The Spanish Collection is located at the Library at Waterfront (Downtown Campus) in the Hawaiian and Modern Languages Collection, which is organized in alphabetical order by language. These books have a “Spanish” label at the top edge of their spines. "Easy Reading" titles are designated with a red dot on the spine of the book.
Browsing the Libraries' shelves: You may wish to simply look at the books on the shelves.
The books listed below are in the Hawaiian and Modern Languages Collection. Click on the title or image for a link to its entry in the HPU Discovery. Use the call number to find the book in the stacks. You can search for more books in our library using the HPU Discovery. To access the Libraries' electronic resources off-campus, please logon to my.hpu.edu.
Adios, Papa! by 
Ana Maria Matute by 
Antes de Ser Libres by 
Cajas de Cartón : relatos de la vida peregrina de un niño campesino by 
Cuentos españoles contemporáneos by 
Easy Spanish Reader : A Three-Part Text for Beginning Students by 
El Arroyo de la Llorona by 
El Misterio de la Llave by
Inside a Toledo synagogue, an archeologist and a writer find a key with mysterious inscriptions written in Arabic and Hebrew.
Federico García Lorca by 
First Spanish Reader : A Beginner's Dual-Language Book by 
Gabriel García Márquez by 
Jorge Luis Borges by 
La Casa en Mango Street by 
Leyendas de Guatemala by 
Miguel de Unamuno by 
A Second Spanish Reader : A Dual-Language Book by 
Spanish-American Poetry /Poesia Hispanoamericana by
Students of Spanish and lovers of poetry will find here an inspiring treasury of forty poems ranging from the time of the Conquest to the first half of the twentieth century. Included are works by Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz, José Martí, Rubén Darío, Amado Nervo, Gabriela Mistral, Pablo Neruda, and many other poets. In addition to the original Spanish versions, noted educator Seymour Resnick has provided excellent new literal English translations on the facing pages, along with brief biographical notes on each poet. The result is a rich selection of the finest Spanish-American poetry specially chosen for its quality and enduring popularity. Those studying the language will find here ample material for honing their Spanish-language skills, while any poetry lover will enjoy the richness and beauty of this verse--in English or Spanish.
Y No Se lo Trago la Tierra by The eBooks listed below are available online for the HPU community. Click on the title or image to access the title. You can search for more eBooks by using HPU Discovery. To access the Libraries' electronic resources off-campus, please logon to my.hpu.edu.
Animales Que Andan Juntos : Animals Together by
Compares How Some Animals Depend On Each Other For survival While Others Remain Solitary.
An Anthology of Old Spanish by
In this book, Tatiana Fotitch compiles some of the most fascinating Spanish-language texts from the late-ninth or early tenth century through to the fifteenth century. The selections are specifically aimed to garner the interests of students as they begin the study of Old Spanish, and hence covers a wide variety of different types of material. The anthology includes examples of Mozarabic poetry; the twelfth century Auto de los Reyes Magos and Cantar de Mio Çid; as well as the thirteenth century Roncesvalles, which tells of how Charlemagne, after the battle, mourns his chieftains. Fotitch also includes Gonzalo de Berceo's Milagros de Nuestra Señora and several works by Alfonso the Wise, including his Libro de las partidas. Fotitch also includes the famous poem El Libro de Buen Amor as well as the playful set of fables known as El Libro de los Gatos.
Diversión y Juegos : a Tiempo para el Parque de Atracciones - Medición Del Tiempo (Fun and Games - Clockwork Carnival: Measuring Time). by
You've only got one day to spend at the carnival-how do you make the most of your time? Students will learn how to measure time while reading about a fun-filled day at a carnival! This fiction Spanish book uses real-world examples to teach math concepts, and incorporates nonfiction reading to increase vocabulary and comprehension skills. The challenging practice problems, graphs, and sidebars provide many opportunities for students to practice their developing math skills, and apply what they've learned to their daily lives. Essential text features like a glossary, index, and table of contents will increase students' interest level and their interaction with the text. Math Talk poses problems for further thinking, requiring students to use their higher-order thinking skills. Teaching math and reading has never been so seamlessly integrated-or so easy!
