Contents on this page
The Chinese Collection is located at the Library at Waterfront (Downtown Campus) in the Hawaiian and Modern Languages Collection, which is organized in alphabetical order by language. These books have a “Chinese” label at the top edge of their spines. "Easy Reading" titles are designated with a red dot on the spine of the book.
Browsing the Libraries' shelves: You may wish to simply look at the books on the shelves.
Chinese language PL1001-1960
Chinese literature PL2250-3208
The books listed below are in the Hawaiian and Modern Languages Collection. Click on the title or image for a link to its entry in HPU Discovery. Use the call number to find the book in the stacks. You can search for more books in our library using HPU Discovery. To access the Libraries' electronic resources off-campus, please logon to my.hpu.edu.
A Golden Millet Dream by
Golden Millet Dream is a story about a poor, unhappy scholar who fell asleep while waiting for his lunch. He dreamt he became a high official and enjoyed a life of wealth and comfort, only to wake up and find that the pot of millet was still cooking for him on the fire.
Sing Chinese II by
Based on a performance by the Students' Arts Ensemble of Peking University, this book includes 25 of China's most loved folk songs. All of the songs were selected by the authors & arranged in four sections that evoke themes of life & the progression of time.
Yu Gong Removed the Mountain by
Yugong and his family and friends are so persistent in their efforts to tear down two huge mountains that are blocking their way that when the mountain god complains to god in heaven about them, god takes pity on Yugong and sends two other gods to carry the mountains away.
Dragon's Tears by
Chun Li's troubles begin when he releases a golden fish and gets rewarded with a magic pearl.
The eBooks listed below are available online for the HPU community. Click on the title or image to access the title. You can search for more eBooks by using HPU Discovery. To access the Libraries' electronic resources off-campus, please logon to my.hpu.edu.
Basic Mandarin Chinese - Reading & Writing Textbook : An Introduction to Written Chinese for Beginners (DVD Included) by
A complete beginning-level course for written Mandarin Chinese designed to teach you to read and write Mandarin quickly and efficiently! The Basic Mandarin Chinese series offers a complete introductory course superior to any other language product for Chinese. These books teach spoken and written Chinese separately, allowing you to focus on the area most important to you, and to learn the spoken and written forms of Chinese at different speeds depending on your available time and interest. The free audio recordings included with this book reinforce the content and make the learning process easy. Whether you're learning Mandarin for work, travel or other reasons--the Basic Mandarin Chinese approach of having two separate but integrated'tracks'helps you to learn the language more efficiently and more successfully. Key features of this Chinese textbook and online material include: Learn to read and write the 288 highest-frequency characters and over 700 words Designed to have you reading and writing simple, connected Chinese sentences quickly Both simplified and traditional characters are taught; you may choose to learn either or both Features a variety of fonts and styles--typeset and handwritten--preparing you to use Chinese characters in different contexts, from reading signs to texting on your phone The online material included with this book includes over 6 hours of audio recordings by various native speakers, including recordings of all the reading selections, new characters, and vocabulary. This textbook is designed to be used in conjunction with the Basic Mandarin Chinese--Reading & Writing Practice Book which provides a range of drills and exercises designed to enhance your proficiency in reading and writing Mandarin Chinese quickly.
Basic Mandarin Chinese - Speaking & Listening Textbook : An Introduction to Spoken Mandarin for Beginners (Audio and Video Downloads Included) by
A complete beginning-level course for spoken Mandarin Chinese designed to have you talking quickly and accurately! The Basic Mandarin Chinese series offers a complete introductory Chinese language course specifically designed for native English speakers. These books teach spoken and written Chinese separately, allowing you to focus on the area most important to you, and to learn the spoken and written forms of Chinese at different speeds depending on your available time and interest. The free audio and video recordings included with this book reinforce the content and make the learning process easy. No matter whether you're learning Mandarin for work, travel or other reasons--the Basic Mandarin Chinese approach of having two separate but integrated'tracks'helps you to learn the language more efficiently and more successfully. Key features of this Chinese textbook and discs include: Clear and detailed pronunciation, grammar and cultural explanations Exercises and activities based on real-life experiences in China Hours of video recordings filmed on location featuring dozens of native speakers in various parts of China and beyond Six hours of native-speaker audio recordings for all the book's dialogues and exercises Special software allowing you to interact with the recordings.This Mandarin textbook is designed to be used with its separately available workbook, Basic Mandarin Chinese--Speaking & Listening Practice Book which provides a range of drills and exercises designed to dramatically enhance your spoken proficiency and improve your Chinese language skills.
