Skip to Main Content

Style Guides: APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian & AP: Citation Management Tools

Contact Us

Easy Citations

Easy Bibliography Generators:

  • BibMe:
    -Search for a book, article, website, film, or enter the information yourself.
    -MLA (7th ed.), APA (6th ed.), Chicago (6th ed.), Turabian styles (8th ed.), and more.
  • EasyBib:
    -Website, Book, Newspaper, Journal, Database, All 59 options
    -MLA (Free)  APA, Harvard, Chicago and 7,000 additional formats (EasyBib Pro)
  • Harvard Reference Generator
    -Website, Book, Journal, Online Journal, Set of Lecture Notes, Thesis, Dissertation, Email, CD, Edited Conference Paper, Unedited Conference Paper
    -Harvard reference format
  • Make Citation:
    - Book, Encyclopedia/Dictionary, Newspaper, Journal, Magazine, Dissertation/Thesis, Government Document, University Document, Web page/Web, Film/Video, Interview, Podcast, Online Discussion, Television/Radio Program, Online Reference sources
    -MLA 7th , APA 6th, TURABIAN, Chicago, IEEE, ASAS, Harvard, Vancouver
  • OttoBib
    -Book
    -MLA, APA, Chicago, BibTeX, and Wikipedia
  • Son of Citation Machine
    -Book, Magazine, Newspaper, Website, Journal, Film, Other
    -APA, MLA, Chicago, and more.

Citation Management Tools

Citation management tools allows you to:

  • collect references
  • store references in a web account or on your desktop
  • organize references
  • add notes to your references
  • link to full text, web pages and documents
  • cite your references and create bibliographies in variety of citation styles

There are many citation management tools available for free or purchase. The HPU Libraries provide support for 3 free citation management tools:

EndNote  Basic  

Zotero 

Mendeley      

Note: Citation management tools are not a perfect as some data exported to them might be incorrect; always double check your references with the proper citation style handbook. 

A citation generator is a tool that helps you find the citation information of a source, in various citation styles. Most tools provide information for your bibliography, some may include in-text citation information.  Many databases include citation generators for the sources you find in their collections. Examples:

  • HPU Discovery
  • EBSCO databases 
  • GALE databases
  • JSTOR
  • Google Scholar

If the source doesn't include a citation generator, there are citation generator websites that can help you by providing some basic information on the source you want to cite. Click on the tabs above to learn more about a few of these tools. 

 COST?

  • Citation creation can be done for free in major citation styles.
  • A BibMe Pro plan is available with additional features such as plagiarism checking

CITATION STYLES

  • MLA, APA, Chicago

TYPES OF SOURCES

  • Book, magazine, newspaper, website, journal, film, other

 FEATURES

  • Will look up and generate citation based upon the website, book title, etc. using WorldCat
  • Includes a parenthetical citation feature

Upcoming Library Events

HPU Libraries offers citation management workshops, check our calendar for upcoming workshops! (Offered during Fall and Spring semesters).

If you missed or can't make it to a specific workshop; we also offered citation management consultations to individuals or small group, just email us at reference@hpu.edu