Diversión y Juegos : Despegue Al Campamento: Tiempo (Fun and Games: Blast off to Camp: Time). by
Have you ever wondered what Space Camp is like? Join Isabella as she moon walks through the Moon Room, takes a ride in a Multi-Axis Trainer, tackles the Mars Climbing Wall, and takes the helm at Mission Control. Along the way, you'll practice measuring time. This Spanish math book seamlessly integrates the teaching of math and reading, and uses real-world examples to teach math concepts. Text features include images, a glossary, an index, captions, and a table of contents to build students' vocabulary and reading comprehension skills as they interact with the text. The rigorous practice problems, sidebars, and math diagrams extend the learning experience and provide multiple opportunities for students to practice what they have learned. The Math Talk section provides an in-depth problem-solving experience to challenge higher-order thinking skills. Packed with fun facts, this informational text supports ESL students and STEM education.
Diversión y Juegos : Día de Campo: Comprensión de la Longitud (Fun and Games: Field Day: Understanding Length). by
A team of second grade students has been tasked with designing the layout for Field Day. They'll need to make sense of measurement in order to make sure that everything goes smoothly! Will Field day be a fun day, or will it be a flop? This Spanish math book seamlessly integrates the teaching of math and reading, and uses real-world examples to teach math concepts. Text features include images, a glossary, an index, captions, and a table of contents to build students' vocabulary and reading comprehension skills as they interact with the text. The rigorous practice problems, sidebars, and math diagrams extend the learning experience and provide multiple opportunities for students to practice what they have learned. The Math Talk section provides an in-depth problem-solving experience to challenge higher-order thinking skills. Packed with fun facts, this informational text supports ESL students and STEM education.
George Washington (Spanish Version) ebook by
Language: Spanish.
Follow the life of George Washington as he makes his way from being a farmer to the first president of the United States of America. Readers will learn all about his interesting and inspiring life in this engaging biography that features informational, Spanish-translated text, vibrant, detailed images and a timeline of Washington's life.
iGracias, Plantas! Thank You, Plants by
Introduces Young Readers To The Many Important Uses Of Plants.
La España Que Sobrevive by
The final quarter of the twentieth century has been marked by an encouraging political trend worldwide. Totalitarian regimes of both the left and the right have given way to democracies in several countries. In some cases, the transitions from dictatorship to democracy have been accomplished quite peacefully and with a mínimum of disruption (Spain, Chile, Poland). In other instances impatience or intransigence has led to traumatic conditions and to devastating conflicts (Russia, Yugoslavia). This book deals with one of the earliest examples of this trend towards democratizaron; the very successful gradual change from dictatorship to democracy in Spain
La vida marina by
From tide pools to the ocean, the sea is filled with amazing life forms! Early readers will be engaged from beginning to end with informational, Spanish-translated text, vivid photos, and a picture glossary of marine animals.
The Little Red Hen (la Gallinita Roja) by
In this beloved tale, the Little Red Hen makes delicious bread that her lazy friends can't resist. Children will eagerly continue reading to see what she will do when everyone wants a taste! This title, retold in English and Spanish, is an excellent skill-builder for reading and foreign language comprehension. Between the covers of this 32-page book is a classic tale of magic, imagination, and inspiration that delights children again and again. The stories in this series capture children's interest and spark their imagination page after page. With captivating illustrations, this 8" x 8" book can inspire a lifelong love for literature and reading
Temporada de Calabazas : Pumpkin Time by
Introduces Young Readers To The Life Cycle Of A Pumpkin.
