Research Guides: Physics & Astronomy (PHYS): Articles

Contact Us

reference@hpu.edu
+808 544-1133

Scholarly Journal Articles vs. Popular Sources

What is a Scholarly Journal?
(St. Mary's University: Louis J. Blume Library)

Popular Magazines vs. Trade Magazines vs. Scholarly Journals
(Colorado State University Libraries)

Go to Ulrich's Web - Periodicals Directory

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

The HPU Libraries provide an interlibrary loan service.

Need something and we don't have it? Submit a:

BOOK Online Request Form

JOURNAL ARTICLE Online Request Form

To learn more about the service see the:

Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery page.

Academic OneFile (GALE) This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
Provides open access to 1,000,000+ e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics.
Gale Databases (GALE) This link opens in a new window
Portal to all of our Gale databases and ebooks.
Google Scholar @ HPU This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Accessing Google Scholar via this link authenticates your off-campus computer, enabling off-campus access to the Libraries' resources.
Nature Journal Online This link opens in a new window
Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions. Nature also provides rapid, authoritative, insightful and arresting news and interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science, scientists and the wider public.
Science This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to the journal Science from 1997 to present.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals in the physical, social and health sciences.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text Springer ebooks (published from 2005 – 2013) and journals focusing primarily on science, technology and medicine.

If you only have a citation of an article, try one of the options below to locate the full-text of the article.

1. Click the "Find It!" link, near a citation in an online database, if you're in the middle of
searching the databases.

Example: Getting the Full Text in EBSCO Databases

Go to the Libraries homepage, search for an article title in our Library catalog, HPU Discovery. https://www.hpu.edu/libraries/index.html
Go to the Libraries homepage, click on Periodicals and type a title of journal or title of article into the search box.

Example:
Journal Title: Food Microbiology 21 (2004), pp. 535–541

Article Title: Bacteriological quality and safety of raw milk in Malaysia
(Note: you would also need to input at least one more information on the article such as author(s), Journal/publication title, ISSN, etc.)

Go to the Libraries homepage, click on Databases and then click on the letter G for "Google Scholar at HPU". From there, enter a title of article, author(s) or DOI name into the search box.

Example:

Article title: Bacteriological quality and safety of raw milk in Malaysia

Author(s): Fook Yee Chye, Aminah Abdullah, Mohd Khan Ayob

DOI: 10.1016/j.fm.2003.11.007

Go back to the A-Z Databases, click on the letter C and scroll all the way down, and then click on Crossref Metadata Search. From there, enter or paste a DOI name/ a title of an article into the text box provided.

Example:

Article title: Bacteriological quality and safety of raw milk in Malaysia

DOI: 10.1016/j.fm.2003.11.007

If any of the options above don't work, then request articles via Interlibrary Loan (ILL) and Document Delivery Services for the HPU Libraries (Use the Journal Article Online Request Form)

HPU Discovery

About the Link Resolver (Find It!)

Find It! is the Libraries' "link resolver;" it links an article citation to the full-text of the article, if available. When you see the Find It! button near a citation in an online database, simply click on it. The HPU Discovery menu page will open and indicate whether full text is available, and if so, provide a link to the article. If not, you may request the article via Interlibrary Loan.

What is the DOI System?

APA Citation: Citing an Article with a DOI and Without a DOI-Tutorial (UMUC Library)

Crossref DOI display: Display guidelines for Crossref DOIs (Crossref.org)

Digital Object Identifier (DOI) (APA Style Blog)

Key Facts on Digital Object Identifier System (doi.org)

Frequently Asked Questions about DOI System (doi.org)

Go to doi.org to resolve a DOI Name (Type or paste a DOI name into the search box provided)

Looking for DOI? Go to crossref.org