Beginning Mandarin Chinese Characters : Learn 300 Chinese Characters and 1200 Chinese Words Through Interactive Activities and Exercises (Ideal for HSK + AP Exam Prep) by
Learn the essential Mandarin Chinese characters and words in everyday use in China! Anyone planning to learn Chinese knows that there are 300 primary characters they must learn to function in China. This systematic introduction to Mandarin is designed to help you learn them fast--along with how to pronounce, write, and remember 1,200 key vocabulary words and phrases. Essential for anyone wishing to pass the official Chinese government HSK Level 1 & 2 proficiency exam or the Advanced Placement (AP) Chinese Language and Culture Exam, Beginning Mandarin Chinese Characters presents these 300 characters in a series of very simple and easy lessons that: The characters are grouped into themes with a warm-up narrative for each character Each character's pronunciation and meanings in combination with other characters are presented Exercises to practice recognizing the characters and using the vocabulary are provided Writing guides show you how to write each correctly Includes easy access to online native speaker audio recordings and free, printable flashcards
A Chinese Character a Day Practice Pad Volume 1 : Simplified Character Edition by 
The Chinese Classic of Family Reverence : A Philosophical Translation of the Xiaojing by
Few if any philosophical schools have championed family values as persistently as the early Confucians, and a great deal can be learned by attending to what they had to say on the subject. In the Confucian tradition, human morality and the personal realization it inspires are grounded in the cultivation of family feeling. One may even go so far as to say that, for China, family reverence was a necessary condition for developing any of the other human qualities of excellence. On the basis of the present translation of the Xiaojing (Classic of Family Reverence) and supplemental passages found in other early philosophical writings, Professors Rosemont and Ames articulate a specifically Confucian conception of "role ethics" that, in its emphasis on a relational conception of the person, is markedly different from most early and contemporary dominant Western moral theories. This Confucian role ethics takes as its inspiration the perceived necessity of family feeling as the entry point in the development of moral competence and as a guide to the religious life as well. In the lengthy introduction, two senior scholars offer their perspective on the historical, philosophical, and religious dimensions of the Xiaojing. Together with this introduction, a lexicon of key terms presents a context for the Xiaojing and provides guidelines for interpreting the text historically in China as well as suggesting its contemporary significance for all societies. The inclusion of the Chinese text adds yet another dimension to this important study. The Chinese Classic of Family Reverence is sure to appeal to specialists of comparative and Chinese philosophy and to all readers interested in the enduring importance of the family.
Chinese for Dummies by
The fast and easy way to learn to speak Mandarin Chinese China has become a major influence in the world today, and Mandarin Chinese is the world's most widely spoken language. Not only is China full of opportunities in business and politics, but Chinese culture, continues to make its way into the western world. With an updated CD including real-life conversations, Chinese For Dummies expands grammar, verb conjugations, and pronunciations--and includes a refreshed mini-dictionary complete with even more essential vocabulary. Basic vocabulary Everyday conversations, including phone dialogue and small talk Speaking in perfect pitch and tone Easy-to-understand grammar rules Getting around in a Chinese-speaking country Cultural references like maintaining face, dining etiquette, and social mores Also included is an audio CD that features actual Chinese conversations by native Chinese speakers, which allows you to hear how Chinese is really spoken. Written by a leading Chinese language teacher in the United States, Chinese for Dummies introduces an often-daunting language to you in a fun-and-easy For Dummies manner. CD-ROM/DVD and other supplementary materials are not included as part of the e-book file, but are available for download after purchase.
Chinese Grammar Made Easy : A practical and effective guide for teachers = Dui wai Han yu yu yan dian jiao xue 150 Li by
Chinese Grammar Made Easy presents instructors with innovative and classroom-tested techniques for teaching Chinese grammar. Its communicative, meaning-based approach helps teachers to engage students by bringing grammar into a practical, real-life context. As a reference for daily teaching, this book discusses 150 of the most fundamental and frequently used grammar points that students need to learn in order to communicate successfully. Each grammar point is accompanied by various learning activities to engage students and provide structured practice. Based on research conducted by a team of 25 experienced language teachers, Chinese Grammar Made Easy also offers: * Clear and concise explanations of grammar concepts, * Step-by-step teaching instructions, * A range of exercises to reinforce each grammar point. By providing pedagogical strategies, this book allows teachers to reflect on the effectiveness of their grammar instruction and to implement methods which fit the needs and interests of language learners.
Chinese Writing and Calligraphy by
This fully illustrated coursebook provides a comprehensive description of the history and practical techniques of Chinese calligraphy. No previous knowledge of the language is required to follow the text or complete the lessons. The work covers three major areas: 1) descriptions of Chinese characters and their components, including stroke types, layout patterns, and indications of sound and meaning; 2) basic brush techniques and the art of composing calligraphy pieces; and 3) the social, cultural, historical, and philosophical underpinnings of Chinese calligraphy--all of which are crucial to understanding and appreciating this art form. Students practice brush writing as they progress from tracing to copying to freehand writing. Model characters are marked to indicate meaning and stroke order, and well-known model phrases are shown in various script types, allowing students to practice different calligraphic styles. Beginners will find the author's advice on how to avoid common pitfalls in writing brush strokes invaluable. Chinese Writing and Calligraphy will be welcomed by both students and instructors in need of an accessible text on learning the fundamentals of the art of writing Chinese calligraphy.