That's Not Fair! / ¡No Es Justo! by
A vivid depiction of the early injustices encountered by a young Mexican-American girl in San Antonio in the 1920's, this book tells the true story of Emma Tenayuca. Emma learns to care deeply about poverty and hunger during a time when many Mexican Americans were starving to death and working unreasonably long hours at slave wages in the city's pecan-shelling factories. Through astute perception, caring, and personal action, Emma begins to get involved and eventually, at the age of 21, leads 12,000 workers in the first significant historical action in the Mexican-American struggle for justice. Emma Tenayuca's story serves as a model for young and old alike about courage, compassion, and the role everyone can play in making the world fairer. Una representación vívida de las injusticias con las que se encuentra una joven mexicano-americana en San Antonio en las décadas de 1920 y 1930, este libro cuenta la historia verdadera de Emma Tenayuca. Emma aprende a preocuparse por la pobreza y el hambre durante una época cuando muchos mexicano-americanos se morían de inanición y trabajaban horas excesivamente largas por sueldos exiguos en las fábricas de pacana. A través de percepción perspicaz, un buen corazón y acción personal, Emma empieza a involucrarse y al final, a los 21 años, lleva a 12.000 trabajadores a tomar acción por la primera vez en la historia de la lucha mexicano-americana por la justicia. El relato de Emma Tenayuca sirve de modelo para tanto los jóvenes como los adultos sobre el valor, la compasión y el papel que puede desempeña quienquiera en hacer más justo el mundo.
Voces Femeninas de Hispanoamerica by
Voces Femeninas de Hispanoamerica presents in one volume a selection of the most representative and outstanding writing by Latin American women writers from the seventeenth century to the present. Designed as a text for third and fourth-year students, the selections, writers' biographies, historical introduction, and appendixes are entirely in Spanish, with notes to help students with difficult words or passages.
The eBooks listed below are available online for the HPU community. Click on the title or image to access the title. You can search for more eBooks by using HPU Discovery. To access the Libraries' electronic resources off-campus, please logon to my.hpu.edu.
Colloquial Spanish of Latin America 2 : The Next Step in Language Learning by
Do you know Latin American Spanish already and want to go a stage further? If you're planning a visit to South America, need to brush up your Latin American Spanish for work, or are simply doing a course, Colloquial Spanish of Latin America 2 is the ideal way to refresh your knowledge of the language and extend your skills. Colloquial Spanish of Latin America 2 is designed to help those involved in self-study. Structured to give you the opportunity to listen to and read lots of modern, everyday Latin American Spanish, it has been developed to work systematically on reinforcing and extending your grasp of the grammar and vocabulary. Key features of Colloquial Spanish of Latin America 2 include: · Revision material to help consolidate and build up your basics · Lots of spoken and written exercises in each unit · A grammar reference and detailed answer keys · Extensive Spanish/English and English/Spanish glossaries · Supplementary exercises and Latin American Spanish web-links at routledge.com/colloquials/spanishlatinamerica.
Gramática Simple by
Este libro es parte de la colección e-Libro en BiblioBoard.
A Political History of Spanish : The Making of a Language by 
Spanish All-in-One For Dummies by
Your comprehensive guide to speaking, reading, and writing in Spanish! Want to speak Spanish? Looking to improve your Spanish skills? Now you can start today with these minibooks, which give you the expert instruction you need to master Spanish basics and beyond. From numbers and vocabulary to common phrases, conversations, and much more, you'll see how to communicate effectively in Spanish and use it in real-life situations. The practical exercises will give you greater confidence -- and the bonus CD helps you start speaking Spanish from day one! Warm up with the basics -- handle greetings and small talk and review pronunciation rules, letters, numbers, and dates Speak in everyday settings -- handle greetings and small talk, order food and purchase goods, talk on the phone, ask for directions, and deal with emergencies Grasp grammar essentials -- learn to identify and use the various parts of speech while you conjugate verbs in the simple past, present, and future tense Stretch your skills -- issue commands with the imperative mood, take action on object pronouns, talk about yourself with the reflexive, and wish and hope with the subjunctive Take Spanish to work -- communicate with colleagues or customers at the office, tailor phrases to your line of work, and review example workplace scenarios for common professions Open the book and find: Basic and advanced Spanish grammar Pronunciation tips and vocabulary charts Verb conjugations for regular and irregular verbs Masculine and feminine nouns Tips for using adjectives, adverbs, and prepositional phrases Proper ways to ask questions The inside scoop on the key verb haber Key phrases for numerous work environments Spanish-to-English and English-to-Spanish dictionaries Bonus CD Includes Features dialogues by native Spanish speakers Allows you to hear Spanish as it's really spoken Please see the CD appendix for details and complete system requirements. Note: CD-ROM/DVD and other supplementary materials are not included as part of eBook file.
