Kanopy is a mediated on-demand streaming video service, provided through funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities. Faculty from the College of Liberal Arts may request access to videos within the grant’s approved subject areas. Videos should support at least 3000-4000 of undergraduate level study. Faculty from other colleges should contact their Dean or program chair for support in purchasing or licensing instructional media.
Approved Subject Areas: Art & Art History: all disciplines, Classics: classical studies, Foreign Languages: original texts in foreign languages if they support the curriculum; must be at 300-400 level: no foreign language film used primarily for practice; no how-to videos, History, International Studies: all disciplines, Linguistics: history, not applied, Literature, Military Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Religious Studies, World History: comparative studies
Subject areas not covered under the grant: Applied Linguistics, Performing Arts, Psychology, Sociological Studies, Sociology, general, Studio Art, and Theater.
The Biomedical Engineering (4 volume set) by
The definitive "bible" for the field of biomedical engineering, this collection of volumes is a major reference for all practicing biomedical engineers and students. Now in its fourth edition, this work presents a substantial revision, with all sections updated to offer the latest research findings. New sections address drugs and devices, personalized medicine, and stem cell engineering. Also included is a historical overview as well as a special section on medical ethics. This set provides complete coverage of biomedical engineering fundamentals, medical devices and systems, computer applications in medicine, and molecular engineering.
Encyclopedia of Nanotechnology by
The" Encyclopedia of Nanotechnology" provides a comprehensive and multi-disciplinary reference to the many fields relevant to the general field of nanotechnology. It aims to be a comprehensive and genuinely international reference work and will be aimed at graduate students, researchers, and practitioners. The "Encyclopedia of Nanotechnology" introduces a large number of terms, devices and processes which are related to the multi-disciplinary field of Nanotechnology. For each entry in this 4 volume seta 4-10 page description is provided by an expert in the field. Contributions are made by experts from the US, Europe and Asia, making this a comprehensive and truly international Reference Work. The authors are typically from academia, however one quarter of all entries were written by persons from industry. Topics covered in the Reference Work include: - Nano- Microfabrication Processes and Materials for Fabrication - Nanoscale Measurement Techniques - Nanostructures - Nanomaterials - Nanomechanics - Molecular Modeling and Its Role in Advancing Nanotechnology - MEMS/NEMS - Microfluidics and Nanofluidics - Biomedical Engineering and Biodevices - Bio/Nanotechnology and Nanomedicine - Bio/Nanotechnology for cellular engineering - Drug Delivery Technology and Applications - Assembly - Organic Electronics - Nano-optical Devices - Micro/nano Integration - Materials, Coatings and Surface Treatments for Nanotribology - Micro/NanoReliability thermal, mechanical etc. - Biomimetics"
Encyclopedia of Science Technology and Ethics by 
Handbook of Biomedical Optics by
Biomedical optics holds tremendous promise to deliver effective, safe, non- or minimally invasive diagnostics and targeted, customizable therapeutics. Handbook of Biomedical Optics provides an in-depth treatment of the field, including coverage of applications for biomedical research, diagnosis, and therapy. It introduces the theory and fundamentals of each subject, ensuring accessibility to a wide multidisciplinary readership. It also offers a view of the state of the art and discusses advantages and disadvantages of various techniques. Organized into six sections, this handbook: Contains introductory material on optics and the optical properties of tissue Describes the various forms of spectroscopy and its applications in medicine and biology, including methods that exploit intrinsic absorption and scattering contrast; dynamic contrast; and fluorescence and Raman contrast mechanismsProvides extensive coverage of tomography from the microscopic (optical coherence tomography) to the macroscopic (diffuse optical tomography) to photoacoustic tomographyDiscusses cutting-edge translations to biomedical applications in both basic sciences and clinical studies Details molecular imaging and molecular probe developmentHighlights the use of light in disease and injury treatment The breadth and depth of multidisciplinary knowledge in biomedical optics has been expanding continuously and exponentially, thus underscoring the lack of a single source to serve as a reference and teaching tool for scientists in related fields. Handbook of Biomedical Optics addresses this need, offering the most complete up-to-date overview of the field for researchers and students alike.