Colloquial Chinese 2 : The Next Step in Language Learning by
This is designed for those who already have some knowledge of Chinese. It is ideal for refreshing and extending your grasp of Chinese grammar and vocabulary, either in preparation for travel or work. Key features include: revision material to help the consolidation of basics; Chinese texts presented in simplified characters and pinyin romanization; lessons based on practical everyday topics and supplemented by useful cultural notes; lots of spoken and written exercises in each lesson for practice and consolidation; a grammar summary, detailed answer key and Chinese-English glossary; supplementary learning resources at www.routledge.com/colloquials/chinese
Colloquial Chinese : The Complete Course for Beginners by
Colloquial Chinese: The Complete Course for Beginners has been carefully developed by an experienced teacher to provide a step-by-step course to Chinese as it is written and spoken today. Combining a clear, practical and accessible style with a methodical and thorough treatment of the language, it equips learners with the essential skills needed to communicate confidently and effectively in Chinese in a broad range of situations. No prior knowledge of the language is required. Colloquial Chineseis exceptional; each unit presents a wealth of grammatical points that are reinforced with a wide range of exercises for regular practice. A full answer key, a grammar summary, bilingual glossaries and English translations of dialogues can be found at the back as well as useful vocabulary lists throughout. Key features include: A clear, user-friendly format designed to help learners progressively build up their speaking, listening, reading and writing skills Jargon-free, succinct and clearly structured explanations of grammar An extensive range of focused and dynamic supportive exercises Realistic and entertaining dialogues covering a broad variety of narrative situations Helpful cultural points explaining the customs and features of life in China An overview of the sounds of Chinese Balanced, comprehensive and rewarding, Colloquial Chineseis an indispensable resource both for independent learners and students taking courses in Chinese. Audio material to accompany the course is available to download free in MP3 format from www.routledge.com/cw/colloquials. Recorded by native speakers, the audio material features the dialogues and texts from the book and will help develop your listening and pronunciation skills.
Continuing Mandarin Chinese Textbook : The Complete Language Course for Intermediate Learners by
Continuing Mandarin Chinese Textbook is a new intermediate-level course in Mandarin which enables you to quickly learn the next level of the language--following the first book in the series, Elementary Mandarin Chinese Textbook. The 24 lessons in this book are meant to be used in 3 hours per week of class instruction over one academic year. Students will need another 2-3 hours of outside practice and review for every hour of class time using the materials in the Continuing Mandarin Chinese Workbook that accompanies this textbook.These books can also be used by self-study learners due to the extensive explanations and free supplementary materials available including online audio and video recordings and flash cards.The entire course can be completed in 25 to 35 weeks and teaches you the basic skills of listening, speaking, reading and writing Mandarin Chinese at a conversational level. Each lesson starts with a dialogue and includes a list of new and supplementary vocabulary along with questions and grammar notes about the dialogue, a reading section and extensive exercises (that are in the Workbook).Continuing Mandarin Chinese Textbook offers the following significant advantages over other similar textbooks:Everyday Chinese dialogues are used for listening and practice -- complete with vocabulary lists and questions and storylines based on actual everyday experiences in ChinaChinese grammar is explained in simple, non-technical terms with useful notes and tips givenReading exercises are provided for all new words and phrases in each lessonFree online audio recordings by native speakers from various parts of China help you not only acquire correct pronunciation but also to understand Chinese speakers who have different accentsIllustrations and supplementary video clips add authenticity to the dialogues in the bookA Chinese-English dictionary is provided at the back for easy referenceChinese characters and Pinyin Romanized forms are used throughout the book except for the reading exercises--so this book is usable by learners who wish to focus on learning the spoken language and do not necessarily want to learn to read and write Chinese.This textbook should be used with the accompanying Continuing Mandarin Chinese Workbook and with the accompanying audio files, which can be downloaded free directly from the Tuttle website.
Continuing Mandarin Chinese Workbook : Learn to Speak, Read and Write Chinese the Easy Way! by
This workbook is designed to accompany the Continuing Mandarin Chinese Textbook and offers a wealth of carefully-designed practice activities to help you solidify every aspect of your Chinese skills in listening, speaking, reading, and writing. It includes copious drills, exercises, and other practice materials. Online audio and video files are available for use in the relevant exercises.The lessons in this workbook correspond to the 24 lessons in the Continuing Mandarin Chinese Textbook. The materials in this workbook are meant to be completed by students outside of class, to strengthen and consolidate their understanding of the materials in the textbook.Each lesson of the workbook contains two parts. Each part has two sets of listening comprehension exercises, one translation exercise, one character practice sheet, and one reading and writing exercise. Lessons 13 and 24 of the textbook are review lessons and therefore have no corresponding workbook materials.
