than other, more traditional texts. Students are introduced to the sound, six-step problem solving methodology in chapter one, and are consistently made to apply and practice these steps in practice problems and homework problems throughout the text. A balance of theory, worked & extended examples, practice problems, and real-world applications, combined with over 468 new or changed homework problems complete this edition. Robust media offerings, renders this text to be the most comprehensive and student-friendly approach to linear circuit analysis out there. This book retains the "Design a Problem" feature which helps students develop their design skills by having the student develop the question, as well as the solution. There are over 100 "Design a Problem" exercises integrated into problem sets in the book. McGraw-Hill Education's Connect, is also available as an optional, add on item. Connect is the only integrated learning system that empowers students by continuously adapting to deliver precisely what they need, when they need it, how they need it, so that class time is more effective. Connect allows the professor to assign homework, quizzes, and tests easily and automatically grades and records the scores of the student's work. Problems are randomized to prevent sharing of answers an may also have a "multi-step solution" which helps move the students' learning along if they experience difficulty.
Information Technology Project Management by
INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY PROJECT MANAGEMENT, Fifth Edition weaves theory and practice together, presenting a comprehensive, integrated view of the many concepts, skills, tools, and techniques involved in information technology project management. With the strong pedagogical features and straightforward approach that made previous editions popular, this revised edition continues to address the critical skills needed for success in the ever-expanding field of project management, which has grown in its impact on an increasing number of professions, most notably information technology. The fifth edition has been updated to include a detailed guide to using Microsoft Project 2007, as well as extensive tips and practice questions to prepare readers for the latest Project Management Professional (PMP) exam. Written to the PMBOK Guide 2004 set of standards, this resource will prove valuable to anyone entering the corporate world, as leaders in the industry place an increasingly high value on effective project managers and project teams.
Introduction to Biotechnology by
INTRODUCTION TO BIOTECHNOLOGY: AN AGRICULTURAL REVOLUTION offers a thorough introduction to biotechnology and the ways it has revolutionized modern agriculture. This newly updated text provides a solid grounding in core biotechnology concepts, as well as information on cutting-edge science and technology and their applications in real-world agriculture, medicine, and health care. The text's in-depth coverage includes essential topics such as cell functions, genetics, biotechnology applications, and biotech careers, as well as a thoughtful and balanced examination of controversial issues such as genetic engineering, genetically modified organisms, cloning, and potential dangers to humans and the environment. Building on the text's proven strengths, the Second Edition features a stronger emphasis on the science and math of biotechnology, updated content to reflect the latest trends and technology, and new lab exercises to reinforce key concepts and help master the tools and techniques needed to succeed in biotech careers.
IT Project Management by
Delves into CompTIA IT Project+ certification objectives. The 'Inside the Exam' sections of this guide focus on the necessary topics to pass the CompTIA exam. Each chapter features an end-of-chapter review, and the CD-ROM includes an IT Project+ practice test, plus templates and worksheets to use when managing a project.
Liberation Biology by
The 21st century will undoubtedly witness unprecedented advances in understanding the mechanisms of the human body and in developing biotechnology. With the mapping of the human genome, the pace of discovery is now on the fast track. By the middle of the century we can expect that the rapid progress in biology and biotechnology will utterly transform human life. What was once the stuff of science fiction may now be within reach in the not-too-distant future: 20-to-40-year leaps in average life spans, enhanced human bodies, drugs and therapies to boost memory and speed up mental processing, and a genetic science that allows parents to ensure that their children will have stronger immune systems, more athletic bodies, and cleverer brains. Even the prospect of human immortality beckons. Such scenarios excite many people and frighten or appall many others. Already biotechnology opponents are organizing political movements aimed at restricting scientific research, banning the development and commercialization of various products and technologies, and limiting citizens’ access to the fruits of the biotech revolution. In this forward-looking book Ronald Bailey, science writer for Reason magazine, argues that the coming biotechnology revolution, far from endangering human dignity, will liberate human beings to achieve their full potentials by enabling more of us to live flourishing lives free of disease, disability, and the threat of early death. Bailey covers the full range of the coming biotechnology breakthroughs, from stem-cell research to third-world farming, from brain-enhancing neuropharmaceuticals to designer babies. Against critics of these trends, who forecast the nightmare society of Huxley’s Brave New World, Bailey persuasively shows in lucid and well-argued prose that the health, safety, and ethical concerns raised by worried citizens and policymakers are misplaced. Liberation Biology makes a positive, optimistic, and convincing case that the biotechnology revolution will improve our lives and the future of our children, while preserving and enhancing the natural environment.
Logic and Computer Design Fundamentals by
For courses in Logic and Computer design. Understanding Logic and Computer Design for All Audiences Logic and Computer Design Fundamentals is a thoroughly up-to-date text that makes logic design, digital system design, and computer design available to readers of all levels. The Fifth Edition brings this widely recognized source to modern standards by ensuring that all information is relevant and contemporary. The material focuses on industry trends and successfully bridges the gap between the much higher levels of abstraction people in the field must work with today than in the past. Broadly covering logic and computer design, Logic and Computer Design Fundamentals is a flexibly organized source material that allows instructors to tailor its use to a wide range of audiences.