Spanish Fundamentals. 1, Grammar by
Covering the basics of Spanish grammar, our guide describes the various parts of speech in Spanish, and their uses in sentences. The guide also covers several other basic grammar topics.
Spanish Fundamentals. 2, Vocabulary by
The guide presents beginning Spanish vocabulary and expressions that students can use in everyday situations inside and outside of the classroom. Whenever possible, the themes are introduced with a question that prompts use of the vocabulary words and encourages communication.
Spanish Fundamentals. 3, Verbs by
An introduction to Spanish verbs, our guide covers the basic components of a verb and explains how conjugation works in Spanish. Presenting rules and examples for conjugating, this guide also provides lists of common verbs that have similar conjugations.
Spanish Fundamentals. 4, Speaking & writing by
Our guide is designed to enhance students' ability to speak and write in Spanish. The speaking section includes a pronunciation chart, as well as mini-conversation frames based on everyday situations and topics, with word choices that allow students to personalize the conversations. The writing section describes the different sentence types and structures in Spanish, along with their uses, and guides students through the writing process to help them complete a descriptive paragraph.
Spanish Grammar by
BarCharts' best-selling Spanish Grammar guide has been updated and expanded Learn the basics of Spanish grammar in our easily accessible format. Covering everything from rules of stress to the various verb categories and conjugations, this handy reference guide will help you master the hard-to-remember rules of Spanish grammar. This new edition features an additional panel of information, including more examples for easy comprehension.
The Spanish Language of New Mexico and Southern Colorado : A Linguistic Atlas by
This linguistic exploration delves into the language as it is spoken by the Hispanic population of New Mexico and southern Colorado.
Spanish Verbs - Conjugations by
The key to learning the Spanish language is the ability to conjugate Spanish verbs. This 6-page laminated guide offers easy-to-read tables of conjugations for the 15 verb tenses and moods, with the changes bolded for quick reference. Sixty verbs and their meanings are included, with the irregular tenses and moods listed for each verb. Using the example conjugations, this guide becomes a powerful key to unlocking Spanish for communication. Suggested uses: * Students - a very lightweight, inexpensive grade-booster that can be slipped between your notebook pages for quick and easy answers * Teachers - Inexpensive classroom tool * Travelers - Being flat, laminated and with conjugations being easy to find, this is a great travel buddy
Upgrade Your Spanish by
Upgrade your Spanish is the ideal guide for students wanting a better grade in their Spanish exams. It offers a thirty day revision programme that is guaranteed to improve your results. In the countdown to exams, students should simply spend between 30 minutes to an hour a day with this book, and see their mark go up a grade This short revision guide focuses on three key strategies for improving your exam results: 1) Eliminating basic errors and slips of the pen; 2) Increasing and consolidating your vocabulary; 3) Moving on from school-book Spanish.
Borderlands : the new mestiza = La frontera by
"Rooted in Gloria Anzaldúa's experience as a Chicana, a lesbian, an activist, and a writer, the groundbreaking essays and poems in this volume profoundly challenged how we think about identity. Borderlands/La Frontera remapped our understanding of what a "border" is, seeing it not as a simple divide between here and there, us and them, but as a psychic, social, and cultural terrain that we inhabit, and that inhabits all of us." Second edition of Gloria Anzaldua's major work, with a new critical introduction by Chicano Studies scholar and new reflections by Anzaldua.
La Casa de Bernarda Alba by
The Focus Student Editions are designed for Spanish language courses in literature and culture. Prepared with non-native Spanish speakers in mind, these editions include an introduction (in Spanish), the complete work, and linguistic and cultural notes in Spanish, a current bibliography and study questions. This Focus student edition is a Spanish drama of women in the villages of Spain. The play centers on the events of a house in Andalusia during a period of mourning, in which Bernarda Alba wields total control over her five daughters.