Essential Mandarin Chinese Grammar : Write and Speak Chinese Like a Native! The Ultimate Guide to Everyday Chinese Usage by
Essential Mandarin Chinese Grammar is a systematic overview of Mandarin grammar, oriented toward self-study, English-speaking students.Through explanations of common mistakes learners make, useful example sentences and exercises with an answer key, this book provides a detailed introduction to the unique grammar structures of the Mandarin language.Ideal for any student who is interested in taking their skills to the next level, this book makes the difficult task of perfecting grammar efficient, interesting and rewarding. Essential Mandarin Chinese Grammar is a perfect tool to help you form correct and natural-sounding sentences, and determine how to best use the grammar you need for reading or writing Mandarin.Each example and exercise is written in both pinyin and Simplified Chinese Characters to accommodate learners with varying levels of character literacy, including those who have learned only to speak but not read.
Instant Chinese : How to Express over 1,000 Different Ideas with Just 100 Key Words and Phrases! (a Mandarin Chinese Language Phrasebook) by 
Intermediate Chinese Characters : Learn 300 Mandarin Characters and 1200 Words (Free Online Audio and Printable Flash Cards) Ideal for HSK + AP Exam Prep by
Learn the Mandarin Chinese characters and words in everyday use in China!This book helps you to quickly learn the intermediate-level Chinese characters you need to know if you want to live or work in China, or progress to the next level with your language skills.Alongside 1200 closely-related vocabulary and phrases, it presents the characters in a series of 20 easy lessons--giving clear pronunciations, English definitions and a writing guide showing you how the character is written.In this book, you'll find:300 characters grouped into themesA warm-up narrative for each lesson explaining how the characters in the lesson relate to the themeAll characters and vocabulary needed for the HSK Level 3 exam and the Advanced Placement (AP) Chinese Language and Culture ExamExercises that help you practice recognizing the characters and using the vocabulary to create sentencesReviews that provide a variety of drills and exercises to increase your proficiencyDownloadable online audio by native speakers to help with pronunciationPrintable flash cardsThis book is intended for intermediate learners (HSK Level 3). For HSK 1 & 2, see Beginning Mandarin Chinese Characters--the first book in this series.
Intermediate Written Chinese Practice Essentials : Read and Write Mandarin Chinese As the Chinese Do (Downloadable Audio and Material Included) by
Learning to read and write Chinese requires lots of practice. This unique practice guide can be used with any Chinese textbook or on its own to enhance your proficiency in reading and writing Mandarin Chinese. Intermediate Written Chinese Practice Essentials offers a wealth of carefully-designed exercises and activities to help you develop every aspect of your reading and writing ability: Character writing practice sheets, character identification and sentence punctuation exercises. Sictation, fill-in-the-blank and dialog completion exercises. Writing and reading activities based on train schedules, photographs, restaurant menus, street signs, name cards and many other commonly encountered texts. Translation and writing exercises--Answering questions, map reading, converting written style to spoken style. The downloadable audio provides Over 16 hours of native-speaker recordings for dictation practice Printable flash cards hundreds of additional pages of Chinese exercises and activities Together with or after this book, you can use Basic Spoken Chinese if you want to learn fluent spoken Mandarin. About the Series: Respected Chinese language expert Dr. Cornelius Kubler, who has taught diplomats, business people and students, presents a learning system that uses separate but integrated "tracks" to help you efficiently master the basics of spoken and written Chinese. The materials in this series allow you to move from complete beginner level to basic fluency.
Jimmy Du’s Essential Chinese : Jimmy Du’s Natural Language Works by
As the first self-teaching course in Jimmy DuOCOs Natural Language Works, Jimmy DuOCOs Essential Chinese is an audio-companion book specially designed to help you master Mandarin Chinese in the shortest time possible. The promise is that you will simply pick it up if you just spend a little time following this course while relaxing at home, taking a walk, commuting to work or travelling. You donOCOt have to sit in a classroom, consult the dictionary, study grammar or do any written exercises. Thi..."
Learning Chinese Characters : (HSK Levels 1 -3) A Revolutionary New Way to Learn and Remember the 800 Most Basic Chinese Characters by
This user–friendly book is aimed at helping students of Mandarin Chinese learn and remember Chinese characters. At last—there is a truly effective and enjoyable way to learn Chinese characters! This book helps students to learn and remember both the meanings and the pronunciations of over 800 characters. This otherwise daunting task is made easier by the use of techniques based on the psychology of leaning and memory. key principles include the use of visual imagery, the visualization of short "stories," and the systematic building up of more complicated characters from basic building blocks. Key features: Specially designed pictures and stories are used in a structured way to make the learning process more enjoyable and effective, reducing the need for rote learning to the absolute minimum. The emphasis throughout is on learning and remembering the meanings and pronunciations of the characters. Tips are also included on learning techniques and how to avoid common problems. Characters are introduced in a logical sequence, which also gives priority to learning the most common characters first. Modern simplified characters are used, with pronunciations given in pinyin. Key information is given for each character, including radical, stroke–count, traditional form, compounds, and guidance on writing the character.
