There are three main ways you may collect references:
The instructions on this page show you how to collect references through #1 and #2.
Note that if you have the Cite While You Write plugin installed, you may be able to use direct export for most of your references. If you use the NEW Mac laptop computer however, you will probably have to use the export/import option for many databases. Please see the Downloading Installers tab for more information.
Note that you must have pop-up blockers DISABLED in order to use EndNote Basic.
This is an example of direct export from an EBSCO database (Academic Search Complete).
1. Search the database and find articles you want to collect.
2. Click on the blue folder icon next to an article to put it in your folder.
3. View your folder by clicking on the Folder icon at the top right of the screen.
4. In your folder, check off the articles to export and click on the Export option in the right sidebar.
5. Make sure Direct Export in RIS Format is selected, then click on Save.
6. If the ResearchSoft Direct Export Helper appears, you may choose Open with and your references will automatically transfer to your EndNote Basic account. The ResearchSoft Direct Export Helper is installed on your computer when you install the Cite While You Write plugin
OR You may be prompted to sign in to your EndNote Basic account.
7. Your references will be saved to your [Unfiled] folder.
You may follow this process for collecting references from all EBSCO databases. Most other databases also have an Export function. When choosing an export format, if EndNote is not listed, choose RIS file.
For the NEW Mac laptop computer, if a pop up box for ResearchSoft Direct Export Helper OR EndNote Web Login does NOT appear, you may need to export the reference file from a database, then MANUALLY import it into your EndNote Basic account. This example shows you how the process works with Academic Search Complete: ASC (EBSCO).
1. Find an article in ASC.
2. Check the box next to the article and click on Export.
3. Select the Direct Export in RIS Format, then click on Save. (Note the location it was saved to)
4. If the ResearchSoft Direct Export Helper or a pop up box for EndNote Web Login does NOT appear, go to your EndNote Basic account.
5. Click on the Collect tab and click on Import References.
6. For File, click on Choose file and find the RIS file you saved in step 3 above.
7. For Import Option, click on Select Favorites. Find the database you used (ASC) in the list on the left. Click on Copy to Favorites. Click on Hide in the top right corner of the box. Now you may select Academic Search Complete for your Import Option.
NOTE: when doing manual import, if your database is NOT listed or does not send the references properly, choose RefMan RIS instead.
8. You may also select a new group to send your reference to. If you do not specify or create a group, your reference will go into [Unfiled]. Click on Import and your reference will be saved.