Lazarillo de Tormes by
Summary: "This is the first scholarly edition of David Rowland of Anglesey's 1586 translation of Lazarillo de Tormes (1554). The purpose is to make available one of the most important and influential translations into early modern English, which has had a profound effect upon the evolution of English prose fiction and the characterization of English Renaissance drama." "Lazarillo de Tormes was one of the first early modern Europe wide best-sellers. Ostensibly a racy autobiography of a young rogue and his succession of masters, in reality it is a comical and caustic expose of sixteenth century Spanish society, and especially the Church. Rowland's translation exploited the propaganda potential of the text at a time when England and Spain drifted into open war. Lazarillo de Tormes is a key Renaissance humanist text and a formative influence upon European rogue literature and the evolution of realist prose fiction. Keith Whitlock has written a full introduction from a European perspective and provided a comprehensive annotation of the Tudor English."
Madwomen : The Locas Mujeres Poems of Gabriela Mistral, a Bilingual Edition by
A schoolteacher whose poetry catapulted her to early fame in her native Chile and an international diplomat whose boundary-defying sexuality still challenges scholars, Gabriela Mistral (1889-1957) is one of the most important and enigmatic figures in Latin American literature of the last century. The Locas mujeres poems collected here are among Mistral's most complex and compelling, exploring facets of the self in extremis-poems marked by the wound of blazing catastrophe and its aftermath of mourning. From disquieting humor to balladlike lyricism to folkl.
Rainy Days / Short Stories by Contemporary Spanish Women Writers = Dias de Lluvia. by
SummaryThis anthology collects sixteen stories by contemporary Spanish women writers: Pilar Cibreiro, Cristina Fernández Cubas, Paloma Díaz-Mas, Adelaida García Morales, Lourdes Ortiz, Laura Freixas, Marina Mayoral, Mercedes Abad, Rosa Montero, Maruja Torres, Soledad Puértolas, María Eugenia Salaverri, Nuria Amat, Juana Salabert, Luisa Castro and Berta Marsé. The stories are in the original Spanish and with facing-page English translations, and comprehensive bio-bibliographical information on each author is also included in the volume.
Tomas Rivera Complete Works (English and Spanish) by
Tomas Rivera quite possibly has been the most influential voice in Chicano literature. In addition to his masterpiece,... y no se lo trago la tierra/...And the Earth Did Not Devour Him, included here is the sum total of his published works, in English and Spanish, as well as many that never made print in his lifetime.
Water Lilies = Flores del Agua : An Anthology of Spanish Women Writers from the Fifteenth through the Nineteenth Century by
A dazzling sampler of writing by Spanish women. These hard-to-find works, most translated for the first time, are printed on facing pages in Spanish and English and located within a critical, biographical, and historical overview.
Yerma (Spanish text with facing-page translation, introduction and notes.) by
One of Lorca's best known plays tells the story of a young peasant wife in rural Spain whose sole conscious desire is to embody what she regards as the natural, moral and social laws governing her life as a woman in motherhood. The tragedy of Yerma, which literally means 'barren', in this powerful and emotive drama, is that she remains childless and so is denied the dignity and the emotional fulfilment which traditionally only the role of mother could bring. The frustration of Yerma's maternal instinct, the only acceptable channel for her sexuality in her repressive society, leads her through humiliation and despair to an erosion of her whole personality which culminates at the end of the play in violence and death. It is not only the strong feminist theme that accounts for the play's great popular appeal today. With the highly charged emotion are blended poetic imagery and lyricism which haunt the imagination of modern audiences as much as those of fifty years ago when Lorca was murdered. Spanish text with facing-page translation, introduction and notes.
The Aba Spanish Legal Phrasebook by
This unique, quick and easy reference guide is written to bridge the communication gap between non-Spanish-speaking legal professionals and non-attorney Spanish-speakers.