Learning Chinese Language and Culture, Intermediate Chinese Textbook, Volume 1 by 
Learning Chinese Language and Culture, Intermediate Chinese Textbook, Volume 2 by
Learning Chinese Language and Culture is an intermediate level textbook, which was intended to be used throughout the entire school year and designed mainly for students who have completed introductory courses of Chinese as a foreign language. Written in English, Traditional and Simplified Chinese, this book illustrates Chinese language knowledge and introduces Chinese culture in twentytwo lessons, covering a variety of cultural content, including customs and manners, holidays and festivals, poems and idioms, calligraphy and couplets, myths and legends, feng shui and superstitions, and historical relics and sceneries and many others. In every lesson, the authors have strived to maintain a clear topic and a coherent structure. They have also endeavored to keep the contents lively and achieve a fluent writing style while closely controlling the structure and grammar of every lesson.
Learning Mandarin Chinese Characters Volume 2 : The Quick and Easy Way to Learn Chinese Characters! (HSK Level 2 and AP Study Exam Prep Book) by
Reinforce your written Chinese with this practice book for the best-selling Tuttle Learning Chinese Characters. Learning Mandarin Chinese Characters helps students quickly learn the essential Chinese characters that are fundamental to the language. This character workbook is intended for self-study or classroom use and presents 135 high-frequency characters and over 405 prevalent words using these characters. These are the characters and words students need to know if they plan to take the official Chinese government HSK Level 2 Exam or the Advanced Placement (AP) Chinese Language and Culture Exam. Each character is presented in a straightforward way. A step-by-step diagram shows how to write the character and boxes are provided for freehand writing practice. The meaning and pronunciation are given along with the key vocabulary compounds and an example sentence. Review exercises reinforce the learning process, and an index at the back allows you to look up the characters according to their English meanings or romanized Hanyu Pinyin pronunciation. Key features of this Chinese workbook include: Designed for HSK Level 1 and AP exam prep Learn the 135 most written Chinese characters Example sentences and over 405 vocabulary items Step-by-step writing diagrams and practice boxes
Making Out in Chinese : Revised Edition (Mandarin Chinese Phrasebook) by
Making Out in Chinese is a fun, accessible and thorough Mandarin Chinese phrase book and guide to the Mandarin Chinese language as it's really spoken. Wo xiang geng liao jie ni. You kong ma? (I want to know more about you. Do you have free time?) Answer this correctly in Chinese and you may be going on a date. Incorrectly, and you could be hurting someone's feelings or getting a slap Mandarin Chinese classes, textbooks and Mandarin phrasebooks tend to spend a lot of time rehearsing for the same fictitious scenarios but chances are while in China you will spend a lot more time trying to make new friends or start new romances something you may not be prepared for. If you are a student, businessman or tourist traveling to China or Taiwan and would like to have an authentic and meaningful experience, the key is being able to speak like a local. This friendly and easy-to-use Mandarin phrasebook makes this possible. Making Out in Chinese has been carefully designed to act as a guide to modern colloquial Mandarin Chinese for use in everyday informal interactions giving access to the sort of catchy Chinese expressions that aren't covered in traditional language materials. As well as the Romanized forms (hanyu pinyin), each expression is given in authentic Chinese characters (zhong wen), so that in the case of difficulties the book can be shown to the person the user is trying to communicate with. In addition, phonetic spellings are also given making speaking Mandarin a breeze. For example, "Who?" shei? is also given as shay? This Chinese phrasebook includes: A guide to pronouncing Chinese words correctly, including a complete guide to Chinese tonesAn explanation of tensesRomanized forms of words and phrases (hanyu pinyin)Complete Chinese translations of all words and phrasesUseful and interesting notes on Japanese language and cultureLots of colorful, fun and useful expressions not covered in other phrasebooks Titles in this unique series of bestselling phrase books include: Making Out in Chinese, Making Out in Indonesian, Making Out in Thai, Making Out in Korean, Making Out in Hindi, Making Out in Japanese, Making Out in Vietnamese, Making Out in Burmese, Making Out in Tagalog, Making Out in Hindi, Making Out in Arabic, Making Out in English, More Making Out in Korean, and More Making Out in Japanese. "
Mandarin Chinese Characters Language Practice Pad : Learn Mandarin Chinese in Just a Few Minutes Per Day! (Fully Romanized) by
Five minutes a day is all it takes to begin learning Chinese! The perfect guide for busy people who want to learn Chinese, Mandarin Chinese Characters Language Practice Pad helps even those completely unfamiliar with the language learn and write the 332 most essential Chinese characters--in just five minutes a day! Each page introduces one new character--showing how it is pronounced and written, along with its meaning and related vocabulary. The reverse side offers sample phrases and sentences to demonstrate how to use the words in their correct context. After studying the character and its compound forms, users can practice writing these in a notebook, with the ability to reference the mnemonic visual aids and stroke order included on each page. This is an ideal resource for HSK Levels 1 & 2 as well as AP Chinese Language and Culture Exam prep.