Microcontroller Programming by
Microcontroller Programming: An Introductionis a comprehensive one-stop resource that covers the concepts, principles, solution development, and associated techniques involved in microcontroller-based systems. Focusing on the elements and features of the popular and powerful Motorola 68HC11 microcontroller IC as a representative example, this book is unlike others, which are often too broad in scope, delving into every topic of concern regarding microcontroller programmers. Instead, this text concentrates on design, architecture, and development, giving developers the tools to develop solid, effective embedded applications. Packaged with helpful examples, projects, and illustrations, this book gives an in-depth assessment of microcontroller design programming in both assembly and C. By illustrating the relatively sophisticated 8-bit 68HC11 microcontroller, the author--who is a consultant for NASA--provides a firsthand exploration and demonstration of the languages, tools, and techniques needed to build embedded applications. Readers can then apply their newly acquired skills to program other 8/16/32-bit microcontrollers. For readers who want to do more than just scrape the surface, this book is an enjoyable and immensely beneficial tool to help them cultivate a deeper understanding of microcontroller-based application development. An extensive supplements package is available free of charge to instructors who use the book for a course.
Micro/Nano Technology Systems for Biomedical Applications by
In daily life, we are accustomed to working with length scales of feet or meters, but the building blocks from which our bodies are constructed are many orders of magnitude smaller. The technologies that are being developed to intervene at these minute scales have the potential to improvehuman health and significantly enrich our lives.Revolutionary micro/nano technology platforms have led to dramatic advances in sample preparation, analysis and cell culture. From the 1990s through to the very beginning of the twenty-first century, the focus was on the development of manufacturing technologies. Through elegant design andsophisticated fabrication, the micro- to nano-scale manipulation of fluids and particles has become routine. Since then, it has become possible to control molecular interactions at device surfaces, and optical manipulation, imaging and sensing techniques can also be incorporated. Micro/nanotechnology platforms are already being used to study and direct biological processes at the cellular and sub-cellular level, and to detect disease with greater sensitivity and specificity. The challenges and excitement in the near future will be in engineering these sophisticated, multifunctionaldevices to seamlessly interface with complex biological systems.Providing a clear guide that moves from molecules through devices to systems, this book reviews fundamental aspects of microfluidic devices, including fabrication, surface property control, pressure-driven and electrokinetic flow, and functions such as fluid mixing, particle sorting and molecularseparations. The integration of optical and plasmonic imaging, optoelectronic tweezers for single particle manipulation, and optical and electrical signal transduction methods for biosensing are shown to provide extraordinary capabilities for bioanalytical and biomedical applications. Theserepresent key areas of research that will lead to the next generation of micro/nano-based systems. Anyone working in this fast-changing field will benefit from this comprehensive review of the latest thinking, while researchers will find much to inspire and direct their work.
Modern Control Engineering by
For senior or graduate-level students taking a first course in Control Theory (in departments of Mechanical, Electrical, Aerospace, and Chemical Engineering). A comprehensive, senior-level textbook for control engineering. Ogata's Modern Control Engineering, 5/e , offers the comprehensive coverage of continuous-time control systems that all senior students must have, including frequency response approach, root-locus approach, and state-space approach to analysis and design of control systems. The text provides a gradual development of control theory, shows how to solve all computational problems with MATLAB, and avoids highly mathematical arguments. A wealth of examples and worked problems are featured throughout the text. The new edition includes improved coverage of Root-Locus Analysis (Chapter 6) and Frequency-Response Analysis (Chapter 8). The author has also updated and revised many of the worked examples and end-of-chapter problems. This text is ideal for control systems engineers.
Power System Analysis and Design by
Introduce the basic concepts of power systems as well as the tools students need to apply these skills to real world situations with POWER SYSTEM ANALYSIS AND DESIGN, 6E. This new edition highlights physical concepts while also giving necessary attention to mathematical techniques. The authors develop both theory and modeling from simple beginnings so students are prepared to readily extend these principles to new and complex situations. Software tools including PowerWorld Simulation, and the latest content throughout this edition aid students with design issues while reflecting the most recent trends in the field.
Signal Processing First by
Designed and written by experienced and well-respected authors, this hands on, multi-media package provides a motivating introduction to fundamental concepts, specifically discrete-time systems. Unique features such as visual learning demonstrations, MATLAB laboratories and a bank of solved problems are just a few things that make this an essential learning tool for mastering fundamental concepts in today's electrical and computer engineering forum. Covers basic DSP concepts, integrated laboratory projects—related to music, sound and image processing. Other topics include new MATLAB functions for basic DSP operations, Sinusoids, Spectrum Representation, Sampling and Aliasing, FIR Filters, Frequency Response of FIR Filters, z-Transforms, IIR Filters, and Spectrum Analysis. Useful as a self-teaching tool for anyone eager to discover more about DSP applications, multi-media signals, and MATLAB.
Software Project Management.. 5th ed. by
Software project management is a crucial element in successful software and IT development, and requires students to develop an understanding of technical methodology and an appreciation of the many human factors that can play a part in software projects. This title helps students to grasp these contrasting skills.