An introduction to Spanish for health care workers : communication and culture by
Now in its fourth edition, this widely used textbook is designed for students with little or no formal background in Spanish. Using DVD videos, readings, exercises, and activities such as role play and improvisation, it introduces the grammar structures and specialized medical vocabulary and colloquial terms that nurses, doctors, dentists, and allied health professionals need to communicate effectively with the growing Spanish-speaking population. In addition, rich cultural notes explain Latino customs and communication styles. NEW TO THE FOURTH EDITION: • Embellished full-color design with 174 illustrations and 275 classroom activities • Expanded lexicon, condensed grammar, and more target-language content • Audio program that can be accessed via QR codes in the text • A companion Web site with self-correcting quizzes, downloadable graphics, and classroom activity sheets
Medical Spanish for Nurses : A Self-Teaching Guide by
Designed for those with no previous experience speaking Spanish, this guide provides nurses, other medical professionals, and students with the tools to communicate with Spanish-speaking patients. Online audio is available to provide correct pronunciation and prepare learners for a wide array of medical situations. Using a step-by-step approach with plenty of examples, the text enables readers to quickly develop their Spanish knowledge. Question and response scenarios, vocabulary quizzes, anatomy identifi cation, summary exercises, and dialogue reinforce and expedite learning.Chapters provide appropriate Spanish vocabulary, terminology, and expressions commonly used in health care interactions--as well as likely patient responses--to prepare readers for conversational Spanish. Key sections enable readers to speak with confi dence while taking a patient's history, assessing pain, conducting a physical assessment, and talking about nutrition and pediatric and adult illnesses. Tips on cultural competence are featured throughout, culminating in a comprehensive chapter on transcultural nursing and the impact of culture, belief systems, and social norms on health care delivery to diverse Spanish-speaking populations.Key Features:Requires no previous knowledge of SpanishFocuses on Spanish words and phrases needed in common health care interactions with patientsIncludes multiple interactive print and audio exercises to enhance learningGives print and audio examples of common patient responsesIncludes examples of common conversations between health care professionals and patientsProvides scripted dialogues for conducting a complete history and physical exam, performing gynecological exams, and teaching scenarios for fetal development, pregnancy, breast exams, testicular exams, and contraception
Rainy Days / Short Stories by Contemporary Spanish Women Writers = Dias de Lluvia. by
SummaryThis anthology collects sixteen stories by contemporary Spanish women writers: Pilar Cibreiro, Cristina Fernández Cubas, Paloma Díaz-Mas, Adelaida García Morales, Lourdes Ortiz, Laura Freixas, Marina Mayoral, Mercedes Abad, Rosa Montero, Maruja Torres, Soledad Puértolas, María Eugenia Salaverri, Nuria Amat, Juana Salabert, Luisa Castro and Berta Marsé. The stories are in the original Spanish and with facing-page English translations, and comprehensive bio-bibliographical information on each author is also included in the volume.
Chile - Culture Smart! : The Essential Guide to Customs & Culture by 
Costa Rica - Culture Smart! : The Essential Guide to Culture & Customs by 
The Hispanic American Experience by
Supplemented with quotes and engaging articles from USA TODAY, the Nation's No. 1 Newspaper, The Hispanic American Experience shines a spotlight on Hispanic Americans and their many exciting contributions to American society. From musicians and artists to actors and athletes, Hispanic Americans enrich American life. Writers such as novelist Sandra Cisneros and playwright Luis Valdez offer insights into social issues and the diverse cultural lives of Hispanic Americans. Baseball superstar Roberto Clemente shared his athletic prowess and belief in charitable giving with the world, supporting poverty-stricken people throughout Latin America until his tragic death in a plane crash in 1972. Outstanding Olympic swimmer Dara Torres wowed the crowds when, at the age of forty-one, she won three silver medals at the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing, China. Singers Carlos Santana and Christina Aguilera became pop music sensations, singing in both Spanish and English and climbing music charts in the United States and around the world. Read this informative title to learn more about how Hispanic Americans contribute to the United States' cultural mosaic, enriching our nation with a wide range of traditions, customs, and life experiences.
Passport Mexico : Your Pocket Guide to Mexican Business, Customs & Etiquette by 
Passport Spain : Your Pocket Guide to Spanish Business, Customs and Etiquette by 
The Seven Keys to Communicating in Mexico: An Intercultural Approach by 
Spain - Culture Smart! : The Essential Guide to Customs & Culture by 
Spain Society & Culture Complete Report : An All-Inclusive Profile Combining All of Our Society and Culture Reports by 