Mandarin Chinese Characters Made Easy : (HSK Levels 1-3) Learn 1,000 Chinese Characters the Fun and Easy Way (Includes Downloadable Audio) by
This highly-visual book introduces an effective new method for learning Chinese characters using visual stimuli and pictographs. Learning the basic characters used to write even simple Chinese sentences can be a long and arduous process. Chinese Characters Made Easy makes the learning process fun and easy by presenting the 1,000 most common characters using a new mnemonic approach that associates each character with a memorable visual and verbal clue--making memorization easy. The character for person, for example, is superimposed over a sketch of a man representing "a person standing on two legs"--drawing the reader's attention to the distinctive shape of the character and associating the sketch with the character's meaning. Key features of Chinese Characters Made Easy include: Downloadable audio recordings of native-speaker pronunciations for all the characters An introduction to the history and structure of the Chinese writing system 1,000 characters and over 3,000 words for beginning learners of Chinese This Chinese character book's visual approach is a powerful learning tool. It can be used by serious students and is entertaining and useful to general readers who are curious about how the Chinese writing system works and how it developed.
Reading and Writing Chinese : Third Edition, HSK All Levels (2,633 Chinese Characters and 5,000+ Compounds) by 
Reading and Writing Chinese Simplified Character Edition : (HSK Levels 1 - 4) by
Reading and Writing Chinese has been the best-selling standard reference text for foreign students and teachers of Chinese for the last 25 years. Now completely revised with modern (simplified) characters, it draws on the lesons learned from the use for the book in classrooms to provide a convenient and up-to-date introduction to the Chinese writing system. Materials are organized in units of progressive difficulty and complexity, with clear definitions of the individual characters presented in a logical and systematical sequence. For each of the basic 1,067 characters, the pronunciation and core meanings are given, along with examples of its use in common compounds and a stroke-order diagram showing how to write it correctly. Memorization tips and cross-references to look-alike characters are also provided. Charts of modern and traditional radicals, necessary to look up words in comprehensive Chinese dictionaries, are printed inside the front and back covers.
Survival Chinese: How to Communicate Without Fuss or Fear Instantly! (a Mandarin Chinese Language Phrasebook) by 
Teaching and Learning Chinese As a Foreign Language by 
Using Chinese : A Guide to Contemporary Usage by
This 2009 book is a guide to Chinese usage for students who have already acquired the basics of the language and wish to extend their knowledge. Unlike conventional grammars, it addresses many aspects of Chinese language usage, such as letter writing, idioms, proverbs, and riddles. It also provides new and recent words, including internet vocabulary, which enables students to understand and properly use the most up-to-date expressions alongside everyday language. Useful sections on common social interactions are included, along with an invaluable guide to the finer nuances of body language. Clear, readable, and easy to consult, this is an essential reference for learners seeking access to one of the world's most important languages.
The eBooks listed below are available online for the HPU community. Click on the title or image to access the title. You can search for more eBooks by using HPU Discovery. To access the Libraries' electronic resources off-campus, please logon to my.hpu.edu.
Advanced Reader of Contemporary Chinese Short Stories : Reflections on Humanity by 
The Analects by
For the first time in one volume, The Analects illustrated by bestselling cartoonist C. C. Tsai C. C. Tsai is one of Asia's most popular cartoonists, and his editions of the Chinese classics have sold more than 40 million copies in over twenty languages. This volume presents Tsai's delightful graphic adaptation of The Analects, one of the most influential books of all time and a work that continues to inspire countless readers today. Tsai's expressive drawings bring Confucius and his students to life as no other edition of the Analects does. See Confucius engage his students over the question of how to become a leader worth following in a society of high culture, upward mobility, and vicious warfare. Which virtues should be cultivated, what makes for a harmonious society, and what are the important things in life? Unconcerned with religious belief but a staunch advocate of tradition, Confucius emphasizes the power of society to create sensitive, respectful, and moral individuals. In many ways, Confucius speaks directly to modern concerns--about how we can value those around us, educate the next generation, and create a world in which people are motivated to do the right thing. A marvelous introduction to a timeless classic, this book also features an illuminating foreword by Michael Puett, coauthor of The Path: What Chinese Philosophers Can Teach Us about the Good Life. In addition, Confucius's original Chinese text is artfully presented in narrow sidebars on each page, enriching the books for readers and students of Chinese without distracting from the self-contained English-language cartoons. The text is skillfully translated by Brian Bruya, who also provides an introduction.