Handbook of Coherent-Domain Optical Methods by
This Handbook provides comprehensive coverage of laser and coherent-domain methods as applied to biomedicine, environmental monitoring, and materials science. Worldwide leaders in these fields describe the fundamentals of light interaction with random media and present an overview of basic research. The latest results on coherent and polarization properties of light scattered by random media, including tissues and blood, speckles formation in multiple scattering media, and other non-destructive interactions of coherent light with rough surfaces and tissues, allow the reader to understand the principles and applications of coherent diagnostic techniques. The expanded second edition has been thoroughly updated with particular emphasis on novel coherent-domain techniques and their applications in medicine and environmental science. Volume 1 describes state-of-the-art methods of coherent and polarization optical imaging, tomography and spectroscopy; diffusion wave spectroscopy; elastic, quasi-elastic and inelastic light scattering spectroscopy and imaging; digital holographic microscopy, the Fourier transform light scattering method, and coherent diffractive imaging; wavefront sensing, aberration measurement and adaptive optics for ophthalmology; and laser remote sensing. Volume 2 presents the new and growing field of coherent optics in optical coherence tomography (OCT). Various applications of OCT and confocal microscopy, including biomedical endoscopy, are discussed. A special section covers Mueller matrix polarimetry, nonlinear laser fluorescence spectroscopy, and triplet-triplet annihilation assisted upconversion as optical tools for probing the physical parameters of materials and natural organic compounds.
Handbook on Advanced Design and Manufacturing Technologies for Biomedical Devices by
​The last decades have seen remarkable advances in computer‐aided design, engineering and manufacturing technologies, multi‐variable simulation tools, medical imaging, biomimetic design, rapid prototyping, micro and nanomanufacturing methods and information management resources, all of which provide new horizons for the Biomedical Engineering fields and the Medical Device Industry. Advanced Design and Manufacturing Technologies for Biomedical Devices covers such topics in depth, with an applied perspective and providing several case studies that help to analyze and understand the key factors of the different stages linked to the development of a novel biomedical device, from the conceptual and design steps, to the prototyping and industrialization phases. Main research challenges and future potentials are also discussed, taking into account relevant social demands and a growing market already exceeding billions of dollars. In time, advanced biomedical devices will decisively change methods and results in the medical world, dramatically improving diagnoses and therapies for all kinds of pathologies. But if these biodevices are to fulfill present expectations, today's engineers need a thorough grounding in related simulation, design and manufacturing technologies, and collaboration between experts of different areas has to be promoted, as is also analyzed within this handbook.
Handbook of CO in Power Systems by
The Handbook of CO₂in Power Systems' objective is to include the state-of-the-art developments that occurred in power systems taking CO₂emission into account. The book includes power systems operation modeling with CO₂emissions considerations, CO₂market mechanism modeling, CO₂regulation policy modeling, carbon price forecasting, and carbon capture modeling. For each of the subjects, at least one article authored by a world specialist on the specific domain is included.
Handbook of Digital Homecare by
This second volume of the "Handbook of Digital Homecare" reviews the attempts to develop new ICT services for digital homecare, i.e. services to deliver, maintain and improve care in the home environment using the latest ICT technology and devices. The book highlights the successful projects as well as failures of Digital homecare and provides several "lessons learned" to the wide audience of Health and ICT professionals.
Handbook of Industrial Chemistry and Biotechnology by
Substantially revising and updating the classic reference in the field, this handbook offers a valuable overview and myriad details on current chemical processes, products, and practices. No other source offers as much data on the chemistry, engineering, economics, and infrastructure of the industry. The Handbook serves a spectrum of individuals, from those who are directly involved in the chemical industry to others in related industries and activities. It provides not only the underlying science and technology for important industry sectors, but also broad coverage of critical supporting topics. Industrial processes and products can be much enhanced through observing the tenets and applying the methodologies found in chapters on Green Engineering and Chemistry (specifically, biomass conversion), Practical Catalysis, and Environmental Measurements; as well as expanded treatment of Safety, chemistry plant security, and Emergency Preparedness. Understanding these factors allows them to be part of the total process and helps achieve optimum results in, for example, process development, review, and modification. Important topics in the energy field, namely nuclear, coal, natural gas, and petroleum, are covered in individual chapters. Other new chapters include energy conversion, energy storage, emerging nanoscience and technology. Updated sections include more material on biomass conversion, as well as three chapters covering biotechnology topics, namely, Industrial Biotechnology, Industrial Enzymes, and Industrial Production of Therapeutic Proteins.
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology by 
Springer Handbook of Medical Technology by
This concise, user-oriented and up-to-date desk reference offers a broad introduction to the fascinating world of medical technology, fully considering today's progress and further development in all relevant fields. The Springer Handbook of Medical Technology is a systemized and well-structured guideline which distinguishes itself through simplification and condensation of complex facts. This book is an indispensable resource for professionals working directly or indirectly with medical systems and appliances every day. It is also meant for graduate and post graduate students in hospital management, medical engineering, and medical physics.
Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia by 
The Whatis?com Encyclopedia of Technology Terms by 