The Art of War by
A delightfully illustrated version of Sunzi's classic The Art of War by bestselling cartoonist C. C. Tsai C. C. Tsai is one of Asia's most popular cartoonists, and his editions of the Chinese classics have sold more than 40 million copies in over twenty languages. This volume presents Tsai's delightful graphic adaptation of Sunzi's Art of War, the most profound book on warfare and strategy ever written--a work that continues to be read as a handbook for success not just by military commanders but also by leaders in politics, business, and many other fields. Conceived by a Chinese warrior-philosopher some 2,500 years ago, The Art of War speaks to those aspiring to rise through the ranks and help build successful countries. How can that goal best be achieved, and what is the role of warfare, if any, in the process? What are the powers and limits of the general in command? How can you win without going to war? Sunzi's answers to these and other questions are brought to life as never before by Tsai's brilliant cartoons, which show Sunzi fighting on dangerous ground, launching a surprise attack, spying on his enemies, and much more. A marvelously rich introduction to a timeless classic, this book also features a foreword by Lawrence Freedman, one of the world's leading authorities on military strategy, which illuminates how The Art of War has influenced Western strategic thought. In addition, Sunzi's original Chinese text is artfully presented in narrow sidebars on each page, enriching the books for readers and students of Chinese without distracting from the self-contained English-language cartoons. The text is skillfully translated by Brian Bruya, who also provides an introduction.
Chinese Stories for Language Learners : A Treasury of Proverbs and Folktales in Chinese and English by
The highly anticipated next book in Tuttle's Stories for Language Learners series is here! This book presents 22 classic Chinese proverbs and the traditional tales behind them. The stories are bilingual, with the Chinese and English versions presented on facing pages. Each includes an explanation of how the proverb is used today, cultural notes, vocabulary and discussion questions. Online audio recordings of the tales by native speakers give students a chance to improve their pronunciation and comprehension. Some of the proverbs featured in this collection include: "Painting the Eyes on the Dragon" Based on the story of a famous court painter in 6th century China who painted dragons, this proverb refers to the finishing touches needed to bring a work of art or literature to life. In a discussion, it refers to the final statements used to clinch the argument. "Waiting for Rabbits by a Tree Stump" Based on an ancient folktale about a foolish farmer who sees a rabbit kill itself in front of him by running into a tree stump, then gives up tilling his field to wait for more rabbits by the stump. This saying is applied to people who wait passively for luck to strike again. It also refers to impractical people who stick to one way of doing things only because it has worked for them once in the past. "Pure Water Has No Fish; Perfect People Have No Friends" Many versions of this historical tale exist. The one told here is about a 2nd century AD official sent to govern a far-flung outpost on the Silk Road who is fastidious in applying strict rules and thereby causes the local people to rebel against him. In the professional world, it is used to refer to people who do not like to work with an overly strict supervisor or colleague. Whether being used in a classroom or for self-study, Chinese Stories for Language Learners provides an educational and entertaining way for intermediate Mandarin learners to expand their vocabulary and understanding of the language.
Classical Chinese (Supplement 4) : Selections from Philosophical Texts by 
Dao de Jing by
From bestselling cartoonist C. C. Tsai, a delightfully illustrated version of the classic work of Daoist philosophy C. C. Tsai is one of Asia's most popular cartoonists, and his editions of the Chinese classics have sold more than 40 million copies in over twenty languages. Here, he works his magic again with a delightful graphic adaptation of the complete text of Laozi's Dao De Jing, the beloved source of Daoist philosophy. Masterfully transforming Laozi's challenging work into entertaining and enlightening episodes, Tsai offers a uniquely fresh, relevant, and accessible version of one of the world's most influential books. After opening with Laozi's biography from the Shi Ji, Tsai turns the stage over to Laozi, who patiently explains his ideas to his earnest students (and us). Laozi describes the spontaneity of natural processes, the paradoxical effects of ethical precepts, the limits of language, the values of simplicity, and, above all else, how to go with the flow. In brief episodes that tantalize and inspire, he takes us into the subtle complexities of human existence. Ultimately, Laozi, a master visionary, guides us to the mountaintop to reveal an expansive view of life. A marvelous edition of a timeless classic, this book also presents Laozi's original Chinese text in sidebars on each page, enriching the book for readers and students of Chinese without distracting from the English-language cartoons. The text is skillfully translated by Brian Bruya, who also provides an illuminating introduction.
Documenting China : A Reader in Seminal Twentieth-Century Texts by
Documenting China brings together a series of linked texts, each one chosen for its impact when first published, and which together chart the core developments in twentieth-century Chinese history. With extracts spanning the fields of philosophy, political science, gender studies, popular culture, literary history, neo-nationalist discourse, and international relations, the book challenges advanced language learners to elevate their reading ability to the level necessary for handling real primary sources in an unmediated way while deepening their understanding of Chinese politics, society, and culture. Each chapter is structured around crucial passages from a core historical text, each chapter begins with an introductory essay in English that provides context for fully understanding the text, suggested further readings, and a glossary of key terms.
The Lady in the Painting : A Basic Chinese Reader, Expanded Edition, Traditional Characters by 
Literature and Society : An Advanced Reader of Modern Chinese - Revised Edition by 
Readings in Chinese Communist Documents: A Manual for Students of the Chinese Language by 
The Routledge Intermediate Chinese Reader by
The Routledge Intermediate Chinese Reader is a comprehensive reader designed to provide varied, stimulating and up-to-date reading material for learners of Chinese at the intermediate level. The Chinese Reader provides a bridge between basic literacy skills and the ability to read full novels and newspapers in Chinese. It consists of forty readings, graded on the basis of complexity of vocabulary, grammar and syntax. These readings present a range of different text types representative of modern Chinese popular writing which will inspire students to continue reading independently in Chinese. It is ideal for learners who already possess a knowledge of essential grammar and vocabulary and who wish to expand their knowledge of the language through contextualized reading material. Key features include: Extracts from newspaper and internet articles Vocabulary annotation next to the reading paragraphs for quick reference Short grammar explanations of any complicated structures Comprehension and discussion questions Notes on culture and idioms Lesson structure maps to aid comprehension A companion website containing lesson audio and electronic vocabulary flash cards Full glossary at the back and answer key for reading questions Suitable for both class use and independent study, The Routledge Intermediate Chinese Reader is an essential tool for facilitating vocabulary learning and increasing reading proficiency.
The Way of Nature by
A delightfully illustrated selection of the great Daoist writings of Zhuangzi by bestselling cartoonist C. C. Tsai C. C. Tsai is one of Asia's most popular cartoonists, and his editions of the Chinese classics have sold more than 40 million copies in over twenty languages. This volume presents Tsai's delightful graphic adaptation of the profound and humorous Daoist writings of Zhuangzi, some of the most popular and influential in the history of Asian philosophy and culture. The Way of Nature brings together all of Tsai's beguiling cartoon illustrations of the Zhuangzi, which takes its name from its author. The result is a uniquely accessible and entertaining adaptation of a pillar of classical Daoism, which has deeply influenced Chinese poetry, landscape painting, martial arts, and Chan (Zen) Buddhism. Irreverent and inspiring, The Way of Nature presents the memorable characters, fables, and thought experiments of Zhuangzi like no other edition, challenging readers to dig beneath conventional assumptions about self, society, and nature, and pointing to a more natural way of life. Through practical insights and far-reaching arguments, Zhuangzi shows why returning to the spontaneity of nature is the only sane response to a world of conflict. A marvelous introduction to a timeless classic, this book also features an illuminating foreword by Edward Slingerland. In addition, Zhuangzi's original Chinese text is artfully presented in narrow sidebars on each page, enriching the book for readers and students of Chinese without distracting from the self-contained English-language cartoons. The text is skillfully translated by Brian Bruya, who also provides an introduction.
The Ways of Zen by
From bestselling cartoonist C. C. Tsai, a delightfully illustrated collection of classic Zen Buddhist stories that enlighten as they entertain C. C. Tsai is one of Asia's most popular cartoonists, and his editions of the Chinese classics have sold more than 40 million copies in over twenty languages. In The Ways of Zen, he has created an entertaining and enlightening masterpiece from the rich collections of the Zen Buddhist tradition, bringing classic stories to life in delightful language and vividly detailed comic illustrations. Combining all the stories previously published in Tsai's Wisdom of the Zen Masters and Zen Speaks, this is the artist's largest collection of selections from the most important and famous Zen texts. The story of the illiterate wood-peddler Huineng, who improbably rises to become the most famous Zen patriarch, is joined by others that trace the development of the five major sects of Zen Buddhism through other masters such as Mazu, Linji, and Yunmen. A shattered antique, a blind man carrying a lantern, sutras set on fire, a cow jumping through a window--each story leads the reader to reflect on fundamental Buddhist ideas. The Ways of Zen also features the original Chinese text in side columns on each page, enriching the book for readers and students of Chinese without distracting from the English-language cartoons. Filled with memorable anecdotes and disarming wisdom, The Ways of Zen is a perfect introduction to Zen Buddhism and an essential addition to any Zen collection.
China - Culture Smart! : The Essential Guide to Customs & Culture by 
CultureShock! Hong Kong : A Survival Guide to Customs and Etiquette by 
Etiquette Guide to China : Know the Rules that Make the Difference! by 
A Geek in China : Discovering the Land of Alibaba, Bullet Trains and Dim Sum by 
It's All Chinese To Me : An Overview of Chinese Culture, Travel & Etiquette (Fully Revised and Expanded) by 
Passport China : Your Pocket Guide to Chinese Business, Customs and Etiquette by 
Passport Hong Kong : Your Pocket Guide to Hong Kong Business, Customs and Etiquette by 
